By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD offer: Reactive collisions of electrons with hydride cations : theoretical approaches and applications in the ionized non-equilibrium media (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6294-IOASCH-002
Workplace : LE HAVRE
Date of publication : Friday, July 17, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Ioan F. SCHNEIDER
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The dissociative recombination, the ro-vibrational excitation and the dissociative excitation of molecular cations are complex reactive collisions, subject of overlap between two or further fragmentation continua (of ionization and of dissociation type) of neutral molecules [1-4]. These processes, strongly non-Born-Oppenheimer, involve super-excited molecular states, which induce large amplitude resonances in the shape of the cross section. In order to study theoretically their dynamics, we use methods based on the Multichannel Quantum Defect Theory (MQDT) [5-7] and on the R-matrix technique [8]. This latter technique also provides an alternative for the production of potential energy surfaces of the electronic states and their mutual interactions, complementary to the “traditional” quantum chemistry methods, restricted to ground or weakly excited states [9].

Our theoretical approaches are constantly tested by the comparison of our results with those emerging from the collision experiments, namely in the heavy-ions storage rings [10]. To improve the precision of our state-to-state cross sections in order to keep up with the experimental progress – rotational effects, capture into core-excited Rydberg states, branching ratios – will be one of the objectives of the thesis.

The production of cross sections and of rate coefficients for these processes is of major importance for the kinetic modeling of gaseous cold media. The molecular hydrogen cations and the hydride cations are of huge interest since they are present in two recurring contexts in which we actively work, within a long time collaboration with the laboratories CORIA (Saint Etienne de Rouvray/Rouen) and CIMAP (Caen) of Normandie Université, members, like LOMC, of the LabEx EMC3.

The first context is that of the plasma edge of the fusion devices, related to the ITER project. The hydrogen (H), namely its heavy isotopes deuterium (D) and tritium (T) forming the fuel of the fusion reaction, the molecular cations containing them – H2+, HD+, etc. - are very abundant close to the tokamak walls. The bombardment of these walls – which in ITER will be made by tungsten (W) and beryllium (Be) – by hydrogen and by its heavy isotopes generates, by erosion, hydrides of these metals (BeH+, BeH2+, etc…). On the other hand, the fusion plasma contains “impurities” – atoms or molecules of N, Ne, Ar, C and He – this latter one formed within the fusion reaction. These species interact with H, D, T and produce NH+, ArH+, CH+, HeH+ etc., and their isotopologues (ND+, ArD+, CD+, etc.).

Many of the cations invoked above are present also in the planetary atmospheres and in the interstellar media, and their study will be performed in this second context too. These ions, as well as other, more complex - N2H+, CmHn+ (m, n = 1,2,3…), etc. – are abundantly formed by reaction between hydrogen – atomic or molecular, neutral or ionized – ant the systems containing nitrogen, argon, carbon, etc..

Work Context

LOMC (Laboratoire Ondes et Milieux Complexes, Laboratory Waves and Complex Media) is an “Unité Mixte de Recherche” (Mixt Research Unit) – UMR6294 – under double authority: CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientific, National Center of Scientific Research) and Université Le Havre Normandie – part, together with other Academic institutions from Caen and Rouen, of Normandie Université. The proposed PhD thesis, having the label of Ecole Doctorale (Doctoral School) ED591 PSIME (Physique, Sciences de l'Ingénieur, Matériaux, Energie) will be performed at LOMC in the group « Reactive Processes », under the supervision of Ioan F. Schneider. It will be also co-supervized by Dr Arnaud Bultel, groupe « Physical Chemistry of Plasma Environments » of CORIA (Complexe de Recherche Interprofessionnel en Aérothermochimie) UMR 6614, Saint-Etienne du Rouvray (scientific campus of Université de Rouen Normandie, Normandie Université). It will take place in the frame of the collaboration of these two laboratories with CIMAP-UMR6252 of Caen, and with laboratories of Université Paris-Saclay, University of Central Florida at Orlando (US), University College London (UK), ATOMKI Institute of Debrecen (Hungary), ISTP-CNR of Bari (Italy), as well as Politehnica and West Universities of Timisoara (Romania).

The Reactive Processes group from LOMC has a powerful computing capacity : on one hand high-performance servers and access to regional and national computing centers - CRIANN, IDRIS - and, on the other hand, to high-performance scientific codes of quantum chemistry and electronic scattering - MOLPRO, QUANTEMOL.

Constraints and risks

There is no particular risk related to the working environment at LOMC, the activity of the PhD researcher being exclusively of theoretical nature. From the scientific point of view, the inherent risks are related to the methods used, in particular on the quality of the molecular data serving for the modeling of the quantum dynamics.

Additional Information

The young researcher should have a master degree in Physics or Chemistry, with a strong motivation and skills for calculus, numerical methods and programming. He should be able to write and conduct scientific projects, to be independent and ready to collaborate. The interested candidates have to provide a complete CV mentioning two reference persons which may be contacted by the supervisors and a detailed motivation letter. The deadline of the application is August 5 2020.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse: Collisions réactives entre électrons et cations d'hydrures : approches théoriques et applications dans les milieux ionisés hors-équilibre (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6294-IOASCH-002
Lieu de travail : LE HAVRE
Date de publication : vendredi 17 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Ioan F. SCHNEIDER
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La recombinaison dissociative, l'excitation ro-vibrationnelle et l'excitation dissociative des cations moléculaires sont des collisions réactives complexes, résultant du recouvrement entre deux ou plusieurs continua de fragmentation (d'ionisation et de dissociation) des molécules neutres [1-4]. Ces processus, fortement non-Born-Oppenheimer, impliquent des états moléculaires super-excités, induisant des résonances de grande amplitude dans la forme de la section efficace. Pour étudier théoriquement leur dynamique, nous utilisons des méthodes basées sur la Théorie du Défaut Quantique Multivoies (MQDT) [5-7] et sur la technique de la matrice R [8]. Cette dernière technique offre aussi une alternative de produire les surfaces de potentiel des états électroniques et leurs interactions mutuelles, complémentaire aux méthodes de chimie quantique « traditionnelle », limitées aux états fondamentaux ou faiblement excités [9].

Nos approches théoriques sont en permanence testées par la comparaison de nos résultats avec ceux qui émerge des expériences de collisions, notamment dans les anneaux de stockage d'ions lourds [10]. Améliorer la précision de nos sections efficaces état-par-état afin d'être à la hauteur des progrès expérimentaux – effets rotationnels, captures dans des états de Rydberg à cœur excité, rapports de branchement - sera l'un des objectifs de la thèse.

La production de sections efficaces et de coefficients de vitesse pour ces processus a une importance majeure pour la modélisation cinétique des milieux gazeux froids. Les cations d'hydrogène et d'hydrures présente un grand intérêt car ils interviennent dans deux contextes récurrents, dans lesquels nous nous plaçons dans le cadre d'une collaboration de longue date avec les laboratoires CORIA (Saint Etienne de Rouvray/Rouen) et CIMAP (Caen) de Normandie Université, membres, comme le LOMC, du LabEx EMC3.

Le premier contexte est celui du plasma de bord des machines à fusion, liés au projet ITER. En effet, l'hydrogène (H) et ses isotopes lourds deutérium (D) et tritium (T) constituant le combustible de la réaction de fusion, les cations moléculaires qui les contiennent – H2+, HD+, etc. - y sont très abondant près des parois du tokamak. Le bombardement de ces parois – qui dans ITER seront constituées de tungsten (W) et béryllium (Be) - par des atomes d'hydrogène ou par ses isotopes lourds génère, par érosion, des hydrures de ces métaux (BeH+, BeH2+, etc…). D'autre part, le plasma de fusion contient des « impuretés » – atomes ou molécules de N, Ne, Ar, C et He - ce dernier formé suite à la réaction de fusion. Ces espèces interagissent avec H, D, T et produisent NH+, ArH+, CH+, HeH+, etc., et leurs isotopologues (ND+, ArD+, CD+, etc.).

Une très grande partie des cations évoqués auparavant interviennent aussi dans les atmosphères planétaires et dans les milieux interstellaires, et leur étude sera fait également dans ce second contexte. Ces ions, comme d'autres, plus complexes - N2H+, CmHn+ (m, n = 1,2,3…), etc. - sont formés en abondance par réactions entre l'hydrogène – atomique ou moléculaire, neutre ou ionisé - et les systèmes contenant l'azote, l'argon, le carbon, etc..

Contexte de travail

LOMC (Laboratoire Ondes et Milieux Complexes) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche – UMR6294 – à double tutelle : CNRS et l'Université Le Havre Normandie – établissement de Normandie Université. La thèse proposée, rattachée à l'Ecole doctorale ED591 PSIME (Physique, Sciences de l'Ingénieur, Matériaux, Energie) se déroulera au LOMC dans l'équipe « Processus Réactifs », sous la direction de Ioan F. Schneider. La co-direction sera assurée par le Dr Arnaud Bultel, équipe « Physico-chimie des milieux plasmas » du CORIA (Complexe de Recherche Interprofessionnel en Aérothermochimie) UMR 6614, Saint-Etienne du Rouvray (campus scientifique de l'Université de Rouen Normandie, également établissement de Normandie Université). Elle aura lieu dans le cadre des collaborations de ces deux laboratoires avec le CIMAP-UMR6252 de Caen, et avec des laboratoires de l'Université Paris-Saclay, University of Central Florida d'Orlando (USA), University College London (RU), Institut ATOMKI de Debrecen (Hongrie), ISTP-CNR de Bari (Italie), ainsi que les Universités de l'Ouest et Politehnica de Timisoara (Roumanie).

L'équipe Processus Réactifs du LOMC dispose de puissants moyens de calculs : d'une part des serveurs performants et d'accès à centre régionaux et nationaux de calcul - CRIANN, IDRIS - et, d'autre part, des logiciels performants de chimie quantique et de diffusion électroniques - MOLPRO, QUANTEMOL.

Contraintes et risques

Il n'y a pas de risque particulier concernant le lieu de travail à LOMC, l'activité étant de nature exclusivement théorique. Du point de vue scientifique, les risques sont inhérents aux méthodes utilisées, et portent surtout sur la qualité de données moléculaires qui servent à la modélisation de la dynamique quantique.

Informations complémentaires

Le jeune chercheur devra être titulaire d'un master en Physique ou Chimie, avec des aptitudes et motivation pour le calcul analytique, pour les méthodes numériques et pour la programmation. Il devra avoir des qualités portant sur la rédaction et la réalisation des projets scientifique, se rendre autonome et en même temps prêt à collaborer. Les candidats intéressés devront fournir un CV complet mentionnant deux personnes référentes susceptibles d'être contactées par les encadreurs, ainsi qu'une lettre de motivation argumentée. Date limite de réception des candidatures : 5 août 2020.

On en parle sur Twitter !