By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Marbles origin in the Delos archaeological sancturary in Greece H/F.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7590-VIOSAU-001
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Violaine SAUTTER
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The originality of this thesis will be based on the linking of the unique collection of the Morée Expedition preserved in the rock collections of the National Museum of Natural History, the geology of the marble quarries of the Cyclades (Delos, Rhénée, Mykonos, Paros, Naxos and Tinos) and the construction stones of the site of Delos by a whole range of portable instruments.
It will take place in two stages: 1) creation in the laboratory of a lithothèque of reference of the marbles resulting from the Morée expedition, historical collection that we increment during our missions in Greece with Lorent Jolivet (IsTEP). These samples will be analyzed for miners and traces in laser ICPMS, for isotopes of oxygen and carbon in mass spectrometry; 2) Calibration of a portable X-ray fluorescence instrument and non-destructive in situ analysis of marble in the ancient city and sanctuary of Delos.
• Methods envisaged: ICPMS Laser, X Florescence, X-ray diffraction, Mass Spectrometry, Optical Microscopy and Scanning Electronics.
• Expected results, publication strategy: traceability of the marbles in the structure delien in order to go back to the exchanges (of VII ème before JC to IIème century after JC) between the sanctuary island not only with the Cyclades but also with the mainland Greece (l Attica
mainly). Outlets in terms of publications will be the following journals: Global and Planetary Change, Geomorphology: Embossed Processes and Measurements. Journal of Geological society

• Possibility of reorientation: the constitution of this lithotchic with contemporary analytical instruments is in itself a major objective in the research on collections within the MNHN
• Feasibility in three years, schedule:
-From November 2019 to July 2020: chemical analyzes of the marbles collected in 2017 and 2018 in the outcrops and ancient quarries of the island of Delos outside the archaeological site, in the surrounding islands and in continental Greece.
Calibration of portable X-ray fluorescence.
-Spring 2020: Field mission to Delos with analysis of the marbles in situ in the archaeological building with portable X-ray fluorescence and new reasoned sampling campaign in the marble quarries of the Cyclades
-2020-2021: Confrontation with existing databases and return to the field with a Raman and a portable LIBS
-2021-2022: Summary and writing

Work Context

This thesis dedicated to metamorphic rocks rich in carbon marble will be held at IMPMC on the Buffon site in the ROCKS team whose core business is rock petrography with a strong emphasis on the carbon element. 'IMPMC UMR 7590 of 200 people is spread over two Paris sites and the MNHN (Buffon Polivot island). The thesis will take place on the MNHN site in the Rocks team led by Sylvain Bernard and which has 8 permanent and 6 non permanent (PhD and post doc). The thesis will be directed by Violaine Sautter, research director of 1st class and member of the ROCKS team. Our Engineer Sylvain Pons responsible for Health and Safety on the Buffon site will frame the future Thesard at the level of portable X-ray fluorescence and SEM.

Constraints and risks

This thesis does not include any specific risk with the exception of portable X-ray fluorescence with a nuclear source and for which we are all trained in particular Sylvain Pons who will be in charge of training the future doctoral student.

Additional Information

This thesis will be fincancially supported by the ANR GAD

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Provenance des marbres dans le sanctuaire de Délos en Grèce H/F.

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7590-VIOSAU-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mardi 10 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Violaine SAUTTER
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'originalité de cette thèse reposera sur la mise en relation de la collection unique de l'Expédition de Morée conservée au sein des collections de roches du Muséum National D'histoire Naturelle, la géologie des carrières de marbre des Cyclades (Délos, Rhénée, Mykonos, Paros, Naxos et Tinos) et les pierres de construction du site de Délos par toute une gamme d'instruments portatifs.
Elle se déroulera en deux temps : 1) constitution au laboratoire d'une lithothèque de référence des marbres issus de l'expédition de Morée, collection historique que nous incrémentons au cours de nos missions en Grèce avec Lorent Jolivet (IsTEP). Ces échantillons seront analysés pour les mineurs et les traces en ICPMS laser, pour les isotopes de l'oxygène et du carbone en spectrométrie de masse; 2) Étalonnage d'un instrument de fluorescence X portatif et analyse in situ non destructive des marbres dans la cité et le sanctuaire antique de Délos.
• Méthodes envisagées : ICPMS Laser, Florescence X, diffraction X, Spectrométrie de Masse, Microscopie optique et Électronique à Balayage.
• Résultats attendus, stratégie de publication : traçabilité des marbres dans le bâti délien afin de remonter aux échanges (de VII ème avant JC à IIème siècle après JC) entre l'île sanctuaire non seulement avec les Cyclades mais aussi avec la Grèce continentale (l'Attique
principalement). Les débouchés en termes de publications seront les revues suivantes : Global and Planetary Change , Géomorphologie : relief processus et mesures. Journal of Geological society

• Possibilité de réorientation : la constitution de cette lithothèque avec les instruments d'analyse contemporains est en soi un objectif majeur dans la recherche articulée sur les collections au sein du MNHN
• Faisabilité en trois ans, échéancier :

De Novembre 2019 à Juillet 2020 : analyses chimiques des marbres collectés en 2017 et 2018 dans les affleurements et carrières antiques de l'ile de Délos à l'extérieur du site archéologique, dans les iles environnantes et la Grèce continental.
Étalonnage de la fluorescence X portative.

Printemps 2020 : mission de Terrain à Délos avec analyse des marbres in situ dans le bâti archéologique avec la fluorescence X portative et nouvelle campagne d'échantillonnage raisonnée dans les carrières de marbre des Cyclades

2020-2021 : Confrontation avec les bases de données existantes et retour sur le terrain avec un Raman et un LIBS portatif

2021-2022 : Synthèse et rédaction

Contexte de travail

Cette thèse dédiée à des roches métamorphiques riches en carbone les marbre se déroulera à l'IMPMC sur le site Buffon dans l'équipe ROCKS dont le coeur de métier la pétrographie des roches avec qui plus est un fort accent sur l'élément carbone.L'IMPMC UMR 7590 de 200 personnes est répartie sur deux sites Paris et le MNHN (ilot Buffon Polivot). La thèse se déroulera sur le site MNHN dans l'équipe Rocks dirigée par Sylvain Bernard et qui compte 8 permanents et 6 non permanents (thésard et post doc). La thèse sera dirigée par Violaine Sautter, directrice de Recherches de 1ère classe et membre de l'équipe ROCKS.Notre Ingénieur Sylvain Pons responsable Hygiène et Sécurité sur le site Buffon encadrera le future Thésard au niveau de la fluorescence X portative et du MEB

Contraintes et risques

Cette thèse ne comprend aucun risque spécifique à l'exception de la Fluorescence X portative avec une source nucléaire et pour la quelle sommes tous formée en particulièrement Sylvain Pons qui se chargera de la formation du futur doctorant.

Informations complémentaires

Cette thèse est financé par l'ANR GAD Géologie et Architecture à Délos.

On en parle sur Twitter !