By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in theoretical physics: Multi-Wavelengths probes of the Fermi GeV excess: from radio to X rays (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5108-DOMTUR-003
Workplace : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date of publication : Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Francesca CALORE
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The project aims to shed light onto nature of the Fermi GeV excess discovered by the Fermi-LAT telescope at GeV energie towards the Galactic bulge.
The nature of this excess is still a mystery: high-energy emitting compact objects in the Galactic bulge can be responsible of the emission at GeV energies. The topic of the PhD thesis proposed articulates along two main research axis: 1) Predict multi-wavelength signatures of this new population of compact objects from radio to X-ray; 2) Develop dedicated search strategies to look for this population in radio and X rays, with the final goal of discovering (or refuting) the evidence for high-energy emitting compact objects in the Galactic bulge also responsible for the GeV emission.

Work Context

We are looking for candidates to a 3-years PhD position starting in Fall 2020, within an national collaboration program between three CNRS laboratories (LAPTh in Annecy, IPAG in Grenoble and LPC2E in Orléans). The PhD thesis will be co-supervised by F. Calore (LAPTh) and M. Clavel (IPAG). The chosen candidate will join the LAPTh astroparticle and cosmology group (F. Calore, P. Salati, P. Serpico, R. Taillet, plus postdocs and students), but will develop part of his/her research in collaboration with the SHERPAS group of IPAG (M. Clavel, G. Dubus, P.-O. Petrucci), which the candidate is expected to visit regularly. Visits and interactions with the LPC2E group (L. Guillemot, I. Cognard, G. Theureau, L. Bondonneau) are also foreseen for the development of the radio analysis.

Additional Information

Funding secured.

Candidates must submit the following documents through this website:
1. CV, copy of study certificates (Bachelor, Master, if available, otherwise to be obtained before the starting date) and list of exams/grades.

2. Motivation Letter (describing the applicant's interest in the project and previous research experience/internships)

One to two reference letters should be sent directly by the experts chosen by the candidate to the address: phd_multiwave@lapth.cnrs.fr
Please adopt the following header for the e-mails : "Letter for Surname, Name" (of the applicant).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en physique théorique : Sondes multi-longueurs d'onde de l'excès de Fermi : du domaine radio aux rayons X (H/F) - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5108-DOMTUR-003
Lieu de travail : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date de publication : mardi 14 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Francesca CALORE
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le projet se situe dans le domaine de la physique des astroparticules et s'intéresse à l'excès de rayons gamma aux énergies du GeV issu du bulbe galactique, détecté par le télescope Fermi-LAT. La nature de cet excès reste aujourd'hui un mystère : des objets compacts émettant à haute énergie au centre de la Voie Lactée pourraient jouer un rôle très important. Le sujet de thèse porte sur les deux volets suivants : 1) Prédire les signatures multi-longueurs d'onde de nouvelles populations de sources dans le bulbe galactique, du domaine radio aux rayons X ; 2) Effectuer des recherches dédiées dans les données radio et X, dans le but ultime de découvrir (ou réfuter) la présence de ces objets compacts dans le bulbe galactique et donc de dévoiler le mystère de l'excès de Fermi.

Contexte de travail

Dans le cadre d'un programme de collaboration entre trois laboratoires du CNRS (LAPTh à Annecy, IPAG à Grenoble et LPC2E à Orléans), nous recherchons des candidats/es pour un contrat doctoral de trois ans à partir de l'automne 2020. La thèse sera co-encadrée par F. Calore (LAPTh) et M. Clavel (IPAG). Le/la candidat/e retenu/e rejoindra le groupe LAPTh Astroparticules et cosmologie (F. Calore, P. Salati, P. Serpico, R. Taillet, ainsi que des post-doctorants et des étudiants) mais il/elle développera au moins en partie sa recherche en collaboration avec le groupe SHERPAS de l'IPAG (M. Clavel, G. Dubus, P.-O. Petrucci), où il/elle effectuera des visites régulières de longue durée. Des visites au LPC2E (L. Guillemot, I. Cognard, G. Theureau, L. Bondonneau) sont aussi prévues dans le cadre du développement de l'analyse radio.

Informations complémentaires

Financement acquis.

Le candidat doit soumettre les documents suivants à travers ce site :
1. CV, copies des diplômes (Licence, Master) et examens/notes.

2. Lettre de motivation décrivant l'intérêt dans le poste et les expériences/stages de recherche du candidat (3 pages maximum)

Une à deux lettres de recommandation doivent être envoyées directement par les experts choisis par le candidat à l'adresse: phd_multiwave@lapth.cnrs.fr
En-tête de courrier électronique pour les lettres: "Lettre pour nom du demandeur, prénom du demandeur".

On en parle sur Twitter !