By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD on dietary adaptations in ant-eating mammal genomes and microbiomes (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5554-FREDEL-004
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Monday, July 27, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Frédéric Delsuc
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Missions:
As part of the ERC Consolidator ConvergeAnt project (www.convergeant-project.com/), we are looking for a PhD student with experience in transcriptomic and genomic data analysis and microbiome characterization. The overall objective of the project is to study the mechanisms underlying the evolutionary convergence among independent lineages of myrmecophagous mammals (feeding mainly on ants and termites). The project proposes an integrative approach to answer this question by combining the study of the morphology, genome, and microbiome of these different species. The PhD project is divided in two parts: a first part focusing on the characterization of genomic adaptations in relation to the myrmecophagous diet and a second part exploring the potential role of the microbiome in the digestion of social insects. The genomic part will exploit the genomes and transcriptomes already sequenced to reconstruct the evolutionary history of three gene families potentially related to the myrmecophagous diet: mucins (MUCs), taste receptors (TASRs), and olfactory receptors (ORs). The metagenomic part will focus on the reconstruction of complete bacterial genomes from faecal samples already available for the analysis of chitin degradation pathways in the intestinal microbiome of myrmecophagous species. The candidate will be in charge of the production of molecular data for the microbiome part of the project in coordination with the research assistant in charge of the laboratory by metagenomic long read sequencing (Nanopore).

Activities:
- Field work: Possibility to participate in sample collection missions and portable field DNA sequencing in French Guiana and South Africa.
- Sequencing: Coordination of sequencing projects in interaction with the different people and sequencing platforms involved in the project. Implementation of field metagenomic sequencing using the MinION portable device.
- Analyses: Assembly and functional annotation of metagenomic data, characterization of metabolic pathways by bioinformatics analysis.
- Publications: Writing scientific articles and participating in international meetings.

Requirements:
- Experience in assembling and annotating complete genomes from metagenomic data (Illumina and Nanopore).
- Experience with statistical analysis of comparative genomic and transcriptomic data.
- Fluency in scientific, oral and written English.
- Ability to work autonomously and rigorously.
- Capacity for integration and teamwork.

Work Context

The ConvergeAnt ERC project is led by Frédéric Delsuc (http://fdelsuc.wixsite.com/homepage) of the Phylogénie et Evolution Moléculaire team at the Institut des Sciences de l'Evolution (ISEM) UMR 5554 CNRS-UM-IRD-EPHE (http://www.isem.univ-montp2.fr/), located on the University of Montpellier campus. This integrative project is the subject of regular meetings with the other people involved in the laboratory in which the candidate must participate.

Constraints and risks

Not applicable

Additional Information

For additional informations please contact
Frédéric Delsuc (Frederic.Delsuc@umontpellier.fr).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse sur les adaptations au régime alimentaire dans le génome et le microbiome des mammifères myrmécophages (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5554-FREDEL-004
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : lundi 27 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Frédéric Delsuc
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Missions:
Dans le cadre du projet ERC Consolidator ConvergeAnt (www.convergeant-project.com/), nous sommes à la recherche d'un(e) doctorant(e) avec une expérience dans le traitement de données transcriptomiques et génomique et la caractérisation du microbiome. L'objectif global du projet est d'étudier les mécanismes qui sous-tendent la convergence évolutive entre les différentes lignées de mammifères myrmécophages (qui se nourrissent essentiellement de fourmis et termites). Le projet propose une approche intégrative pour répondre à cette question en combinant l'étude de la morphologie, du génome, et du microbiome de ces différentes espèces. Le sujet de thèse comporte deux parties : une première partie portant sur la caractérisation des adaptions génomiques en lien avec le régime alimentaire myrmécophage et une deuxième partie explorant le rôle potentiel du microbiome dans la digestion des insectes sociaux. La partie génomique exploitera les génomes et les transcriptomes déjà séquencés pour reconstruire l'histoire évolutive de trois familles de gènes en lien avec le régime myrmécophage : les mucines (MUCs), les récepteurs gustatifs (TASRs), et les récepteurs olfactifs (ORs). La partie métagénomique se focalisera sur la reconstruction de génomes bactériens complets à partir d'échantillons fécaux déjà disponibles en vue de l'analyse des voies de dégradation de la chitine dans le microbiome intestinal des espèces myrmécophages. Le(la) candidat(e) sera en charge de la production des données moléculaires de la partie microbiome du projet en coordination avec l'ingénieure responsable du laboratoire par séquençage metagénomique en long reads (Nanopore).

Activités:
- Terrain : Possibilité de participer à des missions de collectes d'échantillons et séquençage sur le terrain en Guyane Française et en Afrique du Sud.
- Séquençage : Coordination des projets de séquençage en interaction avec les différentes personnes et plateformes impliquées dans le projet. Mise en œuvre du séquençage métagénomique sur le terrain avec le séquenceur portable MinION.
- Analyses : Assemblage et annotation fonctionnelle de données métagénomiques, caractérisation de voies métaboliques par analyses bioinformatiques.
- Publications : Rédaction d'articles scientifiques participation à des congrès internationaux.

Compétences:
- Expérience dans l'assemblage et l'annotation de génomes complets à partir de données métagénomiques (Illumina et Nanopore).
- Expérience avec l'analyse statistique de données de génomique et de transcriptomique comparative.
- Maitrise de l'anglais scientifique, oral et écrit.
- Capacité de travail individuel avec une grande rigueur.
- Capacité d'intégration et de travail en équipe.

Contexte de travail

Le projet ERC ConvergeAnt est porté par Frédéric Delsuc (http://fdelsuc.wixsite.com/homepage) de l'équipe Phylogénie et Evolution Moléculaire au sein de l'Institut des Sciences de l'Evolution (ISEM) UMR 5554 CNRS-UM-IRD-EPHE (http://www.isem.univ-montp2.fr/), situé sur le campus de l'Université de Montpellier. Ce projet intégratif fait l'objet de réunions régulières avec les autres personnes impliquées au sein du laboratoire auxquelles le(la) candidate devra participer.

Contraintes et risques

Non applicable

On en parle sur Twitter !