By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Doctoral Contract Economics – Motivated Beliefs and Strategic Interactions (Department of Economics, Sciences Po Paris, UMR 8259)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8259-MARCAL-004
Workplace : PARIS 07
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jeanne Hagenbach
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The PhD thesis will be written as part of the project MOREV (Motivated Reading of Evidence) financed by and ERC Starting Grant and whose pilot is Jeanne Hagenbach, researcher at CNRS and Professor of Economics at Sciences Po Paris.

The MOREV project aims at better understanding when and how economic agents reach and maintain “motivated beliefs” (in the sense of psychology), and more generally to incorporate into existing economic models the fact that beliefs sometimes have a direct impact on individuals' well-being. This project is divided into two parts: the first part deals with how agents form beliefs about their environment and the second part is devoted to study how individuals form beliefs about the agents with who they interact strategically. The PhD thesis, supervised mainly by Jeanne Hagenbach, will focus on this second part. The objective is, in particular, to reflect about motivated beliefs in the contexts of team work and competitions, and to think of incentives when agents are “psychological”. The methodology mostly will consist in developing theoretical models but will also involve the running of experiments (online or in the lab) and the analysis of empirical data.

Jeanne Hagenbach is searching for a creative student who has a strong background in economic theory (game theory and microeconomic theory) and who has good knowledge in behavioral economics.

Work Context

The PhD candidate will be a student of the Doctoral School of Sciences Po Paris and affiliated to the Department of Economics of this institution. This department is made up of about 30 researchers covering all fields of economics. For more information: http://econ.sciences-po.fr/

The PhD student will be part of a research group in economic theory gathering researchers and Phd students from Sciences Po and the Paris School of Economics.

Jeanne Hagenbach has received several awards for her research and was awarded the Bronze Medal of CNRS in 2016: https://sites.google.com/site/hagenbachjeanne/

Constraints and risks

Aucune

Additional Information

Aucune

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F) Économie – Croyances motivées et Interactions Stratégiques (Département d'Économie, Sciences Po Paris, UMR 8259)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8259-MARCAL-004
Lieu de travail : PARIS 07
Date de publication : mardi 28 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jeanne Hagenbach
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Cette thèse sera effectuée dans le cadre du projet MOREV (Motivated Reading of Evidence) financé par une bourse « ERC Strating Grant » et pilotée par Jeanne Hagenbach, chercheuse au CNRS et Professeure à Sciences Po Paris.

Le projet MOREV a pour objectif de mieux comprendre comment et pourquoi les agents économiques forment des « croyances motivées » (au sens de la psychologie), et plus généralement d'intégrer à des modèles économiques existants la possibilité que les croyances aient un impact direct sur le bien-être des individus. Ce projet se divise essentiellement en deux parties, l'une portant sur les croyances des individus sur leur environnement et l'autre sur les croyances des individus sur les agents avec qui ils interagissent stratégiquement. La thèse, supervisée principalement par Jeanne Hagenbach, sera focalisée sur cette seconde partie. Il s'agira donc en particulier de réfléchir aux croyances motivées dans des contextes de travail en équipe, de compétition entre individus ou aux incitations à l'effort d'agents « psychologiques ». La méthodologie sera essentiellement le développement de modèles théoriques mais aussi la réalisation d'expériences (en ligne ou en laboratoire) ou le traitement de données.

Jeanne Hagenbach cherche un étudiant créatif qui dispose de solides bases en théorie économique (théorie des jeux et microéconomie théorique) et de bonnes connaissances en économie comportementale.

Contexte de travail

Le doctorant sera étudiant à l'École Doctorale de Sciences Po Paris et affilié au Département d'Économie de cette institution. Ce département est composé d'une trentaine de chercheurs qui couvrent tous les champs de recherche en économie. Pour plus d'informations : http://econ.sciences-po.fr/

Le doctorant sera intégré dans un groupe de recherche en économie théorique qui regroupe des chercheurs et doctorants de Sciences Po et de l'École d'Économie de Paris.

Jeanne Hagenbach a reçu plusieurs distinctions pour son travail de recherche et a notamment reçu la médaille de bronze du CNRS en 2016 : https://sites.google.com/site/hagenbachjeanne/

On en parle sur Twitter !