By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Modelling and numerical simulation of elastic turbulence (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7351-DARVIN-001
Workplace : NICE
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Dario Vincenzi
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Elastic turbulence is a chaotic regime that emerges in polymer solutions at weak inertia owing to purely elastic instabilities. It was discovered about twenty years ago by Groisman et Steinberg [Nature 405, 53 (2000)] and is now commonly used in micro-fluidics to enhance mixing and heat transfer as well as to favour phenomena such as emulsification. Elastic turbulence and its applications have been widely studied in experiments. In contrast, the modelling of elastic turbulence is still rather rudimentary and the numerical simulation of this phenomenon is restricted to very idealized configurations compared to applications (most of the simulations that can be found in the literature are in two dimensions and/or in a periodic domain). The goal of this thesis is to advance the modelling and the simulation of elastic turbulence in realistic conditions. Questions that will be addressed include: the improvement of models of visco-elastic fluids, the study of the effect of polymer degradation, the generalization of the phenomenon to other non-Newtonian fluids, the study of the formation of elastic waves.

Work Context

The mathematics institute Jean Alexandre Dieudonné is part of the University Côte d'Azur. It is on the Valrose campus, in the city centre of Nice. It consists of six research teams. The main research areas are : algebraic geometry, algebraic topology, dynamical systems, analysis, partial differential equations, numerical analysis, fluid mechanics, probability and statistics, and complex systems. A particular importance is also given to the interactions of mathematics with other fields, such as physics, mechanics, chemistry, and biology.
The student will work in the "Numerical modelling and fluid dynamics" team under the supervision of Dario Vincenzi, who is a CNRS researcher.
Furthermore, the student will spend some months per year at the 'International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bangalore, India, where he/she will work in collaboration with Samriddhi Sankar Ray.

Additional Information

The student will preferably have a background in physics or applied mathematics. A knowledge in fluid mechanics will also be appreciated.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Modélisation et simulation numérique de la turbulence élastique (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7351-DARVIN-001
Lieu de travail : NICE
Date de publication : mardi 23 juillet 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dario Vincenzi
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La turbulence élastique est un régime chaotique qui apparaît dans les solutions de polymères à faible inertie suite à des instabilités purement élastiques. Découverte il y a une vingtaine d'année par Groisman et Steinberg [Nature 405, 53 (2000)], elle est maintenant très utilisée en micro-fluidique pour accélérer le mélange et les transferts de chaleur ainsi que pour favoriser des phénomènes comme l'émulsification. La turbulence élastique et ses applications ont fait l'objet de plusieurs études expérimentales. En revanche la modélisation de la turbulence élastique est encore assez rudimentaire et la simulation numérique de ce phénomène est limitée à des configurations très idéalisées par rapport aux applications (les simulations que l'on retrouve dans la littérature sont pour la plupart en deux dimensions et/ou dans un domaine périodique). Le but de la thèse sera d'avancer dans la modélisation et la simulation de la turbulence élastique dans des conditions réalistes. Des questions qui pourront être abordées concernent : l'amélioration des modèles de fluides visco-élastiques, l'étude de l'effet de la dégradation des polymères, la généralisation du phénomène à d'autres fluides non−newtoniens, l'étude de la formation d'ondes élastiques.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire de mathématiques Jean Alexandre Dieudonné fait partie de l'Université Côte d'Azur. Il est situé sur le Campus de Valrose dans le centre ville de Nice. Il est composé de six équipes. Les principales thématiques de recherche sont : géométrie algébrique, topologie algébrique, systèmes dynamiques, analyse, équations aux dérivées partielles, analyse numérique, mécanique des fluides, probabilités et statistiques et les systèmes complexes. Une importance particulière est aussi accordée aux interactions des mathématiques avec d'autres disciplines, tels que la physique, la mécanique, la chimie et la biologie.
L'étudiant travaillera dans l'équipe "Modélisation Numérique et Dynamique des Fluides" sous la direction de Dario Vincenzi, chercheur au CNRS.
De plus, il est prévu que l'étudiant passe quelques mois par an à l'International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bangalore, Inde, où il travaillera en collaboration avec Samriddhi Sankar Ray.

Informations complémentaires

L'étudiant aura préférablement un cursus de physique ou de mathématiques appliquées. Des connaissances de mécanique des fluides seront aussi appréciées.

On en parle sur Twitter !