By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in Mathematics (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7373-MARRIG-006
Workplace : MARSEILLE 13
Date of publication : Thursday, June 25, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Madame Raphaèle HERBIN
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The thesis will be co-supervised by Raphaèle Herbin (I2M) and Jean-Claude Latché (IRSN Cadarache). The student will be enrolled in ED 184 "Mathematics and Computer Science of Marseille".

In the simulations carried out for nuclear safety studies, flows are described most of the time by balance equations, and in particular Navier-Stokes equations made up of mass and momentum balances, where convection terms are dominant, whatever the chosen turbulence modelling: one-point statistical models, called RANS models (for Reynolds Averaged Navier-Stokes), or large scale simulations [6, 2]. This is the case, for example, for the simulation of fires in confined and mechanically ventilated premises or for the modelling of turbulent deflagrations, phenomena described by software (ISIS and P2REMICS respectively) based on the CALIF3S library of components for fluid mechanics, developed at IRSN.
Furthermore, both ISIS and P2REMICS are intended for industrial applications, hence the need to deal with complex three-dimensional geometries, in particular with curved boundaries, the simplest example being a pipe with a circular cross-section.
This context makes it necessary to implement in CALIF3S both stable and precise discretizations of the convection operator, of the finite volume type, on meshes that are as general as possible. In addition, the space approximation used in CALIF3S is a discretization with staggered meshes: the scalar unknowns are associated with the cells of the mesh while the velocity is associated with the faces of the cells (or, equivalently, with a so-called dual mesh, consisting of control volumes centered on the centers of the faces). Two discrete convection operators are thus implemented, the first based on the initial (or primal) mesh and the second based on the dual mesh, the geometrical characteristics of these two meshes being significantly different.

The objective of this thesis is to develop one or more discrete convection operators for flows with dominant convection in complex domains (thus excluding schemes based only on structured meshes, such as the classical staggered mesh scheme, called MAC scheme); introduced in CALIF3S, these operators will be implemented for incompressible, low Mach number or compressible flows (including Euler equations). More precisely, all or part of the following points will be dealt with:
– Pyramidal or prismatic control volumes - These types of cells are quite commonly used in industrial meshes. Prismatic meshes are obtained when a mesh is constructed by extruding a 2D mesh of a general flat surface : Typically, the mesh of a pipe can be obtained from a 2D mesh of quadrangles and triangles of one of its sections; in this case, the discretization obtained often gives very good quality solutions, because it keeps faces parallel to the flow, and the prismatic meshes keep their precision (or, at least, lose it less quickly) when the anisotropy of the mesh becomes very pronounced (very elongated meshes in the direction of the tube axis near the walls to calculate the boundary layers). Pyramidal control volumes, because they have quadrangular and triangular faces, allow the coexistence of tetrahedrons and hexahedrons in the same mesh, which is sometimes necessary for some 3D meshes to process complex geometry. These control volumes are not currently processed in CALIF3S (only tetrahedra and hexahedra are taken into account), hence the proposed extension.

The first-order convection operator is standard on primary meshes; a more precise variant can be obtained by MUSCL techniques operating in any geometry, including, among many other works, those developed in the laboratory [5]. The dual mesh operator is more difficult to obtain, given the constraints of coherence with the primary operator necessary for its positivity; we will follow here the line used for the other discretizations of CALIF3S [1, 4]. It should be noted that, for these new discretizations, it will also be necessary to build a diffusion operator [5, 3]. Theoretical aspects can be addressed: error estimates in the diffusive case and behaviour in case of mesh stretching, stability of the diffusion operator (Poincaré inequality, Korn lemma), stability for the Stokes problem (discrete inf-sup condition) ....
- Slope limiting techniques for momentum convection - In a variant (to be developed) of the pressure correction scheme implemented in CALIF3S, where convection will be explicitly treated, the gains brought by a slope limiting technique applied to previously constructed meshes will be verified (at least numerically). The adaptation of the scheme to the simulation of large scales will be of particular interest.
- Non-conforming local refinement - Non-conforming refinement possibilities are offered in CALIF3S for the meshes currently available. However, the performance of such a scheme needs to be verified, or even adapted (i.e. stabilized), for problems with dominant convection. The extension to pyramidal and prismatic cells will then be considered.
- Course of the thesis -
After an important bibliography phase, taking into account the scientific scope of the subject, the work to be carried out will be addressed in the order mentioned above. Computer developments will be carried out in the CALIF3S library developed at IRSN.


References
7. [1] G. Ansanay-Alex, F. Babik, J.-C. Latché, and D. Vola. An L2-stable approximation of the Navier-Stokes convection operator for low-order non-conforming finite elements. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 66:555–580, 2010.
8. [2] L.C. Berselli, T. Iliescu, and W.J. Layton. Mathematics of Large Eddy Simulation of Turbulent Flows. Springer, 2006.
9. [3] J. Droniou, R. Eymard, T. Gallouët, C. Guichard, and R. Herbin. The Gradient Discretisation Method. Springer, 2018.
10. [4] J.-C. Latché, B. Piar, and K. Saleh. A discrete kinetic energy preserving convection operator for variable density flows on locally refined staggered meshes. submitted, 2018.
11. [5] L. Piar, F. Babik, R. Herbin, and J.-C. Latché. A formally second order cell centered scheme for convection-diffusion equations on general grids. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 71:873–890, 2013.
12. [6] P. Sagaut. Large Eddy Simulation for Incompressible Flows. Springer, 2001.

We are looking for a student who has followed a Master 2 course in numerical analysis of EDP and scientific computation and who has preferably completed his or her Master 2 thesis in numerical fluid mechanics.

The candidate must send his/her Curriculum Vitae accompanied by his/her transcripts in Master 1 and 2.

An interview will take place between the future thesis supervisors and the candidate either in Marseille or by videoconference between June 27 and July 4, 2020.

Work Context

The doctoral student will carry out his or her thesis at the Institut de Mathématique de Marseille and at the Laboratoire de l'Incendie et des Explosions (LIE/SA2I/PSN-RES), at IRSN Cadarache. The supervising authorities of the Institut de Mathématique de Marseille are the CNRS, the University of Aix-Marseille and the Ecole Centrale de Marseille, which has about one hundred and thirty teacher-researchers, about thirty CNRS researchers, about fifteen technical and administrative staff, about sixty doctoral students and about twenty post-doctoral researchers. The Institute comprises five research groups covering a broad spectrum of pure and applied mathematics (analysis, geometry, topology, logic, arithmetic, dynamics, combinatorics, probability, statistics, applied analysis, etc.), as well as a large number of application fields (scientific or industrial).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en Mathématiques (H/F) : Schémas de convection pour les équations de Navier-Stokes sur maillages généraux

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7373-MARRIG-006
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 13
Date de publication : jeudi 25 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Madame Raphaèle HERBIN
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La thèse sera co-encadrée par Raphaèle Herbin (I2M) et Jean-Claude Latché (IRSN Cadarache). L'étudiant(e) sera inscrite à l'ED 184 « Mathématiques et Informatique de Marseille ».

Dans les simulations effectuées pour les études de sûreté nucléaire, les écoulements sont décrits la plupart du temps par des équations de bilan, et notamment les équations de Navier-Stokes constituées des bilans de masse et de quantité de mouvement, où les termes de convection sont dominants, et ce quelle que soit la modélisation de la turbulence choisie : modèles statistiques en un point, dits modèles RANS (pour Reynolds Averaged Navier-Stokes), ou simulation des grandes échelles [6, 2]. C'est le cas, par exemple, pour la simulation des incendies dans des locaux confinés et ventilés mécaniquement ou pour la modélisation des déflagrations turbulentes, phénomènes décrits par des logiciels (ISIS et P2REMICS respectivement) basés sur la librairie de composants pour la mécanique des fluides CALIF3S, développée à l'IRSN.
Par ailleurs, ISIS comme P2REMICS ont pour finalité la réalisation d'applications industrielles, d'où la nécessité de traiter des géométries tridimensionnelles complexes, avec notamment des frontières courbes, l'exemple le plus simple étant un tuyau de section circulaire.
Ce contexte rend nécessaire la mise en œuvre dans CALIF3S de discrétisations à la fois stables et précises de l'opérateur de convection, de type volumes finis, sur maillages aussi généraux que possibles. En outre, l'approximation en espace utilisée dans CALIF3S est une discrétisation à mailles décalées : les inconnues scalaires sont associées aux cellules du maillage alors que la vitesse est associée aux faces des cellules (ou, de manière équivalente, à un maillage dit dual, constitué de volumes de contrôle centrés sur les centres des faces). Deux opérateurs de convection discrets sont donc mis en œuvre, le premier basé sur le maillage initial (ou primal) et le second basé sur le maillage dual, les caractéristiques géométriques de ces deux maillages étant sensiblement différentes.

L'objectif de cette thèse est de développer un ou des opérateurs discrets de convection performants pour les écoulements à convection dominante dans des domaines complexes (donc excluant les schémas basés uniquement sur des maillages structurés, tel le schéma à mailles décalées classique, dit schéma MAC) ; introduits dans CALIF3S, ces opérateurs seront mis en œuvre pour des écoulements incompressibles, à faible nombre de Mach ou compressibles (en incluant les équations d'Euler). Plus précisément, tout ou partie des points suivants sera traitée :
– Volumes de contrôle pyramidaux ou prismatiques – Ces types de cellules sont assez couramment utilisés dans les maillages industriels. Des mailles prismatiques sont obtenues lorsque l'on construit un maillage par extrusion d'un maillage 2D d'une surface plane générale : typiquement, le maillage d'un tube peut ainsi être obtenu à partir d'un maillage 2D en quad- rangles et triangles d'une de ses sections ; dans ce cas, la discrétisation obtenue donne souvent des solutions de très bonne qualité, parce qu'elle conserve des faces parallèles à l'écoulement, et que les mailles prismatiques gardent leur précision (ou, a minima, la perdent moins vite) lorsque l'anisotropie du maillage devient très prononcée (mailles très allongées dans le sens de l'axe du tube au voisinage des parois pour calculer les couches limites). Les volumes de contrôle pyramidaux, du fait qu'ils possèdent des faces quadrangulaires et triangulaires, permettent de faire coexister tétrahèdres et hexahèdres dans un même maillage, ce qui est parfois nécessaire à certains mailleurs 3D pour traiter une géométrie complexe. Ces volumes de contrôle ne sont pas à ce jour traités dans CALIF3S (seuls les tétrahèdres et les hexahèdres sont pris en compte), d'où le travail d'extension proposé.
L'opérateur de convection du premier ordre est standard sur les mailles primales ; une variante plus précise pourra être obtenue par les techniques de type MUSCL opérantes en géométrie quelconque, dont, parmi de nombreux autres travaux, celles développées au laboratoire [5]. L'opérateur sur maillage dual est plus difficile à obtenir, compte-tenu des contraintes de cohérence avec l'opérateur primal nécessaires à sa positivité ; on suivra ici la ligne mise en œuvre pour les autres discrétisations de CALIF3S [1, 4]. Il est à noter que, pour ces nouvelles discrétisations, il faudra également construire un opérateur de diffusion [5, 3]. Des aspects théoriques pourront être abordés : estimations d'erreur dans le cas diffusif et comportement en cas d'étirement du maillage, stabilité de l'opérateur de diffusion (inégalité de Poincaré, lemme de Korn), stabilité pour le problème de Stokes (condition inf-sup discrète). . .
– Techniques de limitation de pente pour la convection de vitesse dans la quantité de mouvement – Dans le cadre d'une variante (à développer) du schéma de correction de pression implémenté dans CALIF3S, où la convection sera traitée de manière explicite, il s'agira de vérifier (au moins numériquement) les gains apportés par une technique de limita-tion de pente, appliquée aux maillages précédemment construits. On s'intéressera notamment à l'adaptation du schéma à la simulation des grandes échelles.
– Raffinement local non conforme – Des possibilités de raffinement non-conforme sont offertes dans CALIF3S pour les maillages à ce jour disponibles. Il convient toutefois de vérifier les performances d'un tel schéma, voire de l'adapter (i.e. le stabiliser), pour les problèmes à convection dominante. L'extension aux cellules pyramidales et prismatiques sera ensuite envisagée.
– Déroulement de la thèse –
Après une phase de bibliographie importante, compte-tenu de l'étendue scientifique du sujet traité, les travaux à effectuer seront abordés dans l'ordre évoqué ci-dessus. Les développements informatiques seront réalisés dans la bibliothèque CALIF3S développée à l'IRSN.
Références
1. [1] G. Ansanay-Alex, F. Babik, J.-C. Latché, and D. Vola. An L2-stable approximation of the Navier-Stokes convection operator for low-order non-conforming finite elements. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 66:555–580, 2010.
2. [2] L.C. Berselli, T. Iliescu, and W.J. Layton. Mathematics of Large Eddy Simulation of Turbulent Flows. Springer, 2006.
3. [3] J. Droniou, R. Eymard, T. Gallouët, C. Guichard, and R. Herbin. The Gradient Discretisation Method. Springer, 2018.
4. [4] J.-C. Latché, B. Piar, and K. Saleh. A discrete kinetic energy preserving convection operator for variable density flows on locally refined staggered meshes. submitted, 2018.
5. [5] L. Piar, F. Babik, R. Herbin, and J.-C. Latché. A formally second order cell centered scheme for convection-diffusion equations on general grids. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 71:873–890, 2013.
6. [6] P. Sagaut. Large Eddy Simulation for Incompressible Flows. Springer, 2001.

Nous cherchons un(e) étudiant(e) ayant suivi un parcours Master2 en analyse numérique des EDP et calcul scientifique et ayant de préférence effectué son mémoire de Master 2 en mécanique des fluides numérique.

Le candidat doit envoyer son Curriculum Vitae accompagné de ses relevés de notes en Master 1 et 2.

Un entretien aura lieu entre les futurs directeurs de thèse et le candidat soit à Marseille soit par visioconférence entre le 27 juin et le 4 juillet 2020.

Contexte de travail

Le ou la doctorant(e) effectuera sa thèse au sein de l'Institut de Mathématique de Marseille (I2M) et sera amené à se rendre au Laboratoire de l'Incendie et des Explosions (LIE/SA2I/PSN-RES), à l'IRSN Cadarache. Les tutelles de l'I2M sont le CNRS, l'Université d'Aix-Marseille et l'école Centrale de Marseille, et qui compte environ cent trente enseignants-chercheurs, une trentaine de chercheurs CNRS, une quinzaine de personnels techniques et administratifs, une soixantaine de doctorants et une vingtaine de chercheurs post-doctorants. L'Institut comprend cinq groupes de recherche qui couvrent un large spectre des mathématiques pures et appliquées (Analyse, géométrie, topologie, logique, arithmétique, dynamique, combinatoire, probabilités, statistiques, analyse appliquée, etc.), ainsi qu'un grand nombre de domaines d'applications (scientifiques ou industrielles).

On en parle sur Twitter !