By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD thesis on archaeal phylogeny

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8079-DAVMOR-001
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Monday, September 09, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : David Moreira
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

During the last decades, the use of molecular approaches, such as metabarcoding and metagenomics, has led to the discovery of a large diversity of archaea, some of which even defining new phyla. That is particularly the case for the lineages collectively classified within the supergroup DPANN. These archaea show a high evolutionary rate and their genomes appear to have lost many genes, two traits probably due to their presumed parasitic lifestyle. These characteristics make the phylogenetic analysis of these organisms very challenging and, as a result, their position in the tree of Archaea remains uncertain. Another consequence of this problem is the difficulty to infer the position of the root of the archaeal tree. In this project, the PhD student will take advantage of the availability of new genome sequences of DPANN archaea to carry out phylogenetic and comparative genomic analyses to 1) resolve the phylogenetic position of these archaea, 2) reconstruct the evolutionary history of their genomes (gene gains and losses), and 3) place the root of the archaeal tree.

# Activities #
- Assembly and annotation of new genome sequences of DPANN archaea
- Identification of conserved genes in archaea
- Phylogenetic and phylogenomic analyses (maximum likelihood, Bayesian inference, etc.)
- Comparative genomics analyses, inference of gene gains and looses in DPANN archaea, reconstruction of the ancestral gene content in different archaeal lineages.

# Skills #
The candidates must have an excellent level in bioinfomatics, including genome analysis for the assembly and annotation of new sequences and/or in phylogenetic and phylogenomic approaches.

Additional requirements:
- Good level in English (writing and speaking)
- Good oral and written communication skills
- Autonomy, organization skills

Work Context

The "Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution" (ESE) is a CNRS - University Paris-Sud - AgroParisTech institute, located in the University Paris-Sud campus in Orsay. This campus is 20 km south of Paris and well connected through commuter train.

The PhD student will work within the DEEM (Diversity, Ecology and Evolution of Microbes: http://www.deemteam.fr) team, which is interested in the study of the diversity of microorganisms and their evolution using molecular phylogeny and comparative genomic approaches. The PhD student will be co-supervised by David Moreira (david.moreira@u-psud.fr), Purificación López-García (puri.lopez@u-psud.fr) and Laura Eme (laura.eme@u-psud.fr).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en phylogénie des archées (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8079-DAVMOR-001
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : lundi 9 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : David Moreira
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Au cours de dernières décennies, l'application de techniques moléculaires comme le métabarcoding et la métagénomique a conduit à la découverte d'une grande diversité d'archées, dont certaines définissent des nouveaux phylums. C'est le cas notamment des lignées classées dans le supergroupe DPANN. Ces archées montrent un taux d'évolution rapide et la perte de nombreux gènes, deux traits probablement liés à un mode de vie parasite. Ces caractéristiques rendent très difficile l'analyse de la phylogénie de ces organismes, dont la position dans l'arbre des archées reste incertaine. Une conséquence de ce problème est la difficulté à placer la racine de cet arbre. Dans ce projet de thèse, le(a) candidat(e) profitera de l'accès à des nouvelles séquences génomiques d'archées DPANN diverses pour mener des analyses phylogénétiques et de génomique comparative afin de 1) retrouver la position phylogénétique de ces archées, 2) reconstruire l'histoire évolutive de leurs génomes (gain et perte de gènes), et 3) placer la racine de l'arbre des archées.

# Activités #
- Assemblage et annotation de nouvelles séquences génomiques d'archées DPANN
- Identification de gènes conservés chez les archées
- Analyses phylogénétiques et phylogénomiques (maximum de vraisemblance, inférence Bayésienne, etc.)
- Analyses de génomique comparative, inférence des gains et pertes de gènes chez les archées DPANN, reconstruction du contenu en gènes ancestral chez les différentes lignées.

# Compétences requises #
Les candidat(e)s devront avoir un excellent niveau de connaissances en bioinformatique dans l'analyse de génomes pour les étapes d'assemblage et d'annotation et/ou dans l'analyse phylogénétique et phylogénomique.

Aptitudes additionnelles requises:
- Maîtrise de l'anglais (écrit, oral).
- Bonnes capacités de présentation et de communication.
- Autonomie, capacité d'organisation.

Contexte de travail

L'unité Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution (ESE) est un laboratoire CNRS - Université Paris-Sud - AgroParisTech, localisé sur le campus de l'Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay à Orsay. Le campus est situé à 20 km au sud de Paris et facilement accessible en RER.

Le(a) candidat(e) mènera son travail au sein de l'équipe DEEM (Diversité, Ecologie et Evolution Microbiennes: http://www.deemteam.fr) qui s'intéresse à la diversité des microorganismes et à leur évolution en utilisant des approches de phylogénie moléculaire et de génomique comparative. Le(a) candidat(e) sera co-encadré par David Moreira (david.moreira@u-psud.fr), Purificación López-García (puri.lopez@u-psud.fr) et Laura Eme (laura.eme@u-psud.fr).

On en parle sur Twitter !