By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD student in subatomic physics and cosmology (M/W)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5821-CHRVEL-070
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Corinne Bérat
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Identification of ultra high energy photons for multi-messenger astrophysics purpose with the upgraded Pierre Auger Observatory.
Besides the different wavelengths of traditional astronomy, neutrinos, cosmic rays, very high-energy gamma rays and gravitational waves provide complementary information to study the most energetic objects of the Universe. It is now quite clear that there is much potential in the combined analysis of data from different experiments and multi-messenger astronomy has excellent prospects of making many more significant contributions in the near future. The Pierre Auger Observatory is the present flagship experiment studying ultra-high energy cosmic rays (UHECR), and multi-messenger observations were foreseen from the beginning, with unprecedented sensitivities to ultra-high energy (UHE) photons, neutrinos, and neutrons. The discovery of gravitational waves from the merging of compact objects binary systems by LIGO and Virgo triggered a spectacular series of observations over the full electromagnetic spectrum, and searches for neutrino fluxes with ANTARES, IceCube, and the Pierre Auger Observatory. Auger will continue to search for possible UHE neutrino counterparts to transients, and a promising prospect is to include UHE photons in those follow-up searches. It is a real challenge that could be met thanks to the AugerPrime upgrade project.

Observations of photons or neutrinos in the so far dark Universe beyond 1017 eV would be a major breakthrough by itself. Yet, the non-observation of point sources and diffuse fluxes of photons and neutrinos by Auger allowed the derivation of upper bounds that constrain models very effectively. These bounds have ruled out topdown models predicting that UHECR originating from the decay of supermassive particles, and also allowed to explore astrophysical scenarios. In these, UHE photon may be produced by the hadronic interactions of the UHECR inside or in the vicinity of the astrophysics sources. Being undeflected by the galactic and extragalactic magnetic fields, they would allow pointing back to their sources. They may also result from the disintegration of the neutral pions produced in the interaction of the UHECR with the CMB photons known as the Greisen-Zatsepin-Kuzmin (GZK) process thus helping in understanding the origin of the flux suppression above 50 EeV. Indeed, the results from neutral searches started to constrain GZK-effect as a dominant process for explaining the observed flux suppression.

The PhD student will have to design and study a high quality discriminant analysis based on the universality reconstruction method of air showers, with the new observables obtained thanks to the upgraded Surface Detector. The objective is to develop an efficient search for ultra-high energy photons in the Auger data. The identification process could be embedded in a world-wide multi-messenger analysis of the astrophysical phenomena, and be used in the framework of alert network.

Work Context

The Grenoble Laboratory of Subatomic Physics and Cosmology (LPSC) (http://lpsc.in2p3.fr) is a joint research unit associating the CNRS-IN2P3, the Grenoble Alpes University (UGA) and the Grenoble INP school. , for an average workforce of around 230 people.
The doctoral student will be welcomed into the AUGER research team, made up of three researchers (2 permanent, 1 CDD. The thesis director is the head of the group, co-supervision will be done by the CDD researcher. ). The Auger group is joining Labex Enigmass, and the doctoral contract is funded by this Labex, in the work package Gravitational waves and multi-messenger science

Additional Information

During the thesis, stays of several days in member countries of the Pierre Auger collaboration will be necessary, in particular in Argentina, at the Pierre Auger Observatory

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant en physique subatomique et cosmologie (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5821-CHRVEL-070
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : mercredi 15 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Corinne Bérat
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les neutrinos, les rayons cosmiques, et les photons de très haute énergie ainsi que les ondes gravitationnelles fournissent des informations complémentaires pour étudier les objets les plus énergétiques de l'Univers. Il est maintenant tout à fait clair que l'analyse combinée des données de différentes expériences est très prometteuse, et l'astronomie multi-messagers présente d'excellentes perspectives en la matière dans un avenir proche. L'Observatoire Pierre Auger est l'expérience phare actuelle qui étudie les rayons cosmiques à ultra-haute énergie (RCUHE), et des observations multi-messagers ont été réalisées dès le début de son exploitation, avec des sensibilités sans précédent aux photons, neutrinos et neutrons à ultra-haute énergie (UHE). La découverte d'ondes gravitationnelles provenant de la fusion de systèmes binaires d'objets compacts par LIGO et Virgo a déclenché une série spectaculaire d'observations dans le spectre électromagnétique complet et recherche des flux de neutrinos avec ANTARES, IceCube et l'Observatoire Pierre Auger. Auger continuera à rechercher d'éventuelles contreparties neutrinos UHE aux événements transitoires détectés. Une perspective prometteuse est d'inclure les photons UHE dans ces recherches de suivi. C'est un vrai défi qui peut être relevé grâce au projet AugerPrime d'amélioration de l'Observatoire.

L'observation de photons ou de neutrinos dans l'Univers au-delà de 1017 eV serait en soi un résultat majeur. La non-observation de sources ponctuelles et de flux diffus de photons et de neutrinos par Auger a permis de dériver des limites supérieures qui contraignent très efficacement les modèles. Ces limites ont exclu les modèles « topdown » prédisant l'origine des RCUHE dans la désintégration de particules super-massive et ont également permis d'explorer des scénarios astrophysiques. Dans ces derniers, les photons UHE peuvent être produits par les interactions hadroniques des RCUHE à l'intérieur ou à proximité des sources astrophysiques. N'étant pas déviés par les champs magnétiques galactiques et extragalactiques, les photons devraient permettre de pointer vers ces sources. Ils peuvent également résulter de la désintégration des pions neutres produits dans l'interaction des RCUHE avec les photons du CMB, processus connu sous le nom de Greisen-Zatsepin-Kuzmin (GZK), aidant ainsi à comprendre l'origine de la suppression du flux au-dessus de 50 EeV.

Le(a) doctorant(e) devra concevoir une analyse discriminante de qualité basée sur une méthode de reconstruction qui repose sur le principe d'universalité des gerbes atmosphériques, les observables étant obtenues grâce au réseau de surface qui est en cours d'amélioration. L'objectif est de développer une recherche performante de photons à ultra-haute énergie dans les données Auger. Le processus d'identification pourrait être intégré dans une analyse multi-messager des phénomènes astrophysiques d'étendue internationale et être utilisé dans le cadre d'un réseau d'alerte.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire de Physique Subatomique et de Cosmologie de Grenoble (LPSC) (http://lpsc.in2p3.fr) est une unité mixte de recherche associant le CNRS-IN2P3, l'Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA) et l'école Grenoble INP, pour un effectif moyen d'environ 230 personnes.
Le doctorant sera accueilli dans l'équipe de recherche AUGER, constitué de trois chercheurs (2 permanents, 1 CDD). La directrice de thèse est la responsable du groupe, un co-encadrement sera assuré par la chercheur en CDD. Le groupe Auger émarge au Labex Enigmass, et le contrat doctoral est financé par ce Labex, dans le cadre du groupe de travail Gravitational waves and multi-messenger science.

Informations complémentaires

Durant la thèse, des séjours de plusieurs jours dans des pays membres de la collaboration Pierre Auger seront nécessaires, en particulier en Argentine, à l'Observatoire Pierre Auger

On en parle sur Twitter !