By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD thesis (M/F) on innovative interfaces for light-emitting perovskite devices

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7252-JOHBOU-001
Workplace : LIMOGES
Date of publication : Monday, August 05, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Bernard Ratier
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Halide perovskite are highly promising semiconducting materials due to their excellent electronic properties and their ability to be processed from solution using various low-cost printing technologies. They enabled a very fast development of high efficiency solar cells or light-emitting devices (such as light-emitting diodes or LED), even if several issues remain to be addressed towards stable and environment-friendly components. In this context, the PhD thesis is targeting a fine control of the interfacial properties of perovskite LED in order to improve both their performance and lifetime. Potential applications are related for example to visible light communications (VLC), even if the proposed strategies are relevant for photovoltaic energy conversion as well.
The main objective of the thesis is to exploit the various strategies proposed by the XLIM Institute or his partners, to realize perovskite LED and to evaluate their optoelectronic performance under static or dynamic regimes considering the targeted applications for VLC. The successful applicant will have to adapt the charge transport layers usually used in the devices, in order to optimize and enhance their optoelectronic response: luminance, emission pattern, external quantum efficiency, bandwidth, etc. A special attention will be paid on strong injection regimes, in an attempt to demonstrate electrically-driven light emitting devices. Another aspect will be devoted to the development of interfacial inks in order to enable device printing on flexible substrates, in order to simplify their integration.

Work Context

The CNRS is a public body under the responsibility of the French Ministry of Education, Research and Innovation. Founded in 1939, it covers all scientific disciplines: humanities and social sciences, biological sciences, nuclear and particle physics, information sciences, engineering and systems, physics, mathematical sciences, chemistry, earth sciences and astronomy, ecology and environment. The eighteen CNRS regional delegations are the main interlocutors of the organization's partners throughout the country. They have a role of management and local support of laboratories spread over the territory. They help in particular to set up industrial projects and European programs. In this context, the Regional Delegation Center Limousin Poitou-Charentes covers 2 administrative regions with 67 laboratories or units, distributed in 7 departments and associated with 5 universities.
The Doctoral School n°610, Sciences and Engineering of Systems, Mathematics and Computer Science (SISMI) is directed by Professor Bernard Jarry. It covers the following disciplines: mathematics, microwaves, photonics, computer science, images, automatisms and their interactions. It delivers the following thesis references: Mathematics and Applications, Computer Science and Applications, High Frequency Electronics, Photonics and Systems, Image, Signal and Automation. It is attached to 4 institutions (COMUE Leonard de Vinci, University of Limoges, University of Poitiers and ASE / ENSMA in Poitiers). It relies on 3 partner laboratories: XLIM, LMA and LIAS. 250 doctoral students are enrolled in the SISMI doctoral school.
XLIM is a research laboratory (UMR 7252) linking the CNRS and the University of Limoges. It has a strong expertise in various topics such as electronics and microwave, optics and photonics, mathematics, computer and image, CAD, space, telecom networks, secure environments, bio-engineering, new materials, energy and imaging. XLIM is a multidisciplinary research institute with several geographical locations and more than 440 people such as professors, CNRS researchers, engineers, technicians, post-docs, PhD students and administrative staff (website: www.xlim.fr).
The work will be carried out within the ELITE team (Printed Electronics for Telecom and Energy, see website http://www.xlim.fr/recherche/pole-electronique/rf-elite/elite) at XLIM (Limoges site), which is involved in the production of organic and hybrid devices, their optoelectronic characterization, up to the modeling of their physical properties. The team's know-how is centered on the integration of new materials, the physics of thin films and interfaces, the development of new architectures, their electrical and optical modeling. The team has coordinated many projects in this field and developed strong partnerships with local manufacturers for the development of printing techniques for organic solar cells, for example.
This thesis is part of two projects dedicated to halide perovskites currently conducted by the XLIM ELITE team, involving teams from the Aimé Cotton laboratory (LAC, ENS Cachan) and the Institute of Nanosciences of Lyon (INL) within the framework of the EMIPERO project supported by the French National Research Agency (ANR), and involving on the other hand teams from the Institute of Molecular Sciences (ISM) and the laboratory for the Integration of Materials up to Systems (IMS) from the University of Bordeaux, as part of the STRIPE project funded by the Region Nouvelle Aquitaine. The thesis will take place mainly on the site of the XLIM institute in Limoges and will be carried out in close relationship with the various partners involved, especially through short stays.

Constraints and risks

No constraints / risks other than the risks associated with the handling of common chemicals and solvents for the preparation of thin films and the use of secondary vacuum structures using high-voltage sources (vacuum deposition process).
Applications should be submitted before 21 days after the publication date of the advertisment.

Additional Information

Candidates must hold a master's degree (or be about to validate one) or have a university degree equivalent to a European master (5 years duration). He / she will demonstrate relevant training in semiconductor physics and nanotechnology and will demonstrate an interest in experimental work. Knowledge or past experience in the field of organic optoelectronics (solar cells, OLED, etc.) or halide perovskites will be an advantage, as well as a high level of communication, oral and written (French and English) so to be able to participate in conferences and write articles in scientific publications. In addition, the candidate must be able to work in a team on multidisciplinary projects.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F) "Interfaces innovantes pour les dispositifs pérovskites émetteurs de lumière"

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7252-JOHBOU-001
Lieu de travail : LIMOGES
Date de publication : lundi 5 août 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Bernard Ratier
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les pérovskites halogénées sont des matériaux semi-conducteurs aux fortes potentialités en raison de leurs excellentes propriétés électroniques et de la possibilité de les déposer à bas coûts à l'aide de technologies d'impression variées. Elles ont permis le développement rapide de composants photovoltaïques ou émetteurs de lumière (diodes électroluminescentes ou LED) très efficaces, même si un travail important reste à faire pour la démonstration de dispositifs stables et respectueux de l'environnement. Dans ce contexte, la thèse vise le contrôle fin des propriétés aux interfaces au sein de dispositifs pérovskites de type LED, dans le but d'optimiser le fonctionnement des composants en termes de performances et de stabilité. Les applications potentielles concernent par exemple les communications optiques sans fils, mais les stratégies déployées sont aussi d'intérêt pour la conversion photovoltaïque.
L'objectif principal de la thèse est ainsi d'exploiter les stratégies aux interfaces proposées à XLIM ou par ses partenaires, pour réaliser des dispositifs pérovskites de type LED et évaluer leurs performances en régime continu, mais aussi en régime dynamique compte-tenu de l'application potentielle pour les communications optiques dans le visible. Le(a) candidat(e) sera ainsi amené(e) à adapter les couches de transport de charges utilisées dans les dispositifs pour optimiser leur comportement en régime statique (spectre d'émission, diagramme de rayonnement, rendement quantique), en régime dynamique (régime électrique pulsé) pour évaluer leur bande passante, et également en régime de très forte injection de courant afin d'envisager un pompage électrique de ces dispositifs. Il sera de plus envisagé la formulation d'encres à base des matériaux d'interface proposés, pour permettre l'impression des dispositifs sur substrats souples, facilitant ainsi leur intégration.

Contexte de travail

Le CNRS est un organisme public sous la responsabilité du Ministère français de l'Education, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation. Fondé en 1939, il couvre toutes les disciplines scientifiques : sciences humaines et sociales, sciences biologiques, physique nucléaire et des particules, sciences de l'information, ingénierie et systèmes, physique, sciences mathématiques, chimie, sciences de la terre et astronomie, écologie et environnement. Les dix-huit délégations régionales du CNRS sont les interlocuteurs principaux des partenaires de l'organisation sur l'ensemble du territoire. Elles ont un rôle de gestion et de soutien local des laboratoires répartis sur le territoire. Elles aident notamment à mettre en place des projets industriels et des programmes européens. Dans ce contexte, la Délégation Régionale Centre Limousin Poitou-Charentes couvre 2 régions administratives avec 67 laboratoires ou unités, répartis dans 7 départements et associés à 5 universités.
L'école doctorale n ° 610, Sciences et Ingénierie des Systèmes, Mathématiques, Informatique (SISMI) est dirigée par le professeur Bernard Jarry. Elle couvre les disciplines suivantes : mathématiques, micro-ondes, photonique, informatique, images, automatismes et leurs interactions. Il délivre les mentions de thèse suivantes : Mathématiques et applications, Informatique et applications, Electronique haute fréquence, photonique et systèmes, Image, Signal et Automatique. Elle est rattachée à 4 institutions (COMUE Leonard de Vinci, Université de Limoges, Université de Poitiers et ASE / ENSMA à Poitiers). Elle s'appuie sur 3 laboratoires partenaires : XLIM, LMA et LIAS. 250 doctorants sont inscrits à l'école doctorale SISMI.

XLIM est un laboratoire de recherche (UMR 7252) reliant le CNRS et l'Université de Limoges. Il possède une forte expertise en sur des thèmes variés tels que l'électronique et les hyperfréquences, l'optique et la photonique, les mathématiques, l'informatique et l'image, la CAO, dans les domaines spatial, des réseaux télécom, des environnements sécurisés, de la bio-ingénierie, des nouveaux matériaux, de l'énergie et de l'imagerie. XLIM est un institut de recherche pluridisciplinaire implanté sur plusieurs sites géographiques et qui regroupe plus de 440 personnes telles que professeurs, chercheurs du CNRS, ingénieurs, techniciens, post-doctorants, doctorants et administratifs (site internet : www.xlim.fr).

Le travail sera effectué au sein de l'équipe ELITE (Electronique Imprimée pour les Télécoms et l'Energie, voir site web http://www.xlim.fr/recherche/pole-electronique/rf-elite/elite) à XLIM (site de Limoges), qui est impliquée dans la réalisation de dispositifs organiques et hybrides, leur caractérisation optoélectronique, jusqu'à la modélisation de leurs propriétés physiques. Le savoir-faire de l'équipe est centré sur l'intégration de matériaux nouveaux, la physique des couches minces et des interfaces, le développement de nouvelles architectures, leur modélisation électrique et optique. L'équipe a coordonné de nombreux projets dans ce domaine et développé des partenariats forts avec les industriels locaux pour le développement de techniques d'impression des cellules solaires organiques, par exemple.
Cette thèse s'inscrit en particulier dans le cadre de deux projets dédiés aux pérovskites halogénées menés actuellement par l'équipe ELITE d'XLIM, impliquant d'une part les équipes du laboratoire Aimé Cotton (LAC, ENS Cachan) et de l'Institut des Nanosciences de Lyon (INL) dans le cadre d'un projet financé par l'ANR, et d'autre part les équipes de l'Institut des Sciences Moléculaires (ISM) et du laboratoire de l'Intégration du Matériau au Systèmes (IMS) de l'Université de Bordeaux dans le cadre du projet STRIPE financé par la Région Nouvelle Aquitaine. La thèse se déroulera ainsi principalement sur le site de l'institut XLIM à Limoges et s'effectuera en relation étroite avec les différents partenaires impliqués, via notamment de courts séjours.

Contraintes et risques

Pas de contraintes/risques autres que les risques liés à la manipulation de produits chimiques et solvants usuels pour la préparation de films minces et à l'utilisation de bâtis sous vide secondaire utilisant des sources haute-tension (dépôts sous vide).
Toute candidature doit être déposée avant 21 jours après la date de publication de l'offre.

Informations complémentaires

Les candidats doivent être titulaires d'un master (ou être sur le point d'en valider un) ou posséder un diplôme universitaire équivalent à un master européen (durée de 5 ans). Il / elle démontrera une formation pertinente en physique des semi-conducteurs et en nanotechnologies et, montrera un intérêt approprié pour les travaux expérimentaux. Des connaissances ou des expériences passées dans le domaine de l'optoélectronique organique (cellules solaires, OLED, etc.) ou des pérovskites halogénées constitueront un avantage, de même qu'un haut niveau de communication, orale et écrite (français et anglais) afin de pouvoir participer à des conférences et rédiger des articles dans des publications scientifiques. De plus, le candidat doit être capable de travailler en équipe sur des projets multidisciplinaires.

On en parle sur Twitter !