By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Sustaining oral communicative skills in children with Hearing Impairment M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5105-GUYOMN0-020
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Monday, March 23, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Hélène LOEVENBRUCK / Anne VILAIN
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

We are offering a 3-year PhD fellowship in Cognitive Science, starting september-october 2020, for a project entitled “Sustaining oral communicative skills in children with Hearing Impairment”. The aim of the project is to examine the impact of different intervention methods on the development of oral communication skills.
This position is a part of the H2020 Marie-Curie Innovative Training Network project Comm4CHILD that received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No. 860755. For more information on Comm4CHILD, please check: http://comm4child.ulb.be
The successful candidate will conduct behavioural tests on speech production and perception skills of French-speaking children with hearing impairment, and confront these data with audiological and linguistic information on the children's history of remediation, language exposure, degree of deafness and on hearing technologies used.

Candidates should have a strong background in speech sciences, cognitive psychology, or speech therapy. Former experience with recording and analysis of audio data and with the use of statistical packages such as R, SPSS or Statistica is an asset. The candidate should have native or near-native proficiency in French, as the children tested will be French-speaking. Good oral and written communication skills in English are required. Knowledge of French Cued Speech and/or LSF (Langue des Signes Française) will be appreciated. Interest in audition and hearing impairment, and experience conducting independent research with children and families are relevant additional criteria. Motivation to work with children is a primary quality for the job.

Eligibility criteria:
Candidates must have obtained a degree which formally entitles them to embark on a doctorate, either in the country in which the degree was obtained or in the country in which the researcher is recruited. The candidate must have resided or carried out their main activity in a different country from the host organisation for at least 12 months prior to their recruitment. This excludes short stays such as holidays. Candidates cannot have been awarded a doctoral degree and/or completed more than four years of full-time equivalent research experience.
Applications:
Interested candidates should submit (a) a cover letter describing their background, research experiences, interests, and goals, (b) a curriculum vitae, (c) at least one letter of recommendation from previous research supervisors, (d) a copy of diploma (with the university transcripts).

.
For more information on the ITN Comm4CHILD : http://comm4child.ulb.be.

Work Context

The hosting laboratories are the Laboratoire de Psychologie et NeuroCognition (CNRS UMR 5105, https://lpnc.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/) and the GIPSA-lab (CNRS UMR 5216, http://www.gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr/) at Université Grenoble Alpes.
LPNC and GIPSA-lab have complementary expertise, facilities and equipment. LPNC has a long-lasting expertise in cognitive science, specifically in the areas of perception, action, spatial cognition, memory and language, with an interdisciplinary approach combining experimental neuropsychology, developmental studies, modelling, cognitive psychiatry and neuroimaging. GIPSA-Lab is specialized in information processing with a specific focus on speech and cognitive processes in the human brain, and a multidisciplinary expertise including (i) algorithmic developments, computational modelling and machine learning, (ii) phonetics and language sciences and (iii) behavioural and neurocognitive experiments. These two laboratories have a long history of fruitful collaborations, especially in the field of language processing development in infants and children. They are also well connected with Grenoble and Lyon University hospitals, which will facilitate the access to children with HI.
A secondment will take place at the University of Leeds and at Bradford Teaching Hospitals (UK) for 6 months. It will enable the ESR to broaden their perspective on intervention methods and educational settings in different countries, and to benefit from direct experience of daily contacts with patients with hearing impairment and their caregivers, increasing their awareness of the reality of their situations.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Soutien et accompagnement des compétences communicatives orales chez les enfants porteurs de déficience auditive H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5105-GUYOMN0-020
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : lundi 23 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Hélène LOEVENBRUCK / Anne VILAIN
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Dans le cadre du réseau ITN Comm4CHILD, dont Cécile Colin et Jacqueline Leybaert de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles sont coordinatrices, nous recrutons un·e doctorant·e pour une thèse de 3 ans en sciences cognitives, démarrant en septembre/octobre 2020 à l'Université Grenoble Alpes, au sein de nos 2 laboratoires (LPNC et GIPSA-lab).
Comm4CHILD est un réseau Marie Sklodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network (MSC ITN, grant agreement 860766) qui vise à optimiser la communication et l'inclusion sociale d'enfants présentant des troubles auditifs. Ce réseau engage 15 doctorant·e·s dans différents domaines (biologie, cognition, langage). Les institutions d'accueil sont localisées en Belgique, en Allemagne, en France, au Royaume-Uni, en Suède et au Danemark. Les doctorant·e·s recevront une formation d'excellence tant dans le domaine de la recherche fondamentale et clinique que dans celui de l'intervention auprès d'enfants avec déficience auditive.
Le projet de thèse est intitulé “Soutien et accompagnement des compétences communicatives orales chez les enfants porteurs de déficience auditive”. Le but est d'examiner l'impact de différentes méthodes d'intervention sur le développement des capacités de communication orale chez l'enfant francophone avec déficience auditive.
Le.la candidat.e devra avoir une formation solide en phonétique, psychologie cognitive, ou orthophonie. Une expérience en collecte et traitement de données audio et avec l'utilisation d'outils statistiques tels que R, SPSS ou Statistica sera appréciée. Le.la candidat.e devra être francophone natif ou avoir des compétences excellentes en français oral, puisqu'il.elle devra travailler auprès d'enfants francophones. De très bonnes compétences en anglais oral et écrit sont nécessaires. Une connaissance de la Langue française Parlée Complétée ou de la Langue des Signes française serait un plus. Un intérêt pour les thématiques de l'audition et/ou de la déficience auditive, et une expérience du travail de recherche auprès d'enfants et de familles seront des atouts additionnels. La motivation pour travailler auprès d'enfants est une condition essentielle.

Critères d'éligibilité: Le.la candidat.e ne devra pas avoir résidé ou exercé son activité principale en France durant les 12 mois qui précèdent son recrutement.

Les candidat.e.s doivent envoyer (a) une lettre de motivation décrivant leur formation, leurs expériences, intérêts et objectifs de recherche, (b) un curriculum vitae, (c) au moins une lettre de recommandation d'une personne ayant supervisé leur recherche, (d) une copie de leur diplôme.

Pour plus d'informations sur le projet ITN Comm4CHILD : http://comm4child.ulb.be

Contexte de travail

La thèse se déroulera aux laboratoires LPNC (Laboratoire de Psychologie et NeuroCognition, UMR 5105, https://lpnc.univ-grenoble-alpes.fr/) et GIPSA-lab (Département Parole et Cognition, UMR 5216, http://www.gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr/) à l'Université Grenoble Alpes.
Le LPNC et leGIPSA-lab bénéficient d'expertises, de plates-formes expérimentales et d'équipements complémentaires. Le LPNC est reconnu de longue date pour son expertise en sciences cognitives, en particulier dans les domaines de la perception, de l'action, de la cognition spatiale de la mémoire et du langage. Il est engagé dans une démarche résolument interdisciplinaire, alliant neuropsychologie expérimentale, études développementales, modélisation, psychiatrie cognitive et neuroimagerie. Le GIPSA-lab a une expertise reconnue dans le domaine du traitement de l'information, notamment autour du thème de la parole et de la cognition, avec des compétences multidisciplinaires incluant développement algorithmique, modélisation computationnelle, machine learning, ainsi que phonétique, sciences du langage et expérimentation comportementale et neurocognitive. Ces deux laboratoires ont une longue expérience de collaborations fructueuses, notamment dans le domaine du traitement du langage, chez le nourrisson et l'enfant. Ils travaillent de plus en lien étroit avec les centres hospitaliers de Grenoble et Lyon et l'Institut National des Jeunes Sourds de Chambéry, ce qui sera un atout pour l'accès aux enfants avec déficience auditive.
Un séjour in-doc de 6 mois est prévu au cours de la thèse à l'Université de Leeds et aux Bradford Teaching Hospitals (UK). Ceci permettra au·à la doctorant·e d'élargir ses perspectives sur les méthodes et dispositifs d'intervention dans diverses situations d'éducation et dans différents pays et de bénéficier d'une expérience plus concrète d'échanges avec les personnes porteuses de déficience auditive et leur entourage.

On en parle sur Twitter !