By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD Thesis Offer - Beam shaping for femtosecond laser micromachining: application to the packaging of mm and THz electronic functions

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8520-EMMDUB-002
Workplace : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date of publication : Monday, June 22, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Emmanuel DUBOIS
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Mission: The most recent developments in the field of telecommunications and ultra-high-speed data transfer have been considerably boosted by the rise of Cloud Storage and Computing and the development of the 5G telecommunications standard. Closely linked to the emergence of Artificial Intelligence (AI), Sensor Networks (IoT), data processing and storage, one of the challenges to be met is the move to data rates above 100 Gb/s. This can only be achieved by developing technologies, components and systems in millimetre (mmW) and sub-TeraHertz (sub-THz) bands. The assembly of systems in this frequency range lies in the gap between i) submicron fabrication technologies that are too expensive and oversized for the fabrication of components with dimensions in the 10-1000 µm range and ii) conventional mechanical machining methods limited by the small size of the structures. In this context, the introduction of a laser micromachining technique, with a resolution in the 1-10 µm range, makes sense within the System-Moore integration paradigm where the packaging is an integral part of the system design. The integration of this work in the technological value chain covers a broad spectrum using STMicroelectronics HF technologies/circuits/components in a strategy of assembly and packaging to create a system function. The target market is that of high-speed telecoms (backhaul infrastructure for point-to-point links) and metrology to characterize and qualify components/circuits based on STMicroelectronics technologies.

The research work associated with this mission will consist in implementing the laser microstructuring technique for the fabrication of functional blocks integrating mmW and sub-THz components such as guides, filters, resonators, diplexers, coplanar-rectangular transitions etc... A first activity will consist in exploring a range of materials with contrasting properties (alumina, polycarbonate, ceramic/polymer composite, PMMA, ...) in order to determine their suitability for laser micromachining in terms of etching speed and anisotropy as well as surface roughness. A second major objective will be to implement a laser beam shaping setup to transform the conventional Gaussian beam into a Top-Hat profile in order to improve the quality of surface micromachining. A third line of research will be devoted to the development of functional packages for the packaging of highly integrated active probes for the measurement of silicon components in G (140-220 GHz) and J (220-325 GHz) bands.

Activities:
• Wave optics (electromagnetic) simulation of laser beam propagation (COMSOL) using diffractive optics (optimization of beam shape e.g. Top Hat profile)
• Experimental implementation of a diffractive optical element for beam shaping.
• Electromagnetic design and simulation of complex waveguide structures (e.g., coplanar/rectangular flanges/transitions) by Solidworks/EMWorks or COMSOL or HFSS in the mmW/THz range.
• Systematic parametric study of laser micromachining on polymer and/or ceramic materials.
• Analytical characterization of micro-machining processes (SEM, optical profilometry, XPS, EDX ...)
• Assembly and microwave measurements of designed structures
• Benchmarking and positioning of results in relation to the state of the art

Expected skills
This position is aimed at a candidate with a interest for experimentation, modelling and simulation in the field of electromagnetism (RF, mmW, THz, optics). Potential candidates should :
• Hold a Master degree in electronics or microwave or optical engineering
• Have an expertise in the field of micro-nanofabrication, clean room techniques and/or laser applications can be helpful
• Be fluent in English (spoken and written) and demonstrate know-how in terms of reporting and publication.
• Ability to work independently and take initiative
• Integrating group work and the dynamics of a common laboratory

Work Context

The work will be carried out within the Silicon Microelectronics Group of the IEMN (Lille-France) as part of the IEMN-STMicroelectronics Joint Laboratory. The group hosting the candidate has recognized expertise in the field of micro-nanofabrication and packaging of components and systems covering RF, mmW waves and photonics.
The group coordinates the EQUIPEX LEAF technology platform on advanced femtosecond laser micromachining.
( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uCjtT7uX40&feature=youtu.be )

Constraints and risks

Not applicable

Additional Information

Not applicable

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de Thèse H/F - Mise en forme du faisceau pour le micro-usinage par laser femtoseconde : application au conditionnement des fonctions électroniques en gamme d'onde mmW et THz - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8520-EMMDUB-002
Lieu de travail : VILLENEUVE D ASCQ
Date de publication : lundi 22 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Emmanuel DUBOIS
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Mission: Les développements les plus récents dans le domaine des télécommunications et du transfert de données à ultra-haut débit ont été considérablement stimulés par l'essor du 'Cloud Storage and Computing' et du développement du standard de télécommunication 5G. Intimement lié à l'émergence de l'intelligence artificielle (IA), des réseaux de capteurs (IoT), du traitement de données et de leur stockage, l'un des challenges à relever est le passage à des débits supérieurs à 100 Gb/s. Cet objectif ne peut être atteint qu'en développant les technologies, composants et systèmes en bandes millimétriques (mmW) et sub-TeraHertz (sub-THz). L'assemblage de systèmes dans cette gamme de fréquence se situe dans le gap séparant i) les technologies de fabrication submicronique trop onéreuses et surdimensionnées pour la fabrication de composants dont le dimensionnel se situe dans la gamme 10-1000 µm et ii) les méthodes conventionnelles d'usinage mécanique limitées par la petite taille des structures. Dans ce contexte, l'introduction d'une technique d'usinage laser, avec une résolution dans la gamme 1-10 µm, prend tout son sens dans la logique d'intégration System-Moore où le packaging fait partie intégrante de la conception système. L'intégration de ces travaux dans la chaîne de valeur couvre un spectre large utilisant les technologies/circuits/composants HF de STMicroelectronics dans une logique d'assemblage et de packaging permettant de créer une fonction système. Le marché visé est celui des télécoms haut débit (backhaul infrastructure pour liaison point à point) et celui de la métrologie permettant de caractériser et de qualifier les composants/circuits basés sur les technologies STMicroelectronics.

Les travaux de recherche associés à cette mission consisteront à mettre en œuvre des techniques de microstructuration laser pour la fabrication de blocs fonctionnels intégrant des composants mmW et sub-THz tels que guides, filtres, résonateurs, diplexeurs, transitions coplanaires-rectangulaires, etc... Une première activité consistera à explorer une gamme de matériaux aux propriétés contrastées (alumine, polycarbonate, composite céramique/polymère, PMMA, ...) afin de déterminer leur aptitude au micro-usinage laser en termes de vitesse d'usinage et d'anisotropie ainsi que de rugosité de surface. Un deuxième objectif majeur sera de mettre en place un dispositif de mise en forme du faisceau laser pour transformer le faisceau gaussien conventionnel en un profil Top-Hat afin d'améliorer la qualité du micro-usinage de surface. Un troisième axe de recherche sera consacré au développement de boîtiers fonctionnels pour l'encapsulation de sondes actives hautement intégrées pour la mesure de composants en silicium dans les bandes G (140-220 GHz) et J (220-325 GHz).

Activités - Les tâches suivantes seront envisagées :
• Simulation de la propagation d'un faisceau laser (COMSOL) par optique ondulatoire (électromagnétique) en utilisant l'optique diffractive (optimisation de la forme du faisceau, par exemple profil Top Hat)
• Mise en œuvre expérimentale d'un élément optique diffractif pour la mise en forme du faisceau.
• Conception et simulation électromagnétique de structures complexes de guides d'ondes (par exemple, brides/transitions coplanaires/rectangulaires) par Solidworks/EMWorks ou COMSOL ou HFSS dans la gamme mmW/THz.
• Étude paramétrique systématique du micro-usinage laser sur des matériaux polymères et/ou céramiques.
• Caractérisation analytique des procédés de micro-usinage (MEB, profilométrie optique, XPS, EDX ...)
• Assemblage et mesures micro-ondes des structures conçues et fabriquées
• Benchmarking et positionnement des résultats par rapport à l'état de l'art

Compétences attendues:
Ce poste est destiné à un(e) candidat(e) intéressé(e) par l'expérimentation, la modélisation et la simulation dans le domaine de l'électromagnétisme (RF, mmW, THz, optique). Les candidats potentiels doivent :
• Être titulaire d'un master en électronique ou en ingénierie micro-ondes ou optique
• Une expertise dans le domaine de la micro-nanofabrication, des techniques de salle blanche et/ou des applications laser peut être utile
• Parler couramment l'anglais (parlé et écrit) et démontrer un savoir-faire en matière de rédaction rapports et de publications.
• Être capable de travailler de manière indépendante et de prendre des initiatives
• Intégrer le travail de groupe et la dynamique d'un laboratoire commun

Contexte de travail

Les travaux seront menés au sein du groupe de microélectronique du silicium de l'IEMN (Lille-France) dans le cadre du laboratoire commun IEMN-STMicroelectronics. Le groupe qui accueille le candidat possède une expertise reconnue dans le domaine de la micro-nanofabrication et du conditionnement de composants et de systèmes couvrant les ondes RF, mmW et la photonique. Le groupe coordonne la plate-forme technologique EQUIPEX LEAF sur le micro-usinage laser femtoseconde avancé.
( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uCjtT7uX40&feature=youtu.be )

Contraintes et risques

RAS

Informations complémentaires

RAS

On en parle sur Twitter !