By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhDEvaluation of the impact of systematic effect on the future LiteBIRD satellite mission for the measurement of the Cosmic Microwave Background B-mode polarization (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7164-NADOKA-006
Workplace : PARIS 13
Date of publication : Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Guillaume Patanchon
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) radiation is a relic emission from 380 000 years after the Big-Bang. The small temperature fluctuations, resulting from quantum perturbation generated in the early Universe, contain precious information about the physics of the primordial Universe and the cosmological parameters describing in the framework of the standard cosmological model, the dynamics of the Universe and its physical content. Several experiments, including the recent Planck satellite mission of ESA have recently measured those perturbations with high accuracy, leading to per cent precision on the determination of cosmological parameters. The next objective of the community is to measure the polarization of the CMB and in particular to detect and constrain the B-mode (negative parity) pattern on the sky, which are the imprint of primordial gravitational waves generated during the inflation period. The LiteBIRD mission has recently been proposed to the Japanese space agency (JAXA) and has been selected at the end of phase A-1. The main goal of the mission is to measure the primordial B-mode at large angular scale of the sky with an accuracy on r (the tensor-to-scalar ratio) of less than 10-3. The LiteBIRD experiment includes a contribution from Europe and the USA, and the mission has been approved for a phase A with the French space agency CNES.
The measurement of B-mode polarization is complex and requires an unprecedented control of systematic effects originating from the instrument. The study of potential systematic effects impacts the definition of the mission configuration and observation strategy. The PhD student will simulate instrumental effects and their impact of data and develop analysis techniques to mitigate eventual residual contributions. In particular, he will focus on the modelling of the have wave plate (HWP), a critical optical element of LiteBIRD. By modulating the polarization signal the HWP allows to removes many spurious effects but on the other end possible defects might induce artefacts in the data. Those studies will be performed within a large consortium including researchers in Europe and Japan.

Work Context

APC, located in the centre of Paris (France), in a building of the University of Paris, is a multidisciplinary laboratory with researchers working in five main groups: cosmology, high-energy astrophysics, gravitational waves, neutrinos and theory. The candidate will join the cosmology group, which has been involved for several years in the preparation of Euclid and LSST data processing, and whose main research themes are weak lenses, galaxy clusters and the cosmological diffuse background.

Constraints and risks

Applicants for PhD appointment will hold a M.Sc. degree in physics The position requires Good oral and written communication skills to report, to present in congress and to write articles for scientific journals.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F) Évaluation de l'impact des effets systématiques sur la future mission satellite LiteBIRD pour la mesure des modes B de polarisation du fond diffus cosmologique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7164-NADOKA-006
Lieu de travail : PARIS 13
Date de publication : mercredi 29 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Guillaume Patanchon
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le rayonnement du fond diffus cosmologique (CMB, acronyme anglais de Cosmic Microwave Background) est une émission relique datant de 380 000 ans après le Big-Bang. Les petites fluctuations de température, résultant des perturbations quantiques produites durant les premières fractions de seconde après le Big-Bang, contiennent des informations précieuses sur la physique de l'Univers primordial et les paramètres cosmologiques décrivant dans le cadre du modèle cosmologique standard, la dynamique de l'Univers et son contenu physique. Plusieurs expériences, en particulier la récente mission satellitaire Planck de l'ESA, ont récemment mesuré ces perturbations avec une précision remarquable, conduisant à la détermination des paramètres cosmologiques avec une précision de l'ordre du pourcent. L'objectif actuel de la communauté est la mesure de la polarisation du CMB et en particulier la détection et la contrainte des modes B (motifs de parité négative) de polarisation sur le ciel, résultant des ondes gravitationnelles primordiales produites pendant la période d'inflation. La mission LiteBIRD a récemment été proposée à l'agence spatiale japonaise (JAXA) et a été sélectionnée pour une phase A-1. L'objectif principal de la mission est de mesurer les modes B primordiaux à grande échelle angulaire sur le ciel avec une précision sur r (le rapport tenseur / scalaire) inférieure à 10-3. L'Europe et les USA contribuent à la mission LiteBIRD, et la mission a été approuvée en phase A avec l'agence spatiale française CNES.

La mesure des modes B de polarisation est complexe et nécessite un contrôle sans précédent des effets systématiques instrumentaux. L'étude des effets systématiques potentiels influe sur la définition de la configuration de la mission et de la stratégie d'observation. Le doctorant simulera les effets instrumentaux et leur impact sur les données et développera des techniques d'analyse pour atténuer les éventuelles contributions résiduelles. En particulier, il se concentrera sur la modélisation de la lame demi onde (HWP), un élément optique critique de LiteBIRD. En modulant le signal de polarisation, la HWP permet d'éliminer de nombreux effets parasites, cependant des défauts éventuels peuvent induire des artefacts dans les données. Ces études seront réalisées au sein d'un grand consortium comprenant des chercheurs européens et japonais.

Contexte de travail

APC, situé au centre de Paris (France), dans un bâtiment de l'Université de Paris, est un laboratoire multidisciplinaire avec des chercheurs travaillant dans cinq groupes principaux : cosmologie, astrophysique des hautes énergies, ondes gravitationnelles, neutrinos et théorie. Le candidat rejoindra le groupe de cosmologie qui participe depuis plusieurs années à la préparation du traitement des données d'Euclid et de LSST, et dont les principaux thèmes de recherche sont ls lentilles faibles, les amas de galaxies et le fond diffus cosmologique.

On en parle sur Twitter !