By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD project: Surface/cell interactions via surface functionalization; applications: bactericidal protection and realization of biocomponents

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5819-YOAROU-003
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Monday, May 04, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Yoann ROUPIOZ
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The fight, based on sustainable strategies, against the proliferation of bacteria in our environment as well as the management of their growing resistance to drugs, have long been important issues for our society. Now, early detection of bacterial proliferation seems also, if not more, crucial to ensure that treatments, materials or coatings protect users effectively, well before their proliferation becomes impossible to control. These different objectives are particularly important in the hospital environment in the fight against nosocomial diseases due to the contamination of instruments/surfaces, as well as in the prevention of the development of bacteria in ventilation ducts in all types of dwelings, both individual and collective, personal and professional.
The exploitation of the mechanisms of absorption, growth and development of bacteria on functionalized and non-functionalized micro/nano-structured surfaces has made it possible to develop sustainable solutions to the proliferation of bacteria by, for example, making surfaces safe and free from any contamination. This knowledge has thus fueled intervention strategies targeting three distinct points of bacterial development: by minimizing their adhesion via polymer/nanostructuring protection [1][2], by inhibiting or limiting their proliferation/development [3][4] and finally by treating the surface with antimicrobial agents [4][5]. In this context, different strategies have recently been developed in parallel to yield surface antibacterial surfaces: either passively and permanently through the presence of nanostructures, or by functionalization/protection of the surface through polymers or local delivery of bactericidal agents (encapsulation/nanoparticles). These strategies can be sustainable and ecological, since they are directly inspired by Nature, especially insects and some fishes that have naturally antibacterial surfaces thanks to their micro/nano-structuring [1][4] and/or surface chemical coverage [5]. Work on early detection, however, as well as the understanding of the Physics behind this concept, is still in its infancy [6].
The BIOSURF project is primarily based on the combination of these two approaches dealing with surface modification: functionalization and nanostructuring. The first step will be based on the hypothesis that these two methods are complementary and can jointly reinforce the antibacterial power of functionalized nanostructured surfaces. The aim will be to create particularly effective antibacterial surfaces, which will also be the ideal testing substrate for early detection methods. To these ends, the L2N will use its expertise in surface micro/nanostructuring and surface metrology. For its part, the SyMMES laboratory will benefit from its expertise in pathogenic bacteria detection [6], surface chemistry and biosensor instrumentation to carry out the project. Recent results on the efficiency of biomolecules interacting with bacterial membranes [7] will also be used.

Bibliography
[1]. Coad, B. R., et al. “Biomaterials surfaces capable of resisting fungal attachment and biofilm formation”. Biotechnology Advances, 32(2), 296–307, (2014).
[2]. Garrett, T. R., et al. “Bacterial adhesion and biofilms on surfaces”. Progress in Natural Science, 18(9), 1049–1056, (2008).
[3]. Ivanova, E. P., et al. “Natural Bactericidal Surfaces: Mechanical Rupture of Pseudomonas aeruginosa Cells by Cicada Wings”. Small, 8(16), 2489–2494, (2012).
[4]. Rigo, S., et al. “Nanoscience-Based Strategies to Engineer Antimicrobial Surfaces”. Advanced Science, 5(5), 1700892, (2018).
[5]. Hancock, R. E. W., et al. “Antimicrobial and host-defense peptides as new anti-infective therapeutic strategies”. Nature Biotechnology, 24(12), 1551–1557, (2006).
[6]. Bouguelia, S., et al. “On-chip microbial culture for the specific detection of very low levels of bacteria ”. Lab On A Chip, (13), 4024, (2013).
[7]. Pardoux, E., et al. “Antimicrobial peptide arrays for wide spectrum sensing of pathogenic bacteria”. Talanta, (203), 322-327, (2019).

Work Context

International thesis funding (co-supervision between Sherbrooke, CANADA and Grenoble, FRANCE) has been allocated to the BIOSURF project through the CNRS 80PRIME 2020 program. This funding will allow the realization of a thesis, through long stays in Quebec and France. At the end of the project, the student will hold a French and Canadian PhD.

Partners
Canada: UMI 3462, Nanotechnology and Nanosystems Laboratory, Sherbrooke, Quebec, CANDA.
https://www.usherbrooke.ca/recherche/fr/regroupements/umi-ln2/

France: UMR 5819, Molecular Systems and Nano-Materials for Energy and Health Laboratory, Grenoble, FRANCE.
http://www.symmes.fr/Pages/Symmes/Presentation.aspx

Additional Information

The candidate will have to show a real interest in working on a largely multidisciplinary subject, and this in an international context (straddling several laboratories, with the realization of a doctoral thesis under international co-supervision). A solid knowledge of organic chemistry and micro-technology is mandatory. Experience (academic and/or practical) in microbiology is a major asset for this project. The successful candidate will have a real ability to report on his/her work, both in writing and oral presentations.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F Doctorant : Interactions surface/cellules via la fonctionnalisation de surface ; applications : protection bactéricide et réalisation de biocomposants

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5819-YOAROU-003
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : lundi 4 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Yoann ROUPIOZ
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La lutte responsable contre la prolifération de bactéries dans notre environnement, ainsi que la gestion de leur résistance croissante aux médicaments, constituent depuis longtemps déjà des enjeux importants pour notre société. Désormais, une détection précoce de la prolifération bactérienne semble tout aussi, sinon plus, cruciale, afin d'assurer que des traitements, matériaux ou revêtements protègent les usagers de manière efficace, bien avant que leur prolifération devienne impossible à contrôler. Ces différents objectifs sont particulièrement importants en milieu hospitalier dans la lutte contre les maladies nosocomiales développées via la contamination d'instruments/surfaces ainsi que dans la prévention du développement de bactérie dans des conduits d'aération dans tous types d'habitations tant individuelles que collectives, personnelles et professionnelles.
L'exploitation des mécanismes d'absorption, de croissance et de développement des bactéries sur des surfaces micro/nano-structurées fonctionnalisées et non-fonctionnalisées a permis de développer des solutions pérennes à la prolifération des bactéries en rendant par exemple des surfaces saines de toutes contaminations. Ces connaissances ont ainsi produit des stratégies d'intervention ciblant trois points distincts du développement des bactéries : en minimisant leur adhérence via une protection par polymères/nanostructuration [1][2], en inhibant ou limitant leur prolifération/développement [3][4] et enfin en traitant la surface avec des agents antimicrobiens [4][5]. Dans ce contexte, différentes stratégies ont été développées en parallèle pour rendre une surface antibactérienne soit de manière passive et permanente via la présence de nanostructures, soit par la fonctionnalisation/protection de la surface grâce aux polymères ou à la libération locale d'agents bactéricides (encapsulation/nanoparticules). Ces stratégies peuvent être pérennes et écologiques, puisqu'elles s'inspirent directement de la Nature et notamment des insectes et de certains poissons qui possèdent des surfaces naturellement antibactériennes grâce à leur micro/nano-structuration [1][4] et/ou leur chimie de surface [5]. Le travail sur la détection précoce, néanmoins, ainsi que la compréhension de la Physique à mettre en œuvre pour ce concept, demeure balbutiants [6].
Le projet BIOSURF repose en premier lieu sur la combinaison de ces deux approches de modification de surface : fonctionnalisation et nanostructuration. La première étape reposera sur l'hypothèse que ces 2 méthodes sont complémentaires et peuvent renforcer conjointement le pouvoir antibactérien de surfaces nanostructurées fonctionnalisées. L'objectif sera de créer des surfaces antibactériennes particulièrement efficaces, qui constitueront aussi le lieu idéal de test pour les méthodes de détection précoce. À ces fins, le L2N mettra en œuvre son expertise en micro/nanostructuration de surfaces, et métrologie de surface. De son côté, le laboratoire SyMMES profitera de son expertise en détection de bactéries pathogènes [6], chimie de surface et instrumentation pour biocapteur pour mener à bien le projet. Des résultats récents sur l'efficacité de biomolécules interagissant avec les membranes bactériennes [7] seront aussi mis à profit.
Bibliographie
[1]. Coad, B. R., et al. “Biomaterials surfaces capable of resisting fungal attachment and biofilm formation”. Biotechnology Advances, 32(2), 296–307, (2014).
[2]. Garrett, T. R., et al. “Bacterial adhesion and biofilms on surfaces”. Progress in Natural Science, 18(9), 1049–1056, (2008). 

[3]. Ivanova, E. P., et al. “Natural Bactericidal Surfaces: Mechanical Rupture of Pseudomonas aeruginosa Cells by Cicada Wings”. Small, 8(16), 2489–2494, (2012). 

[4]. Rigo, S., et al. “Nanoscience-Based Strategies to Engineer Antimicrobial Surfaces”. Advanced Science, 5(5), 1700892, (2018). 

[5]. Hancock, R. E. W., et al. “Antimicrobial and host-defense peptides as new anti-infective therapeutic strategies”. Nature Biotechnology, 24(12), 1551–1557, (2006). 

[6]. Bouguelia, S., et al. “On-chip microbial culture for the specific detection of very low levels of bacteria ”. Lab On A Chip, (13), 4024, (2013). 

[7]. Pardoux, E., et al. “Antimicrobial peptide arrays for wide spectrum sensing of pathogenic bacteria”. Talanta, (203), 322-327, (2019).

Contexte de travail

Un financement de thèse internationale (co-tutelle entre Sherbrooke, CANADA et Grenoble, FRANCE) a été alloué au projet BIOSURF grâce au programme CNRS 80PRIME 2020. Ce financement permettra la réalisation d'une thèse, à travers des séjours longs au Québec et en France. A l'issue du projet, l'étudiant sera titulaire d'un doctorat français et canadien.

Partenaires
Canada : UMI 3462, Laboratoire Nanotechnologie et Nanosystèmes, Sherbrooke, Québec, CANADA.
https://www.usherbrooke.ca/recherche/fr/regroupements/umi-ln2/

France : UMR 5819, Laboratoire Système Moléculaires et nanoMatériaux pour l'Energie et la Santé, Grenoble, FRANCE.
http://www.symmes.fr/Pages/Symmes/Presentation.aspx

Informations complémentaires

Le(la) candidat(e) devra montrer un réel intérêt à travailler sur un sujet largement pluridisciplinaire, et cela dans un contexte international (à cheval entre plusieurs laboratoires, avec la réalisation d'une thèse de doctorat en co-tutelle internationale). De solides connaissances en chimie organique, micro-technologie sont indispensables. Une expérience (académique et/ou pratique) en microbiologie est un atout majeur pour ce projet. La personne retenue aura une réelle aptitude à rendre compte de ses travaux, tant à l'écrit qu'à l'oral.
La thématique abordée émarge au périmètre scientifique de plusieurs sections du CNRS : section 28, section 8, section 16 et CID 54.

On en parle sur Twitter !