By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Dual innovative nano-catalytic membranes: CO2 capture and intensified transformation into molecules of interest (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5069-DANPLA-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Supervisor: Montserrat Gómez. Co-supervisors: Daniel Pla, Jean-Christophe Remigy and Jean-François Lahitte.
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The development of efficient chemical processes to transform greenhouse gases (GHGs) remains a challenge for the scientific community and new strategies are required, in particular involving innovative catalytic processes for their transformation into value-added products. CO2 capture technologies are currently well identified despite their associated energy cost remains significant. This thesis project aims to train a high-level doctoral student in a multidisciplinary subject such as the transformation of CO2 into products of pharmacological interest based on the experience in the design of nano-catalysts[1] and polymer membranes from the laboratories involved in the project,[2] LHFA and LGC.
Thus, this project aims at the design of an innovative catalytic system made of polymeric membranes presenting dual properties: CO2 capture (thanks to polyamine functionalized membranes) and its reactivity with organic substrates (leveraged by immobilized metallic nanoparticles (MNP) on these membranes).[3] By taking into account the constraints of the chemical reaction together with its related heat and matter transfer processes, we aim to develop a Hollow Fiber Catalytic Membrane Contactor (HFCMC), a new energy-efficient technology, reaching a high production capacity for the transformation of CO2 into heterocycles of interest for fine chemistry applications, especially in the pharmaceutical sector. For the design of an efficient catalytic membrane reactor, MNPs immobilized in a grafted polymer gel will be used, especially those from abundant metals.

We target the synthesis of oxazolid(in)ones whose interest for the synthesis of drugs (antibiotics: linezolid,[4] posizolid; anticoagulants: rivaroxaban) is paramount. For this, we propose the study of the reactivity of aziridines and propargyl derivatives, using CO2, which will be activated by polymeric amines grafted on the membrane in the presence of Lewis acid type catalysts (such as Cu, Co, Ni), in order to improve the reactivity of the reagents while controlling the selectivity of the processes (chemo and regioselectivity). This approach shall avoid the use of expensive reagents based on halogens or epoxides, offering thus far a limited range of substrates and conditions. Similarly, stereo-selective hydrogenations catalyzed by MNPs (M = Ni, Pd, Pt) are envisaged for the synthesis of saturated heterocycles,[5] key steps for the preparation of drugs. The catalytic systems based on catalytic membranes will be characterized by conventional techniques (IR, SEM, TEM, ICP, TGA), as well as by analytical techniques used for the evaluation of catalytic reactions (GC, HPLC, MS, NMR).


References
[1] a) I. Favier, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Chem. Rev. 2020, 120, 1146; b) G. Garg, S. Foltran, I. Favier, D. Pla, Y. Medina-González, M. Gómez, Catal. Today 2019, doi: 10.1016/j.cattod.2019.01.052; c) I. Favier, M.-L. Toro, P. Lecante, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Catal. Sci. Technol. 2018, 8, 4766; d) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017, 359, 2832; e) A. Reina, I. Favier, E. Teuma, M. Gómez, AIChE J. 2019, 65:e16752, 11 pp; f) A. Reina, I. Favier, C. Pradel, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2018, 360, 3544; g) A. Reina, A. Serrano-Maldonado, E. Teuma, E. Martin, M. Gómez, Catal. Commun. 2018, 104, 22.
[2] a) Y. Gu, I. Favier, C. Pradel, D. L. Gin, J.-F. Lahitte, R. D. Noble, M. Gómez, J.-C. Remigy, J. Membr. Sci. 2015, 492, 331; b) Y. Gu, P. Bacchin, J. F. Lahitte, J. C. Remigy, I. Favier, M. Gómez, D. L. Gin, R. D. Noble, AIChE J. 2017, 63, 698; c) M. López-Viveros, I. Favier, M. Gómez, J.-F. Lahitte, J.-C. Remigy, Catal. Today 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.cattod.2020.04.027.
[3] Z.-Z. Yang, L.-N. He, S.-Y. Peng, A.-H. Liu, Green Chem. 2010, 12, 1850.
[4] M. G. Russell, T. F. Jamison, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2019, 58, 7678.
[5] E. Klabunovskii, G. V. Smith, Á. Zsigmond, Heterogeneous enantioselective hydrogenation, Vol. 31, Springer, 2007.

Work Context

This project will be developed in Toulouse as part of the ongoing collaboration between LHFA and LGC since 2012; it will be funded by the CNRS (Mission for Cross-cutting and Interdisciplinary Initiatives, MITI). This thesis project provides a multidisciplinary training in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. Thus, the candidate is expected to achieve a solid formation in green chemistry and intensification of sustainable processes for pursuing his/her research career, whether in an academic framework or in industry. For more information, visit: http://www.lhfa.cnrs.fr/ ; http://lgc.cnrs.fr/

Constraints and risks

There are no particular risks or constraints for this job, other than the standard ones corresponding to an experimental laboratory of synthesis, catalysis and chemical engineering. General and specific safety trainings (related to the work to be developed) are implemented.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Membranes nano-catalytiques innovantes duales : Capture et transformation intensifiée du CO2 en molécules d'intérêt (H/F) - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5069-DANPLA-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mardi 28 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Directeur de thèse : Montserrat Gómez. Co-encadrants : Daniel Pla, Jean-Christophe Remigy et Jean-François Lahitte.
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le développement de procédés chimiques efficaces pour transformer les gaz à effet serre (GES) reste un défi pour la communauté scientifique et de nouvelles stratégies sont requises, en particulier impliquant des procédés catalytiques innovants pour la transformation des GES en produits à valeur ajoutée. Les technologies de capture du CO2 sont actuellement bien identifiées mais le coût énergétique associé reste important. Ce projet de thèse vise à former un(e) doctorant(e) de haut niveau dans un sujet multidisciplinaire concernant la conversion du CO2 en produits d'intérêt pharmacologique sur la base de l'expérience dans le design de nano-catalyseurs[1] et de membranes polymériques des laboratoires impliqués dans le projet,[2] le LHFA et le LGC.
Ainsi, ce projet vise la conception d'un système catalytique innovant constitué de membranes polymériques présentant des propriétés duales : capture du CO2 (grâce à la fonctionnalisation des membranes par des polyamines) et réactivité du CO2 avec des substrats organiques (grâce aux nanoparticules métalliques (MNP) immobilisées dans ces membranes).[3] En prenant en compte les contraintes liées à la réaction chimique et aux transferts de matière et de chaleur, l'objectif est de développer un Contacteur Membranaire Catalytique à Fibres Creuses (CMCFC), nouvelle technologie économe en énergie, atteignant une capacité de production importante pour la transformation du CO2 en hétérocycles d'intérêt pour des applications en Chimie Fine, notamment dans le secteur pharmaceutique. Pour la conception d'un réacteur membranaire catalytique performant, des MNP immobilisées dans un gel de polymère greffé seront utilisées, tout en privilégiant les métaux peu onéreux.

Nous ciblons la synthèse d'oxazolid(in)ones dont l'intérêt pour la synthèse de médicaments (antibiotiques : linézolide,[4] posizolide ; anticoagulants : rivaroxaban) est évident. Pour cela, nous proposons l'étude de la réactivité des aziridines et des dérivés propargyliques, en utilisant du CO2, qui sera activé par les amines polymériques greffées sur la membrane, en présence de catalyseurs de type acide de Lewis (comme le Cu, Co, Ni), afin d'améliorer la réactivité des réactifs et également contrôler la sélectivité des processus (chimio- et régio-sélectivité). Cette approche évite l'utilisation de réactifs coûteux à base d'halogènes ou d'époxydes avec une portée de substrats et de conditions limitées. De même, des hydrogénations stéréo-sélectives catalysées par des MNPs (M = Ni, Pd, Pt) sont envisagées pour la synthèse d'hétérocycles saturés,[5] étapes clés pour la préparation de certains médicaments. Les systèmes catalytiques à base de membranes catalytiques seront caractérisés par les techniques conventionnelles (IR, SEM, TEM, ICP, TGA), ainsi que par des techniques analytiques employées pour l'évaluation des réactions catalytiques (GC, HPLC, MS, NMR).


Références
[1] a) I. Favier, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Chem. Rev. 2020, 120, 1146; b) G. Garg, S. Foltran, I. Favier, D. Pla, Y. Medina-González, M. Gómez, Catal. Today 2019, doi: 10.1016/j.cattod.2019.01.052; c) I. Favier, M.-L. Toro, P. Lecante, D. Pla, M. Gómez, Catal. Sci. Technol. 2018, 8, 4766; d) T. Dang-Bao, C. Pradel, I. Favier, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017, 359, 2832; e) A. Reina, I. Favier, E. Teuma, M. Gómez, AIChE J. 2019, 65:e16752, 11 pp; f) A. Reina, I. Favier, C. Pradel, M. Gómez, Adv. Synth. Catal. 2018, 360, 3544; g) A. Reina, A. Serrano-Maldonado, E. Teuma, E. Martin, M. Gómez, Catal. Commun. 2018, 104, 22.
[2] a) Y. Gu, I. Favier, C. Pradel, D. L. Gin, J.-F. Lahitte, R. D. Noble, M. Gómez, J.-C. Remigy, J. Membr. Sci. 2015, 492, 331; b) Y. Gu, P. Bacchin, J. F. Lahitte, J. C. Remigy, I. Favier, M. Gómez, D. L. Gin, R. D. Noble, AIChE J. 2017, 63, 698; c) M. López-Viveros, I. Favier, M. Gómez, J.-F. Lahitte, J.-C. Remigy, Catal. Today 2020, doi: 10.1016/j.cattod.2020.04.027.
[3] Z.-Z. Yang, L.-N. He, S.-Y. Peng, A.-H. Liu, Green Chem. 2010, 12, 1850.
[4] M. G. Russell, T. F. Jamison, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2019, 58, 7678.
[5] E. Klabunovskii, G. V. Smith, Á. Zsigmond, Heterogeneous enantioselective hydrogenation, Vol. 31, Springer, 2007.

Contexte de travail

Ce projet sera développé à Toulouse dans le cadre de la collaboration que les deux laboratoires, LHFA et LGC, maintiennent depuis 2012 ; il sera financé par le CNRS (Mission pour les Initiatives Transverses et Interdisciplinaires, MITI). Cette thèse offre au/à la candidat/e une formation multidisciplinaire à la frontière entre la Chimie et le Génie Chimique, qui débouchera sur un(e) docteur capable de s'intégrer dans des laboratoires de recherche, que ce soit dans le milieu universitaire ou l'industrie dans des domaines interdisciplinaires d'intérêt tels que la chimie verte et l'intensification des procédés durables. Pour plus de renseignements, visitez : http://www.lhfa.cnrs.fr/ ; http://lgc.cnrs.fr/

Contraintes et risques

Pour la réalisation de ce travail de thèse, il n'y a pas de risques ou contraintes particulières, autres que les classiques d'un laboratoire expérimental de synthèse, catalyse et génie chimique. Des formations de sécurité génerales et spécifiques au travail à développer sont mises en place.

On en parle sur Twitter !