By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD (H/F) - EM field reconstruction in 5G with machine learning.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8520-LAUCLA-001
Workplace : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date of publication : Monday, April 27, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Laurent Clavier, Joe Wiart, Davy Gaillot
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

I. SUMMARY OF THE PHD
With the increasing use of wireless communication facilities [1], we live in a permanent electromagnetic field (EMF) that has induced concern and risk perception despite existing regulation. The people in charge of networks deployment, the ones who check the compliance of EMF exposure to safety limits are facing such questions [2]. The assessment of exposure requires specific equipment or simulation tools that can be complex to operate, contributing therefore to increase the gap between lay people and experts. The 5G deployment, that is just starting, reinforce these issues [3, 4] bringing new uncertainties resulting from the ever increasing band used and the beamforming induced by massive MIMO.

This PhD will address these questions, several locks remaining to be overcome. The objective is to be able to build an EMF exposure map. Today the EMF monitoring is carried out using measurement campaigns. These in situ measurements are of great interest but they cannot be performed everywhere. Taking advantage of progress in connected devices technologies, the exposure assessment has been investigated using connected sensors. Recently, wireless sensors, autonomous in energy, have been designed, and proposed. Associated in networks, these sensors are of great interest since they can grab the exposure's temporal variations; nevertheless, since they are still localized they cannot, alone, provide an exposure mapping because of unsampled locations. Reconstruction using measurements localized in some specific places has been investigated using methods based on geo-statistic and Gaussian processes [5, 6, 7]. Recently works have been carried out using Artificial Intelligence and machine learning [8, 9]. These works have been performed using simulations taking into account information that are available through databases (like the position of the base stations) as well as drive testing. Since these works dealt with simulations, confrontation with measures will require an adaptation of the method to increase the accuracy and take into account specific properties of the EM field. Many improvements can be studied. The first one is to include some data from the field, like the city density, the position of the base station, or any other significant parameters, which are publicly available. It is also possible to manage sensors of different qualities and to include mobile sensors to improve the reliability of the reconstruction. Taking into account the density of the sensors, the imprecision of the location and the measurement and the temporal evolution of the EM field also constitute research challenges.

II. ORGANISATION OF THE WORK
The work is based on data that will be measured in different locations in Lille. A large number of sensors (≈50) will allow to cover an area in the city center and another set of sensors will cover another place. The objective of the work is to develop a machine learning process to analyze the data and reconstruct in space and time the electro-magnetic field. This will allow to evaluate the exposure of a given person in the city.

III. REQUIRED SKILLS
Telecommunication, 5G. Part of the PhD is devoted to data processing and, possibly, measurement campaigns. Knowledge of Telecommunications is important and experimental abilities would be appreciated.
Machine learning. Python, Anaconda, Tensorflow

IV. FURTHER INFORMATION
For further information, contact Joe Wiart, Davy Gaillot and Laurent Clavier.

REFERENCES
[1] L. Clavier, T. Pedersen, I. Rodriguez, M. Lauridsen, and M. Egan. Experimental Evidence for Heavy Tailed Interferencein the IoT. Working paper or preprint; https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02521928/file/ExpWCL4p.pdf, March 2020.
[2] Joe Wiart.Radio-Frequency Human Exposure Assessment: From Deterministic to Stochastic Methods. 01 2016.
[3] Miroslava Karaboytcheva. Effects of 5g wireless communication on human health. Briefing PE 646.172, EPRS – European Parliamentary Research Service, March 2020.
[4] M. Egan, L. Clavier, M. de Freitas, L. Dorville, J. Gorce, and A. Savard. Wireless communication in dynamic interference. In GLOBECOM 2017 - 2017 IEEE Global Communications Conference, pages 1–6, 2017.
[5] Sam Aerts, D. Deschrijver, L. Verloock, T. Dhaene, Luc Martens, and Wout Joseph. Assessment of outdoor RF-EMF exposure through hotspot localization using kriging-based sequential sampling. Environmental research, 2013.
[6] A. Solin, M. Kok, N. Wahlstrom, T. B. Schon, and S. Sarkka. Modeling and interpolation of the ambient magnetic field by gaussian processes. IEEE Transactions on Robotics, 34(4):1112–1127, 2018.
[7] Thomas Lemaire, Joe Wiart, and Philippe Doncker. Variographic analysis of public exposure to electromagnetic radiation due to cellular base stations: Variographic analysis of BTS EMF exposure. Bioelectromagnetics, 37, 10 2016.
[8] Sam Aerts, Joe Wiart, Luc Martens, and Wout Joseph. Assessment of long-term spatio-temporal radio frequency electromagnetic field exposure. Environmental research, 161:136–143, 11 2017.
[9] S. Wang and J. Wiart. Sensor aided emf exposure assessments in urban environment using artificial neural networks. Int. Journal Environmental research and public hereconstructionalth, 2020

Work Context

IEMN brings together in a single structure the essentials of regional research in a vast scientific field ranging from nanosciences to instrumentation.

Bringing together researchers with different cultures, approaches and motivations, building a continuity of knowledge ranging from fundamental problems to applications is what makes IEMN unique today. Nearly 500 people, including around 100 international researchers, work together.

The core of our activities is centered on micros and nanotechnologies and their applications in the fields of information, communication, transport and health. Our researchers have at their disposal exceptional experimental means, in particular technology and characterization centers whose possibilities and performances are at the best European level.

The date of recruitment may be postponed until the end of the confinement period.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

PhD (H/F) - EM field reconstruction in 5G with machine learning.

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8520-LAUCLA-001
Lieu de travail : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date de publication : lundi 27 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Laurent Clavier, Joe Wiart, Davy Gaillot
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

I. RÉSUMÉ DE LA THÈSE

Avec l'utilisation croissante des technologies sans fil [1], nous vivons dans un champ électromagnétique (CEM) permanent qui induit une inquiétude et une sensation de risque malgré la réglementation existante. Les responsables du déploiement des réseaux, ceux qui vérifient la conformité de l'exposition au CEM aux limites de sécurité sont confrontés à de telles questions [2]. L'évaluation de l'exposition nécessite un équipement spécifique ou des outils de simulation qui peuvent être complexes à utiliser, contribuant ainsi à creuser l'écart entre profanes et experts. Le déploiement de la 5G, qui ne fait que commencer, renforce ces problèmes [3, 4] apportant de nouvelles incertitudes résultant par exemple de la bande toujours croissante utilisée ou de la formation de faisceau induite par le MIMO massif.

Cette thèse abordera ces questions, plusieurs verrous restant à surmonter. L'objectif est de pouvoir construire une carte d'exposition au CEM. Aujourd'hui, la surveillance du CEM est effectuée à l'aide de campagnes de mesure. Ces mesures in situ présentent un grand intérêt mais ne peuvent être effectuées partout. Profitant des progrès des technologies des appareils connectés, l'évaluation de l'exposition a été étudiée à l'aide de capteurs connectés. Récemment, des capteurs sans fil, autonomes en énergie, ont été conçus et proposés. Associés en réseaux, ces capteurs présentent un grand intérêt car ils peuvent capter les variations temporelles de l'exposition; néanmoins, comme ils sont encore localisés, ils ne peuvent pas, à eux seuls, fournir une cartographie de l'exposition en raison de lieux non échantillonnés. La reconstruction en tout point à l'aide de mesures localisées à certains endroits spécifiques a été étudiée à l'aide de méthodes basées sur des processus géo-statistiques et gaussiens [5, 6, 7]. Récemment, des travaux ont été réalisés en utilisant l'intelligence artificielle et l'apprentissage automatique [8, 9]. Ces travaux ont été réalisés à l'aide de simulations prenant en compte les informations disponibles via des bases de données (comme la position des stations de base). Cependant, ces travaux portant sur des simulations, la confrontation à des mesures nécessitera une adaptation de la méthode pour augmenter la précision et prendre en compte les propriétés spécifiques du champ EM. De nombreuses améliorations peuvent être étudiées. La première consiste à inclure certaines données du terrain, comme la densité de la ville, la position de la station de base ou tout autre paramètre significatif, qui sont accessibles au public. Il est également possible de gérer des capteurs de qualités différentes et d'inclure des capteurs mobiles pour améliorer la fiabilité de la reconstruction. Compte tenu de la densité des capteurs, l'imprécision de la localisation et de la mesure et l'évolution temporelle du champ électromagnétique constituent également des enjeux de recherche.


II. ORGANISATION DU TRAVAIL
Le travail est basé sur des données qui seront mesurées en différents endroits à Lille. Un grand nombre de capteurs (≈50) permettra de couvrir une zone du centre-ville et un autre ensemble de capteurs couvrira un autre lieu. L'objectif du travail est de développer un processus d'apprentissage automatique pour analyser les données et reconstruire dans l'espace et le temps le champ électromagnétique. Cela permettra d'évaluer l'exposition d'une personne donnée dans la ville.

III. COMPÉTENCES REQUISES
Télécommunication, 5G. Une partie de la thèse est consacrée au traitement des données et éventuellement aux campagnes de mesure. La connaissance des télécommunications est importante et des capacités expérimentales seraient appréciées.
Machine Learnning. Python, Anaconda, Tensorflow

IV. PLUS D'INFORMATIONS
Pour plus d'informations, contactez Joe Wiart, Davy Gaillot et Laurent Clavier.


REFERENCES
[1] L. Clavier, T. Pedersen, I. Rodriguez, M. Lauridsen, and M. Egan. Experimental Evidence for Heavy Tailed Interferencein the IoT. Working paper or preprint; https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-02521928/file/ExpWCL4p.pdf, March 2020.
[2] Joe Wiart.Radio-Frequency Human Exposure Assessment: From Deterministic to Stochastic Methods. 01 2016.
[3] Miroslava Karaboytcheva. Effects of 5g wireless communication on human health. Briefing PE 646.172, EPRS – European Parliamentary Research Service, March 2020.
[4] M. Egan, L. Clavier, M. de Freitas, L. Dorville, J. Gorce, and A. Savard. Wireless communication in dynamic interference. In GLOBECOM 2017 - 2017 IEEE Global Communications Conference, pages 1–6, 2017.
[5] Sam Aerts, D. Deschrijver, L. Verloock, T. Dhaene, Luc Martens, and Wout Joseph. Assessment of outdoor RF-EMF exposure through hotspot localization using kriging-based sequential sampling. Environmental research, 2013.
[6] A. Solin, M. Kok, N. Wahlstrom, T. B. Schon, and S. Sarkka. Modeling and interpolation of the ambient magnetic field by gaussian processes. IEEE Transactions on Robotics, 34(4):1112–1127, 2018.
[7] Thomas Lemaire, Joe Wiart, and Philippe Doncker. Variographic analysis of public exposure to electromagnetic radiation due to cellular base stations: Variographic analysis of BTS EMF exposure. Bioelectromagnetics, 37, 10 2016.
[8] Sam Aerts, Joe Wiart, Luc Martens, and Wout Joseph. Assessment of long-term spatio-temporal radio frequency electromagnetic field exposure. Environmental research, 161:136–143, 11 2017.
[9] S. Wang and J. Wiart. Sensor aided emf exposure assessments in urban environment using artificial neural networks. Int. Journal Environmental research and public hereconstructionalth, 2020

Contexte de travail

L'IEMN regroupe dans une structure unique l'essentiel de la recherche régionale dans un vaste domaine scientifique allant des nanosciences à l'instrumentation.

Faire travailler ensemble des chercheurs ayant des cultures, des démarches et des motivations différentes, construire une continuité de connaissances allant des problèmes fondamentaux aux applications fait aujourd'hui notre spécificité. Aujourd'hui, près de 500 personnes, dont une centaine de chercheurs internationaux, travaillent ensemble.

Le coeur de nos activités est centré sur les micros et nanotechnologies et leurs applications dans les domaines de l'information, la communication, les transports et la santé. Nos chercheurs ont à leur disposition des moyens expérimentaux exceptionnels, en particulier des centrales de technologie et de caractérisation dont les possibilités et les performances se situent au meilleur niveau européen.

La date de recrutement est susceptible d'être reportée à la fin de la période de confinement.

On en parle sur Twitter !