En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Numerical modeling of segregation and differentiation in partially melting orogenic crust

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 11 juillet 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

General information

Reference : UMR5563-MURGER-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, June 20, 2022
Scientific Responsible name : Muriel Gerbault
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2022
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Application requirements : The application should include a CV, documentation of educational merits, qualifications and previous activities. Skills in computational programming and in petrological thermodynamics are most required. A letter detailing personal motivations and a proposition accompanying the research program. If you have completed a degree abroad, it will be assessed by the doctoral school SDU2E before employment can take place.
Project summary: The aim is to develop a numerical coupling approach of thermodynamic and thermomechanical tools involved in the genesis of a partially melting crust and liquid/solid segregation, to bridge the gap between our understanding of the mineral scale metamorphic reactions and the crustal scale gravitationally driven viscous flow in response to external forces. This project pursues the development of OpenFOAM VOF solvers that were shown to track well crustal scale flowing heterogeneity interfaces (Louis-Napoleon et al., 2020, 2021). The incorporation of thermal and compositional interactions between distinct fluid phases will allow to investigate how these fluid phases evolve, migrate, and contribute to the entire crustal segregation balance.

Aim and objectives : Crustal differentiation is controlled by partial melting and magma fluid transfers (Sawyer, 1994). In this context, the circulation of fluids has a decisive impact on the transfer of elements of economic interest (Chi & Xue, 2011). Understanding these processes is therefore essential to guide exploration and exploitation of subsoil resources. While the conditions for partial melting and crystallization are generally determined from thermodynamic modeling (Holland & Powell, 2011), the dynamic behavior of partially melting crusts is also approached by thermo-mechanical modeling (Poh et al., 2020; Piccolo et al., 2021; Schmeling et al., 2021). Some models take into account fluid-generating metamorphic reactions at the large scale, while others target segregation processes at the grain scale (Petrella et al., 2021): our objective here is to link these scales with the support of field observation and laboratory petrology measurements. While research communities argue about the flow modes of magmatic fluids (eg. migration, mixing or reactive transport) and whether melt columns are chemically open systems at distinct depths (eg. Cornet et al., 2022), here we will seek to further formalize such processes at the intermediate scale.
Our main field target is the Eburnean belt of West Africa, which testifies of a major crustal growth event between 2.0-2.2 Ga, and is composed of volcano-sedimentary series affected by greenschist metamorphism, of granulites and intruded plutons. This belt is characterized by 10-30 km wavelength alternations between greenstone belts, in a metamorphic gradient of about 30-40°C/km. While a dominant role of gravitational instabilities was proposed (Vidal et al., 2009) other studies rather favor thr role of horizontal motion (Baratoux et al., 2011). The WAXI program (waxi4.org/waxi-4/waxi-1-3/) has gathered a unique database that highlights the role of the volcano-sedimentary metamorphism in the genesis of migmatitic gneisses, plutons and their associated mineral resources (Masurel et al., 2021; Bonzi et al., 2021). Other targets will also serve as comparison: the Australian proterozoic terranes, the cretaceous European Alps and Naxos's migmatite domes (Siebenaller et al., 2013). Field and laboratory data will be used first to constrain the initial and limiting conditions of the models and guide the identification of major fluid transport modes (reaction, diffusion, localised, diapirism, convection), whereas the models in turn, will help seeking on the field, for the characteristics of « homogeneisation/segregation» processes. This merging of disciplines fosters in the context of the IRN FalCol french-australian network (oceania.cnrs.fr/project/irn-falcol/).
The VOF numerical method is one of the best that conserve mass in multiphasic fluid flow, which is a major issue when understanding crustal segregation processes. The aim of this project is to pursue the development of solvers embedded in the opensource code OpenFOAM, by incorporating the thermodynamic evolution of heterogeneous rock mass (e.g. adapt MagmaFOAM, Brogi et al.,2020; and Carrillo et al., 2020). This control on compositions and rheologies of the matrix and liquids will help us identify the different scales of transport of fluid volumes (percolation via the porous medium or by convection-diapirism), and their impact on solid/liquid segregation. Particular attention will be dedicated to partial melting and crystallization reactions which play a role in the cycle of aqueous and carbonic fluids participating in metallogenic processes (Petrella et al., 2021).
Work plan
* Year 1 : hands on OpenFOAM (https://openfoam.com) starting at the crustal scale (same setup as
Louis-Napoleon et al., 2021), varying initial conditions and merging with thermodynamic
conditions. Coding and publication 1 draft.
* Year 2 : Numerical implementation of a multiphysics solver for the 0.1-100 meters scale.
Field work within the Falcol IRN network. 1 workshop or international conference.
* Year 3 : Results analysis, synthesis, and draft publication 2, conference participation. PhD ms. writing.
Resources
* Equipment : analytical platforms for petrological and geochronology analyses at GET (www.get.omp.eu/plateformes/pole-petrologie-et-mineralogie/), as well as the numerical equipment of the community cluster Nuwa (www.aero.obs-mip.fr/parc-instru/platmod/) and the Olympe supercomputer from the CALMIP regional mesocenter (www.calmip.univ-toulouse.fr/).
* Fieldwork, traveling, and conferences expenses will be supplied for with national yearly grants.
Bibliography
Brogi, F., Colucci, S., Matrone, et al. (2022). MagmaFOAM-1.0: a modular framework for the simulation of magmatic systems. Geoscientific Model Development, 15(9), 3773-3796.
Louis-Napoléon A., Gerbault M., Bonometti T., et al. (2020). 3D numerical modelling of crustal polydiapirs with volume-of-fluid methods. Geoph.J.Int. 222(1) 474-506.
Louis-Napoleon A., Bonometti T., Gerbault M., et al. (2022). Models of convection and segregation in heterogeneous partially molten crustal roots with a VOF method--I: flow regimes, GJInt , 2022.
Petrella, L., Thébaud, N., Evans, K., LaFlamme, C., & Occhipinti, S. (2021). The role of competitive fluid-rock interaction processes in the formation of high-grade gold deposits. Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, 313, 38-54.
Piccolo, A., Kaus, B. J., White, et al. (2020). Plume—Lid interactions during the Archean and implications for the generation of early continental terranes. Gondwana Research, 88, 150-168.
Poh, J., Yamato, P., Duretz, T., et al. (2021). Transition from ancient to modern-style tectonics: insights from lithosphere dynamics modelling in compressional regimes. Gondwana Res. 99, 77-92.
Siebenaller, L., Boiron, M., Vanderhaeghe, O., Hibsch, C., Jessell, M. et al. (2013). Fluid record of rock exhumation across the brittle–ductile transition during Metamorphic Core Complex formation (Naxos Island). J. Metam.Geol. 31(3), 313-338.

Work Context

The GET (Geosciences Environnement Toulouse) is a multi-disciplinary research laboratory in Earth and Environmental Sciences attached to the Midi-Pyrenees Observatory (OMP). It is as so-called mixed unit (CNRS, IRD, P. Sabatier University, CNES) that brings together about 226 people.
The research themes are complementary and include studies of the internal Earth, its surfaces and continental interfaces, to improve knowledge on (i) the evolution and dynamics of the Earth, (ii) spatial and in situ observation of the Earth, (iii) the critical zone and fluid-rock-living interactions, and (iv) georesources and Contaminants-Environment-Health interactions.
This PhD will take place within the TIL team (Terre Interne Lithosphere), which specifically studies the dynamics of the Inner Earth, generally from a petrological point of view.
It will also be co-supervised by:
i) Nicolas Thébaud, researcher in Australia and a geologist specialist in the metalogenic (and metamorphic) provinces of Australia and Africa, and
ii) Thomas Bonometti and collaborators of the IMFT (Institute of Fluid Mechanics, Toulouse), experts in modeling fluid media and with the numerical code OpenFoam.

Constraints and risks

No specific constraints apart from those rising from using computers.
The candidate may be proposed to participate to a field work mission in isolated environment.

Additional Information

No comment

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Modélisation numérique de la ségrégation et différentiation d'une croûte continentale en fusion partielle H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 11 juillet 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5563-MURGER-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 20 juin 2022
Nom du responsable scientifique : Muriel Gerbault & Nicolas Thébaud
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2022
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Encadrement: Muriel Gerbault (GET-IRD), Nicolas Thébaud (CSIRO, Australia)

Co-encadrants: Thomas Bonometti(IMFT), Olivier Vanderhaeghe, Stéphanie Duchêne (GET)

Conditions de candidature : la candidature doit inclure un CV, une documentation sur les mérites éducatifs, les qualifications et les activités antérieures. Des compétences en programmation informatique et en thermodynamique/pétrologie sont recherchées. Une lettre détaillant les motivations personnelles et une proposition accompagnant le programme de recherche seront bienvenus. Si vous avez effectué un diplôme à l'étranger, celui-ci sera évalué par l'école doctorale SDU2E avant de pouvoir accéder à l'emploi.

Résumé du projet : L'objectif est de développer une méthode numérique couplant des outils thermodynamiques et thermomécaniques appliqués à la genèse d'une croûte en fusion partielle et à la ségrégation liquide/solide, pour combler le gap de description des modes de transferts des magmas à l'échelle minérale lors de réactions métamorphiques et à échelle crustale par écoulements visqueux gravitaires induits par des forces extérieures. Ce projet poursuit le développement de solveurs OpenFOAM par une méthode VOF, qui permet de bien suivre les déformations aux interfaces de phases fluides hétérogènes (Louis-Napoléon et al., 2020,2021). L'incorporation des interactions thermiques et compositionnelles entre phases fluides distinctes permettra de formaliser comment celles-ci évoluent, migrent et contribuent à la ségrégation et à la construction de la croute continentale.

But et objectifs : la différenciation de la croûte est contrôlée par la fusion partielle et les transferts de fluides magmatiques (Sawyer, 1994). Dans ce cadre, la circulation des fluides a un impact déterminant sur le transfert d'éléments d'intérêt économique (Chi & Xue, 2011). La compréhension de ces processus est donc essentielle pour guider l'exploration et l'exploitation des ressources du sous-sol. Alors que les conditions de fusion partielle et de cristallisation sont généralement déterminées par modélisation thermodynamique (Holland & Powell, 2011), le comportement dynamique de croûtes partiellement fondues est également abordé par modélisation thermomécanique (Poh et al., 2020 ; Piccolo et al., 2021 ; Schmeling et al., 2021). Certains modèles prennent en compte les réactions métamorphiques génératrices de fluides, tandis que d'autres traquent leurs échanges à l'échelle du grain (Petrella et al., 2021) : notre objectif ici est de relier ces échelles avec l'appui de l'observation de terrain et de mesures de propriétés pétrologiques en laboratoire. Alors que l'on débat des modes d'écoulement des fluides magmatiques (migration, mélange ou transport réactif), ou si les colonnes crustales sont des systèmes chimiquement ouverts à des profondeurs distinctes (par exemple, Cornet et al., 2022), nous chercherons ici à mieux formaliser ces processus à l'échelle intermédiaire.
Nous nous appuierons sur l'exemple de la ceinture éburnéenne d'Afrique de l'Ouest, qui témoigne d'un événement majeur de croissance crustale entre 2,0 et 2,2 Ga, et est composée de séries volcano-sédimentaires affectées par du métamorphisme schiste-vert, de granulites et d'intrusions plutoniques. Cette ceinture se caractérise par l'alternance de roches vertes de longueur d'onde de 10 à 30 km, dans un gradient métamorphique de 30 à 40°C/km. Alors que certains ont proposé un rôle dominant des instabilités gravitataires (Vidal et al., 2009) d'autres privilégient le rôle de mouvements horizontaux (Baratoux et al., 2011). Le programme WAXI (waxi4.org/waxi-4/waxi-1-3/) a ​​réuni une base de données unique qui met en évidence le rôle du métamorphisme des séries volcano-sédimentaires dans la genèse des gneiss migmatitiques, des plutons et des ressources minérales associées (Masurel et al., 2021 ; Bonzi et al., 2021). D'autres sites serviront aussi de comparaison : les terrains protérozoïques Australiens, les Alpes européennes Crétacé et les dômes migmatitiques de Naxos (Siebenaller et al., 2013). Ces données de terrain et de laboratoire serviront d'abord à contraindre les conditions initiales et limites des modèles et à guider l'identification des principaux modes de transport des fluides magmatiques (réaction, diffusion, localisé, diapirisme, convection), tandis que les modèles en retour, guideront l'identification sur le terrain, des processus d'«homogénéisation/ségrégation». Cette interdisciplinarité sera favorisée par le cadre international offert par l'IRN franco-australien FalCol (oceania.cnrs.fr/project/irn-falcol/).
La méthode numérique VOF est l'une de celles qui conserve le mieux la masse dans un écoulement fluide multiphasique, ce qui est un problème majeur dans la compréhension des processus de ségrégation crustale. L'objectif de ce projet est de poursuivre le développement de solveurs embarqués dans le code opensource OpenFOAM, en incorporant l'évolution thermodynamique d'une colonne crustale hétérogène (e.g. MagmaFOAM, Brogi et al., 2020, et Carrillo et al., 2020). Ce contrôle sur la composition et la rhéologie de la matrice et des liquides magmatiques permettra d'identifier les différentes échelles de transport de volumes fluides (percolation via le milieu poreux ou par convection-diapirisme), et donc leur impact sur la ségrégation solide/liquide. Une attention particulière sera consacrée aux réactions de fusion partielle et de cristallisation qui jouent un rôle dans le cycle des fluides aqueux et carboniques participant aux processus métallogéniques (Petrella et al., 2021). Ces modèles numériques permettront ainsi de quantifier les transferts magmatiques conduisant à la différenciation crustale au cours du Paléoprotérozoïque.

Plan de travail
*Année 1 : prise en main d'OpenFOAM (https://openfoam.com) en démarrant à l'échelle crustale (même configuration que Louis-Napoléon et al., 2021), en faisant varier conditions initiales, puis insertion progressive des conditions thermodynamiques. Début de la publication 1.
*Année 2 : Implémentation de l'approche multiphysique d'échelle 0,1-100 mètres.
+ Mission de terrain via le réseau Falcol. 1 atelier ou conférence internationale.
*Année 3 : Analyse des résultats, synthèse et rédaction de la publication 2,
présentation de résultats en conférence. Rédaction du manuscrit de thèse.

Equipements: plateforme d'analyses pétrologiques et géochronologiques du GET (www.get.omp.eu/plateformes/pole-petrologie-et-mineralogie/), et les supports numériques du cluster communautaire Nuwa (www.aero.obs -mip.fr/parc-instru/platmod/) et du supercalculateur Olympe du mésocentre régional CALMIP (www.calmip.univ-toulouse.fr/).
Les frais de missions de terrain, de déplacement et de conférences seront couverts via des subventions nationales annuelles.

Références
Brogi, F., Colucci, S., Matrone, et al. (2022). MagmaFOAM-1.0: a modular framework for the simulation of magmatic systems. Geoscientific Model Development, 15(9), 3773-3796.
Louis-Napoléon A., Gerbault M., Bonometti T., et al. (2020). 3D numerical modelling of crustal polydiapirs with volume-of-fluid methods. Geoph.J.Int. 222(1) 474-506.
Louis-Napoleon A., Bonometti T., Gerbault M., et al. (2022). Models of convection and segregation in heterogeneous partially molten crustal roots with a VOF method--I: flow regimes, GJInt , 2022.
Petrella, L., Thébaud, N., Evans, K., LaFlamme, C., & Occhipinti, S. (2021). The role of competitive fluid-rock interaction processes in the formation of high-grade gold deposits. Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, 313, 38-54.
Piccolo, A., Kaus, B. J., White, et al. (2020). Plume—Lid interactions during the Archean and implications for the generation of early continental terranes. Gondwana Research, 88, 150-168.
Poh, J., Yamato, P., Duretz, T., et al. (2021). Transition from ancient to modern-style tectonics: insights from lithosphere dynamics modelling in compressional regimes. Gondwana Res. 99, 77-92.
Siebenaller, L., Boiron, M., Vanderhaeghe, O., Hibsch, C., Jessell, M. et al. (2013). Fluid record of rock exhumation across the brittle–ductile transition during Metamorphic Core Complex formation (Naxos Island). J. Metam.Geol. 31(3), 313-338.

Contexte de travail

Le GET (Geosciences Environnement Toulouse) est un laboratoire de recherche pluri-disciplinaire en Sciences de la Terre et de l'Environnement rattaché à l'Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées (OSU OMP). L'unité mixte (CNRS, IRD, Université P. Sabatier, CNES) regroupe environ 226 personnes.
Les thémtiques de recherche sont très complémentaires autour de l'étude de la Terre interne, de ses surfaces et interfaces continentales et de l'environnement pour améliorer la connaissance (i) sur l'évolution et la dynamique terrestre, (ii) l'observation spatiale et in situ de la Terre, (iii) la zone critique et les interactions fluides-roches-vivant, et (iv) les géoressources et les interactions Contaminants-Environnement-Santé.
Cette thèse aura lieu au sein de l'équipe TIL (Terre Interne Lithosphere), qui s'interesse spécifiquement à la dynamique de la Terre Interne, généralement d'un point de vue pétrologique.
Elle sera aussi co-encadrée par Thomas Bonometti et collaborateurs de l'IMFT (institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse), experts en modélisation des milieux fluides et du code numérique étudié.
Enfin elle sera aussi co-encadrée par Nicolas Thébaud, chercheur en Australie et spécialiste des terrains métamorphiques Australiens et Africains étudiés.

Contraintes et risques

Pas de contraintes particulieres sinon que l'usage d'ordinateurs.
DIspositions éventuelles pour participer à une mission de terrain en contexte isolé (non urbain).

On en parle sur Twitter !