By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD fellowship in solid state coordination chemistry

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6502-ANNHEN-003
Workplace : NANTES
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Thomas Devic
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The area of crystalline porous solids is largely dominated by oxygenated compounds, both in the field of inorganic (zeolites) and hybrid organic-inorganic (Porous Coordination Polymers, or Metal Organic Frameworks, MOFs) materials. Although these solids, thanks to their high sorption capacity and tunable porosity, are more than effective for many applications ranging from gas storage or capture to heterogeneous catalysis, they very often suffer from poor electronic properties, arising from the rather ionic character of the metal-oxygen bonds. The resulting lack of electronic conductivity is a clear drawback for various applications in which electron transfer is involved, such as (photo)electrocatalysis, sensing, photovoltaics or electrochemical energy storage. Elements less electronegative than oxygen, especially heavier chalcogens such as sulfur, giving rise to more covalent metal-ligand bonds, offer here great opportunities
The present project thus aims at developing new conductive porous coordination polymers based of sulfurated ligands and evaluate their redox properties.
More precisely, we will focus our attention of the use of a specific class of non-innocent ligands, the 1,2-dithiolene derivatives, whose coordination complexes present a strong organic-inorganic electronic coupling with mixed organic-inorganic frontiers orbitals. Although molecular dithiolene complexes are studied for decades, the extended dithiolene coordination networks has only recently emerged. By combining poly(dithiolene) ligands with suitable cations or polymetallic entities, we aim at building new 3-D coordination polymers which could offer interesting electronic properties.
Synthesis, structure determination solution and physico-chemical studies of new materials will be the core of the project. Hence, the applicant should hold a strong background in coordination chemistry (or materials chemistry) with a good knowledge in molecular chemistry. Knowledge in physical chemistry and structure determination by diffraction would be highly beneficial. The project will also involve the evaluation of the electrochemical properties in the solid state, for which the Ph.D candidate will be trained in the laboratory.

Work Context

The Institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel de Nantes (IMN, http://www.cnrs-imn.fr/ is a joint research unit between the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the University of Nantes. It gathers about 80 permanent researchers and about 90 non permanents researchers (Ph.D students and post-doctorate associates), divided in five research groups, all in the field of materials science. The Ph.D student will belong to the research group 'Electrochemical storage and conversion of Energy (ST2E)'. He will join the doctoral school 3M from the University of Nantes, and be supervised by Thomas Devic (IMN)
This Ph.D fellowship is in the frame if the collaborative ANR project ThioMOFs, which aim at developing and thoroughly characterize multi-redox porous crystalline hybrid chalcogenides. Its gathers four research groups with complementary expertise in the field of dithiolene chemistry (ISC Rennes), MOFs synthesis and solid state electrochemistry (IM Nantes), structure determination and electrocatalysis (IL Versailles), in situ electrochemical studies and simulation (ICG Montpellier).

Constraints and risks

The Ph.D student will be located at the Institut des Matériaux in Nantes, but shorts stays in the partner's laboratories are also planned.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F) en chimie de coordination à l'état solide - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6502-ANNHEN-003
Lieu de travail : NANTES
Date de publication : mardi 16 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Thomas Devic
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le domaine des matériaux poreux cristallins, tant inorganiques (zéolithes) qu'hybrides organique-inorganiques (polymères de coordination poreux ou MOFs, Metal Organic Frameworks) est largement dominé par les composés oxygénés. Bien que ces matériaux soient efficaces pour de nombreuses applications associées à leur porosité élevée et modulable (stockage ou séparation de gaz, catalyse hétérogène,…), ils présentent généralement une conductivité électronique très limitée, associée au caractère partiellement ionique des liaisons cation-oxygène. Ce manque de conductivité électronique est un inconvénient majeur pour certaines applications impliquant un transfert électronique ((photo)électrocatalyse, détection, photovoltaïque, stockage électrochimique de l'énergie). Les chalcogènes moins électronégatifs, tout particulièrement le soufre, donnent accès à des liaisons métal-ligand plus covalentes, qui permettent de pallier cette limitation.

Cette thèse vise donc à développer de nouveaux polymères de coordination poreux conducteurs basés sur des ligands soufrés, et à évaluer leur propriétés électrochimiques.
Nous nous intéresserons plus particulièrement à des ligands non innocents de type 1,2-dithiolene, dont les complexes de coordination présentent un couplage électronique organique-inorganique marqué. Alors que les complexes dithiolène moléculaires sont largement étudiés, leurs assemblages en réseaux tridimensionnels sont peu nombreux. En combinant des ligands poly(dithiolène) et des cation ou entités polycationiques adéquates, nous chercherons à produire des polymères de coordination tridimensionnels présentant des propriétés électroniques intéressantes.
Synthèse, résolution structurale et études physico-chimiques constitueront le cœur de cette thèse.
Le candidat devra donc posséder un Master 2, avec une formation en chimie de coordination ou chimie des matériaux, ainsi que de bonnes connaissances en chimie moléculaire.
Des connaissances en physicochimie et détermination structurale par diffraction seront appréciées.
Le projet inclura des études électrochimiques à l'état solide, techniques auxquels le doctorant sera directement formé au laboratoire.

Contexte de travail

L'institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel (ou Institut des Matériaux de Nantes, IMN) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche (UMR) associant le CNRS et l'Université de Nantes. Mobilisant plus de 200 personnels, il est l'un des principaux centres de recherche sur les matériaux en France, reconnu au niveau international (https://www.cnrs-imn.fr/). Le doctorant travaillera au sein de l'équipe ST2E (Stockage et Transformation Electrochimiques de l'Energie) de l'IMN. Il sera inscrit à l'Université de Nantes dans l'Ecole Doctorale 3M, et sera encadré par Thomas DEVIC (IMN).

Cette thèse se déroulera dans le cadre du projet collaboratif ANR ThioMOFs, qui vise à développer et caractériser de nouveaux chalcogénures hybrides poreux multi-redox. Il regroupe quatre groupes de recherche présentant des expertises complémentaire en chimie des complexes dithiolènes (ISC Rennes), synthèse de MOFs et électrochimie (IM Nantes), détermination structurale et électrocatalyse (IL Versailles), études électrochimiques in situ et simulation (ICG Montpellier).

Contraintes et risques

Le doctorant sera localisé à l'Institut des Matériaux de Nantes, mais pourra être amené à réaliser des séjours courts dans les laboratoires partenaires.
Le laboratoire est régi par un règlement intérieur.

On en parle sur Twitter !