By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

M/F PhD student in materials science

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8609-REJBOD-011
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Friday, January 10, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Aurélien DEBELLE
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 February 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Ion beams are nowadays currently used in numerous fields of material science: to tailor material physical properties (e.g. by doping semiconductors), to shape the materials (e.g. creation of porous structures) or to submit materials to harsh conditions aiming at reproducing those encountered in real situation (e.g. in space or in nuclear reactors). If the technical aspects of the use of ion beams are mastered, the understanding of the basic mechanisms of the ion/solid interactions is far from being optimal.
Conducting fundamental studies on model systems, using powerful characterization techniques, constitutes one approach to tackle this issue. But it requires, to get significant insights into the studies phenomena, to finely and accurately use and analyze the experimental data. Two techniques are available and mastered at the CSNSM: Rutherford backscattering spectrometry in channeling configuration (RBS/C) and X ray diffraction in high-resolution mode (HR-XRD). Both techniques allow quantifying the irradiation-induced disorder. However, the exact definition of this parameter varies from one material to the other and for the different techniques. Moreover, ascribing the disorder parameters to an actual microstructure usually depends on phenomenological models.
A recent work has shown that this disorder can be described with a statistical approach [1]. This description could very likely be applied to other materials and to other techniques such as the RBS/C. For this purpose, a systematic study of a few selected materials is required. Besides, the description of irradiation defects at the atomic scale is now possible using dedicated computational methods (such as molecular dynamics techniques), and defect evolution at higher time and length scales can be captured using e.g. cluster dynamics simulations. Coupling these methods with experimental tools allows a better understanding of the defect generation mechanisms and of the subsequent evolution of the defects [2,3]. One step further in this approach is to develop dedicated modelling tools to generate (XRD and RBS/C) spectra from using computational data as input parameters.
The aim of the PhD will be to increase the body of knowledge in the understanding of the irradiation-induced (micro ) structural changes by conducting a combined experimental / computational study on the basis of the abovementioned framework. The candidate will have the opportunity to tackle both sides of this work, or to give his/her preference to one part. He/she will be in contact with researchers from other groups in France and in different countries (Finland, Poland, USA).

Work Context

The PhD student will integrate the Materials and Irradiation Research group, which aims at studying, at different scales and with various experimental and numerical tools, ion/solid interactions. It benefits from the irradiation platform SCALP.

Constraints and risks

/

Additional Information

Required skills and knowledge: the candidate must be comfortable with the English language; he/she should have a significant background in materials science; experience in XRD or RBS, and/or in programming, and basic knowledge in ion/solid interactions would be appreciated.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F thèse de doctorat en sciences des matériaux

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8609-REJBOD-011
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : vendredi 10 janvier 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Aurélien DEBELLE
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 février 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les faisceaux d'ions sont utilisés dans de nombreux domaines en sciences des matériaux, que ce soit pour modifier les propriétés physiques des matériaux (dopage de semi-conducteurs, modification de la constante diélectrique…), pour les façonner (création de canaux poreux, mélange interfacial dans des systèmes multicouches) ou pour les soumettre à des conditions extrêmes censées reproduire celles rencontrées en situation réelle (réacteur nucléaire, espace). Si les aspects techniques sont désormais largement maîtrisés, la compréhension des mécanismes fondamentaux de l'interaction ion/matière est loin d'être optimale pour de nombreux matériaux.
L'étude de matériaux modèles (monocristallins) est requise pour progresser dans cette optique. En outre, il est primordial de disposer d'outils de caractérisation pertinents pour les matériaux irradiés et surtout il faut être en mesure d'analyser et d'interpréter finement les données. Deux techniques de pointe maîtrisées à l'IJCLab répondent à ces critères : la rétrodiffusion Rutherford en canalisation (RBS/C) et la diffraction des rayons X en haute résolution (DRXHR). Ces deux techniques permettent de quantifier et caractériser le désordre induit par l'irradiation, mais la définition précise de ce paramètre varie d'un système à l'autre, d'une technique à l'autre. Des travaux récents ont montré que le désordre pouvait être pertinemment décrit de façon statistique ; ceci a été réalisé par DRXHR dans le carbure de silicium [1]. Cette description doit pouvoir être étendue au désordre déterminé par RBS/C, et à d'autres matériaux, notamment ceux qui subissent une transformation de phase cristal/amorphe sous irradiation. Pour cela, une étude systématique de plusieurs matériaux est requise.
Par ailleurs, la connaissance à l'échelle atomique des défauts d'irradiation est possible via des techniques de calculs atomistiques (telles que la dynamique moléculaire) et leur évolution peut être capturée par des techniques de cinétiques chimiques et/ou Monte Carlo. Le couplage de ces techniques avec les outils expérimentaux renforce les atouts de chacun pour une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes de création et évolution des défauts [2]. Ce couplage sera effectué en collaboration avec un service du CEA Saclay (SRMP) ainsi qu'avec des partenaires étrangers (USA et Espagne en particulier).

Contexte de travail

Le ou la candidat(e) sera recruté(e) au sein du pôle "Energie et environnement" de l'IJCLab. Cette équipe étudie les interactions ions/matière à différentes échelles, par expériences et simulations, en s'appuyant sur la plateforme d'irradiation SCALP.

Contraintes et risques

/

Informations complémentaires

Compétences souhaitées et exigées : le ou la candidat(e) doit être à l'aise avec la langue anglaise ; il/elle doit posséder des connaissances en science des matériaux ; une expérience en DRX et/ou RBS/C serait appréciée ; de bonnes notions de programmation seront un plus.

On en parle sur Twitter !