En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

PhD in Biomedical Photoacoustic Imaging : Accumulation of Labeled Drug Nanovectors in murine model of arthritis (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 17 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7371-JERGAT-001
Workplace : PARIS 06
Date of publication : Monday, April 26, 2021
Scientific Responsible name : Jérôme Gateau
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Nanoparticles as drug nanovectors are expected to profoundly change therapeutic treatments in the next 15 years and specifically benefit highly prevalent diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis [1,2]⁠. Compared to conventional drug formulations, drug nanovectors need to overcome several biological barriers to achieve drug delivery at the site of inflammation. It has recently become increasingly evident that the heterogeneity of the NV accumulation profoundly impacts therapeutic response. Therefore, image-based selection of patients with an efficient accumulation for a given NV has been identified as a key point for improving therapeutic outcome. The objective of this thesis project is to develop new methods to image the biodistribution of labeled NVs at the site of inflammation in 3D and with high spatial resolution. The developed methods will be validated in a preclinical study in mice.

Pulse-echo ultrasound imaging yields an anatomical image that can serve as a reference, while photoacoustic imaging (PAI) provides a molecular contrast and a sensitivity to the accumulation of NVs. PAI is an emerging biomedical imaging modality [3]⁠ which combines optical excitation and ultrasound detection to map optical absorption in biological tissues. It can be optimized to enable detection of NVs with a sub-millimeter resolution and to spectrally discriminate some molecular absorbers  [4]⁠ that can label specific types of NVs. A 3D dual-modality scanner (ultrasound and PAI) will be implemented for simultaneous ultrasound and photoacoustic imaging with ~0.1mm spatial resolution and 1-2 cm penetration depth. The scanner will be designed to study the slow kinetics of the in vivo accumulation of NVs. This innovative scanner will be based on previous work on 3D ultrasound  [5]⁠ and photoacoustic  [6]⁠ tomography at the Laboratory of Biomedical Imaging (Laboratoire d'Imagerie Biomédicale, LIB). In particular, a first prototype has recently been validated in vitro but with a lower ultrasound frequency than needed for this doctoral project. 3D imaging is obtained by scanning an ultrasound array in translation and rotation and yields unique contrast and resolution.

Several types of NVs are promising in terms of drug encapsulation for rheumatoid arthritis thanks to their biocompatibility, biodegradability and low toxicity. Three such types of NVs, whose formulation is well mastered at the Institut Galien Paris-Saclay (IGPS) in the team of N. Tsapis, will be synthesized within the framework of this project: polymer nanospheres, liposomes and solid lipid nanoparticles [7]⁠. Each of these NVs has different chemical, structural and mechanical properties that can influence their accumulation at the site of inflammation. Moreover, they can be formulated within a range of sizes (50 nm to 500nm). The synthesized NVs will be labeled with a molecular absorber with an absorption spectrum different from the hemoglobin to optimize the detectability with PAI.

The 3D in vivo imaging methods will be applied to detect the signals from the labeled nanovectors to obtain a better understanding of the relationship between the volumetric distribution of the accumulation at the site of inflammation and the structural and mechanical properties of the NVs. A series of detection and accumulation measurements will be conducted using murine models of arthritis.

This highly interdisciplinary project is at the interface between the instrumentation for biomedical imaging (LIB) and the physical chemistry of drug nanovectors (IGPS). The doctoral student will join the two research groups (the LIB and the IGPS) and will perform the experimental work and data analysis to attain the goal for sensitive, 3D detection of the biodistribution of NVs effectively delivered to treat an inflammation. More precisely, she/he will label and formulate NVs according to methods developed at the IGPS. She/he will characterize the labeled NVs with standard methods for the characterization of nanoparticles and will further measure their photoacoustic properties. The doctoral student will also implement the high frequency 3D scanner at the LIB. She/he will be in charge of optimizing the imaging sequence, the image reconstruction and the image analysis based on methods already developed at the LIB. Finally, she/he will perform the in vivo experimental study on murine models.



The indicative timetable for this doctoral project is :
• 0 to 12 months : development of the high frequency in vivo imaging scanner and its validation. Formulation and characterization of one type of labeled NVs.
• 12 to 24 months: imaging of the accumulation of labeled NVs at the site of inflammation. Synthesis of several types of labeled NVs.
• 24 to 36 months: comparison of the accumulation of different labeled NVs. Analysis of the structural and mechanical properties of the NVs influencing their accumulation. Analysis of the quality and spatial resolution of the assessment of PAI-based assessment of the NVs.

Bibliography
1. 2016-2030 SRIA, Nanomedicine Strategic Research & Innovation Agenda 2016–2030: Creating Junctions for Healthcare (2016).
2. Q. Wang and X. Sun, "Recent advances in nanomedicines for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis," Biomater. Sci. 5, 1407–1420 (2017).
3. P. Beard, "Biomedical photoacoustic imaging.," Interface Focus 1, 602–31 (2011).
4. J. Weber, P. C. Beard, and S. E. Bohndiek, "Contrast agents for molecular photoacoustic imaging.," Nat. Methods 13, 639–50 (2016).
5. T. Lucas, I. Quidu, S. L. Bridal, and J. Gateau, "High-Contrast and -Resolution 3-D Ultrasonography with a Clinical Linear Transducer Array Scanned in a Rotate-Translate Geometry," Appl. Sci. 11, 493 (2021).
6. J. Gateau, M. Gesnik, J.-M. J.-M. Chassot, and E. Bossy, "Single-side access, isotropic resolution, and multispectral three-dimensional photoacoustic imaging with rotate-translate scanning of ultrasonic detector array," J. Biomed. Opt. 20, 056004 (2015).
7. M. Lorscheider, N. Tsapis, M. ur-Rehman, F. Gaudin, I. Stolfa, S. Abreu, S. Mura, P. Chaminade, M. Espeli, and E. Fattal, "Dexamethasone palmitate nanoparticles: An efficient treatment for rheumatoid arthritis," J. Control. Release 296, 179–189 (2019).

Profile and skills expected:
- Master 2 (or equivalent) with knowledge of wave physics, instrumentation and a taste for physical-chemistry
- Strong interest in experimental techniques and analysis of experimental data
- Skills in programming and signal and image processing
- Taste for interdisciplinary work : physics, chemistry and biology (involving good communication skills)
- Good interpersonal skills (enthusiasm for research), able to work independently as well as in a team, taking initiatives
- Good command of English

To apply, please send:
• A resume
• A cover letter
• A copy of the transcripts of Master 1, Master 2 and / or School of Engineering
• A description of previous work (max. 3 pages)
• Letters of recommendations, if any

Work Context

The doctoral student will be appointed by the CNRS, one of the most well-established French multidisciplinary research institute in the World. This thesis project is funded directly by the CNRS through the MITI (https://miti.cnrs.fr/) interdisciplinary program 80Prime. For this multidisciplinary project, the student will be co-supervised by two research teams working in biomedical photoacoustic imaging (Team: Imaging and targeted therapy development in cancer and inflammation, Laboratoire d'imagerie Biomedical, LIB , https://www.lib.upmc.fr/ ) and nanoparticle engineering (Team: Particle and cell engineering for therapeutic applications, Institut Galien Paris Saclay, IGPS, http://www.umr-cnrs8612.universite-paris-saclay.fr/ ), respectively. The LIB is located in the Centre de Recherche des Cordeliers (CRC, Paris). The laboratory has a strong expertise in the development of ultrasound based imaging modalities, such as pulse-echo ultrasound imaging and photoacoustic imaging. The project will benefit from state-of-the-art equipment (tunable nanosecond laser, programmable research ultrasound machine, high precision motorized stages) and from the experience gained in previous implementations of 3D imaging with this equipment. IPGS is located in the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University Paris Saclay (Châtenay-Malabry). It is a unique department focusing on the development of new drug delivery systems and contrast agents for biomedical imaging. IGPS is well equipped to synthesize formulate, characterize and study nanoparticles. In vivo experiments will be performed at the in vivo imaging platform at the Cochin Institute (Paris).
The PhD student will belong to the doctoral school « Public health - Pierre Louis: Epidemiology and Biomedical Information Science” (ED393, http://www.ed393.upmc.fr/) of Sorbonne University, for PhD formations and degree.

Constraints and risks

Laser risk. Appropriate equipment (laser googles and shields) will be provided. Training will be provided regarding the safety procedures and repect of safety procedures will be mandatory.
Work with animal models. Appropriate training will be provided in accordance with regulations.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en imagerie photoacoustique biomédicale : accumulation de nanovecteurs marqués dans un modèle murin d'arthrite (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 17 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7371-JERGAT-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 06
Date de publication : lundi 26 avril 2021
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jérôme Gateau
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les nanoparticules en tant que nanovecteurs (NVs) de principes actifs pourraient profondément modifier le traitement de maladies courantes telles que la polyarthrite rhumatoïde au cours des 15 prochaines années [1,2]⁠. L'action thérapeutique des NVs repose sur leur accumulation au niveau du site de la réaction inflammatoire, suivie par la délivrance du principe actif. L'hétérogénéité de l'accumulation influence la réponse thérapeutique. Ainsi, une sélection des patients sur la base d'une imagerie de l'accumulation de NVs marqués permettrait d'améliorer l'efficacité de traitement. L'objectif de ce projet de thèse est de développer de nouvelles méthodes permettant d'imager en 3D et à haute résolution la biodistribution de NVs marqués, au niveau du site d'inflammation articulaire. Les méthodes mises au point seront validées au niveau préclinique chez la souris.

L'imagerie ultrasonore permet d'obtenir une imagerie anatomique de référence tandis que l'imagerie photoacoustique (IPA) apporte un contraste moléculaire et une sensibilité à l'accumulation des NVs. L'IPA est une modalité d'imagerie émergente [3]⁠ qui combine excitation optique et détection ultrasonore pour cartographier l'absorption optique dans les tissus biologiques. Elle peut être optimisée afin de détecter l'accumulation des NVs avec une résolution submillimétrique et de séparer spectralement des absorbeurs moléculaires [4]⁠ qui sont capable de marquer les NVs. Un scanner 3D bi-modal (ultrason et IPA) sera mis en place pour une imagerie ultrason et photoacoustique simultanée et haute fréquence afin d'atteindre une résolution spatiale de ~ 0.1 mm à 1-2 centimètres de profondeur. Le scanner sera conçu pour étudier la cinétique lente d'accumulation des NVs in vivo. Ce scanner innovant s'appuiera sur les travaux menés au laboratoire d'imagerie Biomédicale (LIB) sur la tomographie 3D ultrasonore  [5]⁠ et photoacoustique [6]. En particulier, une première version du scanner a récemment été validée in vitro, mais à plus basse fréquence ultrasonore que celle qui est nécessaire pour ce projet. L'imagerie 3D est obtenue par balayage un réseau d'imagerie ultrasonore en translation et en rotation pour obtenir un contraste et une résolution uniques.

Différents types de NVs sont prometteurs pour l'encapsulation de principes actifs pour la polyarthrite rhumatoïde en raison de leur biocompatibilité, biodégradabilité et faible toxicité. Trois types de NVs dont la synthèse est bien maîtrisée à l'Institut Galien Paris-Saclay (IGPS) dans l'équipe de N. Tsapis seront formulés : des nanosphères polymères, des liposomes et des nanoparticules lipidiques solides [7]⁠. Ces types de NVs possèdent des chimies, structures et propriétés mécaniques différentes qui peuvent influer sur les capacités d'accumulation au site d'inflammation. Ils offrent en outre tous une flexibilité importante dans la taille des NVs qui peuvent être formulés (50 nm à 500 nm). Ces NVs seront marqués pour l'IPA avec un absorbeur moléculaire stable dont le spectre d'absorption est différent de celui de l'hémoglobine, afin d'optimiser la détectabilité.

Les méthodes d'imagerie 3D in vivo seront ensuite combinée aux NVs marqués pour mieux comprendre les relations entre la distribution spatiale volumétrique de l'accumulation dans la zone d'inflammation et les propriétés des NVs. Une étude préclinique sera réalisée sur des modèles murins d'arthrite.

Ce projet très interdisciplinaire se situe à l'interface de l'instrumentation pour l'imagerie biomédicale (LIB) et la physicochimie des nanovecteurs (IGPS). L'étudiant.e en thèse sera rattaché.e aux deux laboratoires (LIB et IGPS) et réalisera les travaux expérimentaux de ce projet, ainsi que le traitement de données pour détecter avec une grande sensibilité la biodistribution de NVs accumulés dans le site d'inflammation. En particulier, elle/il fera le marquage et la formulation des NVs selon les méthodes établies à l'IGPS. Elle/il caractérisera les NVs marqués par les méthodes standards de caractérisation des nanovecteurs et également photoacoustiquement. L'étudiant.e en thèse réalisera également le développement de l'imageur 3D haute fréquence au LIB. Elle/il aura en charge l'optimisation de la séquence d'acquisition, la reconstruction d'images et leur analyse à partir des méthodes déjà développées au LIB. Enfin, elle/il réalisera les expériences in vivo sur les modèles murins et analysera les images.


Le calendrier indicatif associé à ses travaux est :
• 0 à 12 mois : développement de l'imageur haute fréquence in vivo et sa validation. Formulation et caractérisation des premiers NVs marqués.
• 12 à 24 mois : imagerie de l'accumulation de NVs marqués dans le site d'inflammation articulaire. Synthèse de plusieurs types de NVs marqués.
• 24 à 36 mois : comparaison de l'accumulation in vivo de différents NVs marqués. Analyse des facteurs structuraux et mécaniques influant sur leur accumulation. Analyse de la qualité et de la résolution spatiale de l'évaluation in vivo de l'accumulation par IPA.

Bibliographie
1. 2016-2030 SRIA, Nanomedicine Strategic Research & Innovation Agenda 2016–2030: Creating Junctions for Healthcare (2016).
2. Q. Wang and X. Sun, "Recent advances in nanomedicines for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis," Biomater. Sci. 5, 1407–1420 (2017).
3. P. Beard, "Biomedical photoacoustic imaging.," Interface Focus 1, 602–31 (2011).
4. J. Weber, P. C. Beard, and S. E. Bohndiek, "Contrast agents for molecular photoacoustic imaging.," Nat. Methods 13, 639–50 (2016).
5. T. Lucas, I. Quidu, S. L. Bridal, and J. Gateau, "High-Contrast and -Resolution 3-D Ultrasonography with a Clinical Linear Transducer Array Scanned in a Rotate-Translate Geometry," Appl. Sci. 11, 493 (2021).
6. J. Gateau, M. Gesnik, J.-M. J.-M. Chassot, and E. Bossy, "Single-side access, isotropic resolution, and multispectral three-dimensional photoacoustic imaging with rotate-translate scanning of ultrasonic detector array," J. Biomed. Opt. 20, 056004 (2015).
7. M. Lorscheider, N. Tsapis, M. ur-Rehman, F. Gaudin, I. Stolfa, S. Abreu, S. Mura, P. Chaminade, M. Espeli, and E. Fattal, "Dexamethasone palmitate nanoparticles: An efficient treatment for rheumatoid arthritis," J. Control. Release 296, 179–189 (2019).

Profil et compétences attendus:
- Master 2 (ou équivalent) avec des connaissances en physique des ondes, instrumentation et un goût pour la physico-chimie
- Fort intérêt pour l'expérimentation et l'analyse des données expérimentales
- Compétences en programmation et en traitement du signal et des images
- Goût pour le travail interdisciplinaire : physique, chimie et biologie (impliquant de bonnes compétences de communication
- Bonnes capacités relationnelles (enthousiasme pour la recherche), capable de travail de façon indépendante aussi bien qu'en équipe, prise d'initiatives
- Bonne maitrise de l'anglais

Pour candidater, merci d'envoyer :
• Un curriculum vitae
• Une lettre de motivation
• Une copie des relevés de notes de Master 1, Master 2 et/ou Ecole d'ingénieurs
• Une description des travaux antérieurs (max. 3 pages)
• Lettres de recommandations éventuelles

Contexte de travail

L'étudiant.e en thèse sera embauchée par le CNRS, l'un des plus prestigieux organisme de recherche francais. Ce projet de thèse est financé directement par le CNRS par la Mission pour les initiatives transverses et interdisciplinaires (https://miti.cnrs.fr/) à travers le programme 80 Prime. Pour ce projet interdisciplinaire, l'étudiant.e en thèse sera encadré.e dans deux équipes de recherches travaillant respectivement sur l'imagerie biomédicale photoacoustique (Equipe: Développement d'imagerie et de thérapie ciblée pour le cancer et l'inflammation , Laboratoire d'imagerie Biomedical, LIB , https://www.lib.upmc.fr/) et l'ingénierie de nanoparticules (Equipe: Ingénierie particulaire et cellulaire à visée thérapeutique, Institut Galien Paris Saclay, IGPS, http://www.umr-cnrs8612.universite-paris-saclay.fr/ ). Le LIB est situé dans le Centre de Recherche des Cordeliers (CRC, Paris 06). Le laboratoire a une expertise reconnue dans le développement de méthodes d'imagerie basée sur l'utilisation d'ondes ultrasonores, telles que l'imagerie échographique et l'imagerie photoacoustique. Des équipements de pointes (Laser nanoseconde accordable, échographe programmable, platines motorisées de précision) disponibles au LIB seront utilisés, et l'expérience acquise par l'implémentation de versions précédentes de l'imageur 3D facilitera la mise en place du nouveau scanner. L'IGPS est située dans la faculté de Pharmacie de l'université Paris Saclay (Châtenay-Malabry). C'est un institut reconnu internationalement pour le développement de nouveaux systèmes de délivrance de principe actif et d'agents de contraste pour l'imagerie biomédicale. L'IGPS possède tous les équipements pour synthétiser, caractériser et étudier les nanoparticules. L'expérimentation animale sera réalisée sur la plateforme d'imagerie du vivant de l'Institut Cochin (Paris).
La thèse sera rattachée à l'école doctorale “Pierre Louis de santé publique: Epidémiologie et Sciences de l'Information Biomédicale” (ED393, http://www.ed393.upmc.fr/) de Sorbonne Université dispensant les formations et crédits doctoraux.

Contraintes et risques

Risque laser. Des équipement de protection sont fournis. Les bonnes pratiques de sécurité seront enseignées/rappelées et devront être suivies.
Travail sur des modèles animaux. Les formations réglementaires seront suivit pas l'étudiant.e .

On en parle sur Twitter !