By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Doctoral thesis offer M/F. "Spinning at molecular scales: modeling the dynamics of the flagellar engine"

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5221-NILWAL-001
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Monday, July 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : John Palmeri, Nils-Ole Walliser
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The Bacterial Flagellar Motor (BFM) is a macromolecular protein complex embedded in the bacterial membrane capable of performing rotary motion in both senses with frequencies of about 100 Hz. It is attached to a long filamentous flagellum whose rotation enables the bacteria to perform a directed movement in viscous media.

The BFM's motion is one of the rare examples of continuous rotation around an axis one can find in living systems. Even though it is widely studied, the dynamically rich biological function of the motor and the biophysical principles responsible for its torque generation are not fully understood.

Two aspects of this system are particularly remarkable and demand further investigation. First of all, the BFM is capable of adapting its performance depending on the externally imposed torque (mechanosensitivity), by dynamically assembling and disassembling motive units. Second, the BFM couples to other intracellular processes like cell respiration and charge transport on the membrane. To turn, it consumes the transmembrane electrochemical potential difference due to the concentration gradient of ions (protons or, more rarely, sodium ions) across the internal membrane. This so-called Proton Motive Force (PMF) is established and maintained by cell respiration, and it can remarkably attain a few hundreds of millivolts.

At the interface between experimental and theoretical biophysics, our project aims at unraveling the molecular mechanisms and the fundamental principles responsible for the dynamic rotation of single motors on living E.coli cells.

Based on the results of single-molecule techniques conducted by our experimental collaborators at CBS, we will study the aspects mentioned above within the theoretical framework of statistical kinetics and mechanics. Furthermore, we will employ numerical and stochastic simulations as well as analytical and numerical methods for stochastic processes to model the ability of the system to adapt to changing external conditions and the dynamical coupling of the BFM with its cellular environment. Our approach will exploit the predictive strength of coarse-grained modeling in unraveling the properties emerging from the interaction of the different components of the system. But, where needed to gain insights on the mechanics of torque generation, we will dwell into the details of a mechanochemical description of the single macromolecular components at the nanoscopic scale.

PROFILE SOUGHT. We are looking for candidates willing to pursue theoretical research in a transdisciplinary context at the interface between physics and biology. Candidates should have a practical knowledge of PDEs, statistical mechanics and diffusion processes. Programming skills (Python or C) and experience with a symbolic and numerical computing environment (Mathematica, Sagemath, Matlab / Octave, etc.) will be appreciated. Candidates should have a Master's degree in physics, biophysics or physical chemistry (or related disciplines).

Level of French required: Intermediate: You can speak the language comprehensibly, coherently and confidently on everyday topics that are familiar to you.

Level of English required: Elementary: You can understand the language in basic everyday situations if the speaker speaks softly and clearly. You understand and use simple expressions.

OBJECTIVE AND CONTEXT. To analyse, model and understand the functioning of the bacterial flagellar motor, understand its mechano-sensitivity, understand the physical principles of how molecular machines work, analyse data and interact with experimenters.

Research at the physical-biological interface on a model system for biology and of great importance to understand also the bacterial response to external stimuli (e.g. chemotaxis).

METHODOLOGY. Statistical kinetics and statistical mechanics; gas-on-grid approaches. Numerical and stochastic simulations; analytical, semi-analytical and numerical methods for stochastic processes (abnormal diffusion), EDP.

EXPECTED RESULTS. To understand the stochastic dynamics of the rotor-stator assembly which is at the heart of the operation of the flagellar machine, to understand the origin of mechano-sensitivity, to understand the physical principles of operation of molecular machines. To understand the dynamic coupling of the BFM with its cellular environment (cellular respiration and membrane transport of electrical charges.

REFERENCES.
Berg, H. C. (2003). The rotary motor of bacterial flagella. Annual review of biochemistry, 72.

Mandadapu, K. K., Nirody, J. A., Berry, R. M., & Oster, G. (2015). Mechanics of torque generation in the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 112(32), E4381-E4389.

Nirody, J. A., Sun, Y. R., & Lo, C. J. (2017). The biophysicist's guide to the bacterial flagellar motor. Advances in Physics: X, 2(2), 324-343.

Nord, A. L., Gachon, E., Perez-Carrasco, R., Nirody, J. A., Barducci, A., Berry, R. M., & Pedaci, F. (2017). Catch bond drives stator mechanosensitivity in the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 114(49), 12952-12957.

Wadhwa, N., Phillips, R., & Berg, H. C. (2019). Torque-dependent remodeling of the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 116(24), 11764-11769.

Work Context

The thesis will be supervised by John Palmeri and Nils-Ole Walliser, Laboratoire Charles Coulomb (L2C), University of Montpellier.

The candidate will join the research group "Complex Systems and Nonlinear Phenomena" at the Charles Coulomb Laboratory (L2C). The L2C is a joint research unit (UM-CNRS), located on the campus of the University of Montpellier (UM), and represents an international scientific environment dedicated to research in applied and fundamental physics, and to research at the interface between physics and biology.

The project will be carried out in collaboration with Francesco Pedaci and Ashley Nord from the "Centre de Biochimie Structurale" (CBS) Montpellier. This thesis is funded by the ANR-CNRS project 'FlagMotor'.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse de doctorat H/F. "Un rotor aux échelles moléculaires : modélisation de la dynamique du moteur flagellaire"

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5221-NILWAL-001
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : lundi 20 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : John Palmeri, Nils-Ole Walliser
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le moteur flagellaire bactérien (BFM) est un complexe de protéines macromoléculaires intégré dans la membrane bactérienne capable d'effectuer un mouvement rotatif dans les deux sens avec des fréquences d'environ 100 Hz. Il est attaché à un long flagelle filamenteux dont la rotation permet aux bactéries d'effectuer un mouvement dirigé dans des milieux visqueux.

Le mouvement du BFM est l'un des rares exemples de rotation continue autour d'un axe que l'on peut trouver dans les systèmes vivants. Même s'il est largement étudié, la fonction biologique dynamiquement riche du moteur et les principes biophysiques responsables de la génération du couple qui provoque la rotation ne sont pas entièrement compris.

Deux aspects de ce système sont particulièrement remarquables et nécessitent une étude plus approfondie. Tout d'abord, le BFM est capable d'adapter ses performances en fonction du couple imposé de l'extérieur (mécano-sensitivité), en assemblant et démontant dynamiquement des unités motrices appelées stators. Deuxièmement, la rotation du BFM est intrinsèquement couplée à d'autres processus intra-cellulaires comme la respiration et le transport de charges sur la membrane. Pour fonctionner le moteur consomme la différence de potentiel électrochimique transmembranaire due au gradient de concentration des ions (protons ou, plus rarement, ions de sodium) à travers la membrane interne. Cette force motrice de protons (PMF=Proton Motive Force) est établie et maintenue par la respiration cellulaire, et elle peut atteindre, remarquablement quelques centaines de millivolts.

À l'interface entre la biophysique expérimentale et la biophysique théorique, notre projet vise à démêler les mécanismes moléculaires et les principes fondamentaux responsables de la rotation des moteurs individuels sur les cellules vivantes d'E. Coli.

Sur la base des résultats des techniques de molécule unique menées par nos collaborateurs expérimentateurs au CBS, nous étudierons les aspects mentionnés ci-dessus dans le cadre théorique de la cinétique statistique et de la mécanique statistique. De plus, afin d'étudier le couplage dynamique du BFM avec son environnement cellulaire nous utiliserons des simulations numériques et stochastiques ainsi que des méthodes analytiques et numériques des processus stochastiques, pour modéliser la capacité du système à s'adapter aux conditions externes changeantes. Notre approche exploite la force prédictive de la modélisation à gros grains pour révéler les propriétés émergentes de l'interaction des différentes composantes du système. Mais, lorsque cela est nécessaire pour mieux comprendre la mécanique de la génération de couple, nous nous plongerons dans les détails d'une description mécanochimique des composants macromoléculaires à l'échelle nanoscopique.

PROFIL RECHERCHÉ. Nous recherchons des candidats désireux de poursuivre des recherches théoriques dans un contexte transdisciplinaire à l'interface entre la physique et la biologie. Les candidats doivent avoir une connaissance pratique des EDP, de mécanique statistique et des processus de diffusion. Des compétences en programmation (Python ou C) et une expérience avec un environnement informatique symbolique et numérique (Mathematica, Sagemath, Matlab / Octave, etc.) sont appréciées. Les candidats doivent être titulaires d'une maîtrise en physique, biophysique ou chimie physique (ou dans des disciplines connexes).

Niveau de français requis: Intermédiaire: Vous pouvez parler la langue de manière compréhensible, cohérente et avec assurance sur des sujets de la vie courante qui vous sont familiers.

Niveau d'anglais requis: Élémentaire: Vous pouvez comprendre la langue dans des situations quotidiennes élémentaires si votre interlocuteur parle doucement et clairement. Vous comprenez et utilisez des expressions simples.

OBJECTIF ET CONTEXTE. Analyser, modéliser et comprendre le fonctionnement du moteur flagellaire bactérien, comprendre sa mécano-sensitivité, comprendre des principes physiques du fonctionnement des machines moléculaires, analyser les données et interagir avec les expérimentateurs.

Recherche à l'interface physique-biologie sur un système modèle pour la biologie et de grande importance pour comprendre aussi la réponse bactérienne aux stimuli externes (e.g. chimiotactisme).

MÉTHODE. Cinétique statistique et mécanique statistique ; approches du type gaz sur réseau. Simulations numériques et stochastiques ; méthodes analytiques, semi-analytiques et numériques des processus stochastiques (diffusion anormale), EDP.

RÉSULTATS ATTENDUS. Comprendre la dynamique stochastique de l'assemblage rotor-stators qui est au cœur du fonctionnement de la machine flagellaire, comprendre l'origine de la mécano-sensitivité, comprendre les principes physique de fonctionnement des machines moléculaires. Comprendre le couplage dynamique du BFM avec son environnement cellulaire (respiration cellulaire et transport membranaires des charges électriques.

RÉFÉRENCES BIBLIOGRAPHIQUES.
Berg, H. C. (2003). The rotary motor of bacterial flagella. Annual review of biochemistry, 72.

Mandadapu, K. K., Nirody, J. A., Berry, R. M., & Oster, G. (2015). Mechanics of torque generation in the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 112(32), E4381-E4389.

Nirody, J. A., Sun, Y. R., & Lo, C. J. (2017). The biophysicist's guide to the bacterial flagellar motor. Advances in Physics: X, 2(2), 324-343.

Nord, A. L., Gachon, E., Perez-Carrasco, R., Nirody, J. A., Barducci, A., Berry, R. M., & Pedaci, F. (2017). Catch bond drives stator mechanosensitivity in the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 114(49), 12952-12957.

Wadhwa, N., Phillips, R., & Berg, H. C. (2019). Torque-dependent remodeling of the bacterial flagellar motor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 116(24), 11764-11769.

Contexte de travail

La thèse sera encadrée par John Palmeri et Nils-Ole Walliser, Laboratoire Charles Coulomb (L2C), Université de Montpellier.

Le candidat intégrera le groupe de recherche «Systèmes Complexes et Phénomènes Non linéaires» au Laboratoire Charles Coulomb (L2C). Le L2C est une unité mixte de recherche (UM-CNRS), situé sur le campus de l'Université de Montpellier (UM), représente un environnement scientifique international dédié à la recherche en physique appliquée et fondamentale, ainsi qu'à la recherche à l'interface entre la physique et la biologie.

Le projet sera réalisé en collaboration avec Francesco Pedaci et Ashley Nord du «Centre de Biochimie Structurale» (CBS) Montpellier. Cette thèse est financée par le projet ANR-CNRS 'FlagMotor'.

On en parle sur Twitter !