By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

CDD PhD (M/W)- Constraining the direct radiative effect of « black carbon » and « brown carbon » on climate: an innovative experimental study on their spectral optical properties (funded ANR project B2C)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7583-GENTUA-018
Workplace : CRETEIL
Date of publication : Thursday, July 23, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-François DOUSSIN
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The objective of this thesis work is to spectrally resolve the ambient optical properties of BC and BrC aerosols and to understand their variability in relation to formation processes/conditions and atmospheric ageing. This work will be based on original experiments performed at the CESAM atmospheric simulation chamber developed at LISA (http://cesam.cnrs.fr/; Wang et al., 2011, Di Biagio et al., 2014, 2019), a 4.2 m3 chamber where aerosols can be generated, aged and deposited in a controlled manner. The BC and BrC aerosols will be generated by combustion of gaseous and liquid fuels by means of commercial generators (miniCAST) and by aqueous and non-aqueous phase reactions in situ in the CESAM chamber. Different BC and BrC ageing processes will be simulated (aerosol mixing, organic and inorganic coating formation). Multiple on-line measurements will be made on the chamber and laboratory analyses will be performed on aerosol samples taken during experiments to characterize the full range of physical, chemical, morphological and optical properties of the particles. In particular, the work will take advantage of the recent instrumental developments of the CESAM chamber, notably the new UV-Vis spectrometer which allows the measurement of the aerosol extinction spectra at high spectral resolution and at different levels of relative humidity in situ in the chamber in the SW domain, in addition to the LW spectrometer already operational in CESAM. The acquired experimental data will be combined with numerical modelling (Mie, core-shell Mie, RDG-FA Rayleigh-Debye-Gans theory for Fractal-Aggregates) to determine the essential optical properties of BC and BrC over the whole UV-Vis-LW spectrum.
References:
Bond, T. C., et al., Bounding the role of black carbon in the climate system: A scientific assessment, J. Geophys. Res. Atmos., 118, 5380–5552, 2013.
Boucher O, et al., Jury is still out on the radiative forcing by black carbon. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 113:E5092–E5093, 2016.
Di Biagio, C., Formenti P., Styler S. A., Pangui E., and Doussin, J.-F.: Laboratory chamber measurements of the longwave extinction spectra and complex refractive indices of African and Asian mineral dusts, Geophys. Res. Lett., 41, 6289–6297, https://doi.org/10.1002/2014GL060213, 2014
Di Biagio, C., Formenti, P., Balkanski, Y., Caponi, L., Cazaunau, M., Pangui, E., Journet, E., Nowak, S., Andreae, M. O., Kandler, K., Saeed, T., Piketh, S., Seibert, D., Williams, E., and Doussin, J.-F.: Complex refractive indices and single-scattering albedo of global dust aerosols in the shortwave spectrum and relationship to size and iron content, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 19, 15503–15531, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-19-15503-2019, 2019.
Feng, Y., Ramanathan, V., and Kotamarthi, V. R.: Brown carbon: a significant atmospheric absorber of solar radiation?, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 13, 8607–8621, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-13-8607-2013, 2013.
IPCC, Intergovernmental panel on climate change, fifth assessment report—the physical science basis, http://www.ipcc.ch, 2013.!
Samset, B.H., et al., Aerosol Absorption: Progress Towards Global and Regional Constraints, Curr Clim Change Rep, 4: 65, 2018.
Wang, J., et al., Design of a new multi-phase experimental simulation chamber for atmospheric photosmog, aerosol and cloud chemistry research, Atmos. Meas. Tech., 4, 2465-2494, https://doi.org/10.5194/amt-4-2465-2011, 2011.

Work Context

It is now well recognized that atmospheric aerosols contribute directly to global climate change through the scattering and absorption of solar (SW) and longwave (LW) radiation in the atmosphere (IPCC, 2013). Most aerosol species (sulphates, sea salts, mineral dust, ...) are mostly scattering in the SW domain (absorption < 10-20%) and their direct effect is negative, i.e. they induce a cooling of the Earth-atmosphere system by increasing the planetary reflectivity. This cooling effect opposes and partly mitigates the warming due to greenhouse gases. On the other hand, particulate "black carbon" (BC) and "brown carbon" (BrC), generated by the incomplete combustion of fossil fuels or biomasses or by atmospheric reactions of gaseous pollutants, strongly absorb light in the solar spectrum, which induces a warming effect. BC and BrC contribute to more than 80% of the absorption by aerosols and represent the main source of global warming after carbon dioxide, both globally and regionally (e.g., Bond et al., 2013; Feng et al., 2013).
The direct radiative effect of BC and BrC, although very large and expected to increase in the next decades due to the increase in fire frequency and growing anthropization, remains to date one of the largest uncertainties in the assessment of global climate forcing (IPCC, 2013). The level of scientific understanding of the fundamental mechanisms of aerosol-radiation interactions for these species remains very low, resulting in the inability to represent the spectral optical properties of BC and BrC in climate models (Boucher et al., 2016; Samset et al., 2018). These properties are: the complex refractive index (m=n-i.k; the intensive parameter describing the aerosol scattering and absorption capacity), the absorption, scattering, and extinction cross sections (MAC, MSC, MEC, m2g-1), and the single scattering albedo (SSA, the ratio of particle scattering to extinction). At present, one of the limiting factors remains our inability to represent the spectral optical properties of BC and BrC under ambient conditions (i.e. as a function of RH) and their possible modifications according to different atmospheric ageing processes (heterogeneous reactions with gaseous species, mixing, ...), as well as the link with the particle chemical composition. Although these properties have been widely documented in the field, the challenge is currently to move from an empirical knowledge to a systematic description for a better representation of these properties in climate models and satellite restitution algorithms. Satellite measurements are indeed key for detecting and quantifying the presence of these aerosols in the atmosphere on a regional and global scale, so to estimate their impact on air quality.
The study will allow characterizing the spectral absorption properties of particulate black and brown carbon and to relate these properties to the chemical composition, size and morphology of the particles and their modifications during atmospheric ageing through numerical parameterizations. These parameterizations based on laboratory experiments will be transferred to French climate models, in particular to the IPSL LMDz model (used by the IPCC) and satellite restitution algorithms such as those developed at LISA. This work is based on a new state-of-the-art tools from the CESAM chamber (new UV-Vis cell) to answer one of the questions identified as a priority by the IPCC international committee: what are the spectral optical properties of carbonaceous aerosols? How do these properties vary according to the source / combustion process and their residence time in the atmosphere? Answering these questions will allow major advances in estimating the radiative forcing of these major aerosol species on the global climate.

Additional Information

This thesis work is part of the B2C (Black and Brown Carbon) project which has been funded by the French National Research funding Agency (ANR) for the period 2020-2024 and of the EUROCHAMP-2020 activity (https://www.eurochamp.org/). The B2C project aims at reducing uncertainties in the estimation of the radiative effect of carbonaceous aerosols on climate. The primary objective of the project is to elucidate the dependence of the spectral optical properties of BC and BrC on the physico-chemical properties of the particles, as well as their modifications during atmospheric transport in order to improve their representation in climate models and satellite restitution algorithms.

The thesis will be realized at LISA (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques, http://www.lisa.u-pec.fr/fr) at the campus of the University of Paris-Est Creteil (https://www.u-pec.fr/), in the suburbs of Paris. The student will integrate the MEREIA group, a dynamic team of scientists working on many aspects of atmospheric chemistry and physics.

Possible collaborations: This thesis work is articulated around measurement campaigns in the CESAM simulation chambers to which several French and European research laboratories will participate by providing specific expertise on the physico-chemistry of aerosols, under the umbrella of the B2C and EUROCHAMP-2020 projects. The PhD student will be led to interact and collaborate with these different actors, which will contribute crucially to his/her scientific enrichment. The MEREIA group is also very actively involved in collaborations with several foreign research groups working on the properties of BC and BrC through experiments in the CESAM chamber. The PhD student will be able to take advantage of this scientific dynamism within the MEREIA group and interact in a privileged way with several actors of the international community working on the same research topic.
LISA (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques), UMR CNRS 7583 is a mixed research laboratory between Paris-Est Créteil University (UPEC), Université de Paris (UP) and CNRS. It is a component of the Observatory of Sciences of the Universe EFLUVE and of Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL), a Federation of 6 research laboratories working on environment and climate in the Paris region.
The main research themes in LISA relate to the understanding of the functioning of terrestrial and planetary atmospheres and of the impacts related to the changes of the atmospheric composition due to human activities. The methods used are based on direct observations in the atmosphere, on experimental simulations performed in the laboratory and on various numerical modeling approaches

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

DOCTORANT(E) H/F - Contraindre l'effet radiatif direct du « black carbon » et du « brown carbon » particulaire sur le climat : une étude expérimentale innovante sur leurs propriétés optiques spectrales

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7583-GENTUA-018
Lieu de travail : CRETEIL
Date de publication : jeudi 23 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-François DOUSSIN
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'objectif de ce travail de thèse est de résoudre spectralement les propriétés optiques ambiantes des aérosols de BC et BrC et de comprendre leur variabilité en lien avec les processus/conditions de formation et le vieillissement atmosphérique. Ce travail s'appuiera sur des expériences originales dans la chambre de simulation atmosphérique CESAM du LISA (http://cesam.cnrs.fr/; Wang et al., 2011, Di Biagio et al., 2014, 2019), un enceinte de 4.2 m3 où les aérosols peuvent être généré, vieillis et déposés de façon contrôlé. Des multiples mesures seront réalisées en ligne sur la chambre et des analyses de laboratoire seront effectués sur des échantillons des aérosols prélevés lorsque des expériences afin de caractériser l'ensemble des propriétés physiques, chimiques, morphologiques et optiques des particules. En particulier, les travaux tireront parti des récents développements instrumentaux de la chambre CESAM, notamment du nouveau spectromètre UV-Vis qui permet de mesurer les spectres d'extinction des aérosols à haute résolution spectrale et à différents niveaux d'humidité relative in situ dans la chambre dans le domaine SW, qui s'ajoute au spectromètre IR déjà opérationnel dans CESAM. Les données expérimentales acquis seront combinées à la modélisation numérique afin de déterminer les propriétés optiques essentielles des BC et BrC sur l'ensemble du spectre UV-Vis-IR.

Contexte de travail

Il est maintenant bien reconnu que les aérosols atmosphériques contribuent de façon directe au changement climatique globale via la diffusion et à l'absorption des rayonnements solaire (SW) et infrarouge (IR) dans l'atmosphère (GIEC, 2013). La plus part des espèces d'aérosols (sulfates, sels de mer, poussières minérales,...) sont diffusant dans le domaine SW (absorption < 10-20%) et leur effet direct est négatif, c'est-à-dire qu'ils induisent un refroidissement du système Terre-atmosphère par l'augmentation de la réflectivité planétaire. Ce refroidissement s'oppose et atténue en partie le réchauffement dû aux gaz à effet de serre. Par contre, le « black carbon » (BC) et le « brown carbon » (BrC) particulaires, générés par la combustion incomplète des combustibles fossiles ou de la biomasse ou par réactions atmosphérique des polluants gazeux, absorbent fortement la lumière dans le spectre solaire ce qui induise un effet de réchauffement. Les BC et BrC contribuent à plus de 80% de l'absorption par les aérosols et représentent la principale source de réchauffement climatique après le dioxyde de carbone, et cela à l'échelle globale et régionale (Bond et al., 2013 ; Feng et al., 2013).
Bien que déjà très important, on estime que l'effet radiatif direct du BC et BrC augmentera au cours des prochaines décennies en raison de l'augmentation de la fréquence des incendies et de l'anthropisation croissante. L'effet radiatif direct du BC et BrC reste à ce jour l'une des plus grandes incertitudes dans l'évaluation du forçage climatique global (GIEC, 2013). Or, le niveau de compréhension scientifique des mécanismes fondamentaux des interactions aérosol‒rayonnement pour ces espèces reste très faible, ce qui fait que à ce jour on est encore incapables de représenter les propriétés optiques spectrales du BC et BrC particulaire dans les modèles climatiques (Boucher et al., 2016 ; Samset et al., 2018). Ces propriétés sont : l'indice de réfraction complexe (m=n-i.k; le paramètre intensif décrivant la capacité de diffusion, n, et absorption, k, des particules), les sections efficaces d'absorption, diffusion, et extinction (MAC, MSC, MEC, m2g-1), et l'albédo de simple diffusion (SSA, le rapport entre la diffusion et l'extinction des particules). À l'heure actuelle, un des facteurs limitant reste notre incapacité à représenter les propriétés optiques spectrales des BC et BrC en conditions ambiantes (c'est-à-dire en fonction de l'humidité relative RH) et leurs éventuelles modifications en fonction des différents processus de vieillissement atmosphérique (réactions hétérogènes avec espèces gazeuses, mélange avec des autres aérosols, ..), ainsi que le lien avec la composition chimique des particules. Même si ces propriétés ont été largement documentées sur le terrain, le défi consiste actuellement à passer des connaissances empiriques à une description systématique pour une meilleure représentation de ces propriétés dans les modèles climatiques et les algorithmes de restitution satellitaire. La mesure satellitaire est en effet clé pour détecter et quantifier la présence de ces aérosols en atmosphère à l'échelle régionale et globale, ainsi pour estimer leur impact sur la qualité de l'air.
L'étude menée par le doctorant permettra de caractériser les propriétés spectrales d'absorption propres du black carbon et brown carbon particulaires et de relier ces propriétés à la composition chimique, taille et morphologie des particules et à leurs modifications au cours du vieillissement atmosphérique à travers des paramétrisations numériques. Ces paramétrisations basées sur les expériences de laboratoire seront transférées aux modèles climatiques français, notamment au modèle LMDz de l'IPSL (utilisé par le GIEC) et les algorithmes de restitution satellitaires tels que ceux développés au LISA. Ces travaux s'appuient sur un nouvel outil de pointe de la chambre CESAM (nouvelle cellule UV-Vis) pour répondre à un des questionnements identifiés comme prioritaires par le comité international du GIEC : quels sont les propriétés optiques spectrales des aérosols carbonés ? Comment ces propriétés varient en fonction de la source / processus de combustion et de leur temps de résidence dans l'atmosphère ? La réponse à ces questionnements permettra des avancées majeures sur l'estimation du forçage radiatif de ces espèces majoritaires des aérosols sur le climat global

Informations complémentaires

Ce travail de thèse s'inscrit dans le cadre du projet B2C (Black and Brown Carbon) qui a été financé par l'Agence nationale de financement de la recherche (ANR) pour la période 2020-2024 et de l'activité EUROCHAMP-2020 (https://www.eurochamp.org/). Le projet B2C vise à réduire les incertitudes sur l'estimation de l'effet radiatif des aérosols carbonés sur le climat. Pour cela le projet a comme objective primaire de élucider la dépendance des propriétés optiques spectrales du BC et BrC aux propriétés physico-chimiques des particules, ainsi que leurs modifications au cours du transport atmosphérique afin d'améliorer leur représentation dans les modelés climatiques et algorithmes de restitution satellitaires.
La thèse sera réalisée au LISA (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques, http://www.lisa.u-pec.fr/fr) sur le campus de l'Université de Paris-Est Créteil (https://www.u-pec.fr/), en banlieue parisienne. L'étudiant intégrera le groupe MEREIA, une équipe dynamique de scientifiques travaillant sur de nombreux aspects de la chimie et de la physique de l'atmosphère.
Collaborations possibles :Ce projet s'articule autour de campagnes de mesures en chambre de simulation CESAM auxquels plusieurs laboratoires de recherche français et européens participeront par l'apport des compétences spécifiques sur la physico-chimie des aérosols, comme envisagé dans le projet B2C. Le doctorant sera mené à interagir et collaborer avec ces différents acteurs, ce que contribuera de façon cruciale à son enrichissement scientifique. Le groupe MEREIA est aussi très activement impliqué dans des collaborations avec plusieurs groups de recherche étrangers travaillant sur les propriétés du BC et BrC par des expériences en chambre CESAM. Le doctorant pourra traire avantage de ce dynamisme scientifique au sein du groupe MEREIA et interagir de façon privilégié avec plusieurs acteurs de la communauté internationale travaillant sur le même sujet de recherche.
Le LISA (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques), UMR CNRS 7583 est une unité mixte de l'Université Paris-Est Créteil , de l'Université de Paris et du CNRS. Il fait partie de l'Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers EFLUVE et de la Fédération de recherche IPSL.
Ses principaux thèmes de recherche portent sur la compréhension du fonctionnement des atmosphères terrestres et planétaires, et des impacts liés à la modification de la composition de l'atmosphère par les activités humaines. Les méthodes utilisées sont fondées sur des observations en atmosphère réelle, sur de la simulation expérimentale en laboratoire et de la modélisation numérique

On en parle sur Twitter !