By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD candidate - Remote sensing of aerosol properties with current and future European geostationary satellites - M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR3589-FRACEA-002
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, May 18, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Xavier Ceamanos (CNRM) et Jean-Luc Attié (LA)
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The actions of nature and man give rise to the injection of fine particles of different origins in the lower layers of the atmosphere. These particles, called aerosols, are of great importance in topics related to climate, numerical weather prediction, defense, the energy industry or air transport. For example, aerosols have an impact on the radiative balance of the earth due to their absorption and scattering of solar radiation incident on the earth. This extinction of radiation will be more or less important depending on the content and chemical composition of the particles, which can range from desert dust to carbon particles emanating from anthropogenic pollution or forest fires. For example, it is known that different types of aerosols can have a warming or cooling effect on the planet because of their different optical properties (Russell et al., 2002).

Uncertainties related to the spatial distribution and the impacts of the different classes of aerosols still exist today (Boucher et al., 2014). These uncertainties become especially important in the case of extreme events such as sandstorms, biomass fires or pollution episodes. These events are linked to strong impacts and are likely to evolve in the future. For example, the trends estimated today result in a decrease in dust storms (Evan et al., 2016) but an increase in biomass fires (Keywood et al., 2013), which would accelerate global warming.

In this context, there is today the need to detect, characterize and map the different types of aerosols at fine spatial and temporal scales. Passive spatial remote sensing operating in the visible and near infrared can provide this information through the use of inversion methods. These mathematical methods are often applied by considering predefined types of aerosols that group together average families of particles. However, the great heterogeneity of aerosols and the presence of mixtures of several types of particles can invalidate the use of these predefined types, which are defined by average optical properties.

During the past decade, the CNRM has developed expertise on the retrieval of the daily-averaged Aerosol Optical Thickness (AOD), which is closely related to aerosol content (Carrer et al., 2010 and 2014). The inversion method developed as part of this work was applied to the observations of the SEVIRI imager aboard the Meteosat Second Generation (MSG) satellite of the EUMETSAT agency. Currently, the CNRM is working on the retrieval at the frequency of SEVIRI (i.e. every 15 minutes) in order to have access to the diurnal cycle of the AOD. However, it is nowadays difficult to provide detailed information on other optical properties related to the chemical composition of these particles, whereas it is often necessary to correctly estimate the AOD.

The work to be conducted in this PhD aims to answer the following questions. Which information regarding aerosol composition can be determined from space? Is it possible to retrieve the optical properties that are related to the nature of aerosol particles (e.g., single scattering albedo or asymmetry parameter) and track their evolution in time and space? This study will be based on observations provided by the European geostationary platforms Meteosat, which allow aerosol tracking at a fine time scale. Initial work showing the potential of geostationary satellites for the restitution of aerosol properties other than AOD already exists (Yoshida et al., 2018, Luffarelli and Govaerts, 2019). One of the originalities of the proposed work is to rely on the current mission MSG to investigate the contribution of the future mission Meteosat Third Generation (MTG), which will be equipped with the FCI imager and which should make possible a better characterization of aerosols (Aoun, 2016, Descheemaecker et al., 2018).

Full details on the PhD topic can be found here: http://www.adum.fr/script/downloadfile.pl?ID=29832&type=78

Work Context

CNRM (Université de Toulouse, Météo-France, CNRS), Toulouse, France

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant - Apport des satellites géostationnaires européens actuels et futurs pour l'étude des aérosols atmosphériques - H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR3589-FRACEA-002
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 18 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Xavier Ceamanos (CNRM) et Jean-Luc Attié (LA)
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les actions de la nature et de l'homme donnent lieu à l'injection de particules fines d'origines très diverses dans les basses couches de l'atmosphère. Ces particules, appelées aérosols, sont d'une très grande importance dans des sujets liés aux climat, la prévision numérique du temps, la défense, l'industrie de l'énergie ou le transport aérien. Par exemple, les aérosols ont un impact sur le bilan radiatif de la terre du fait de leur absorption et diffusion du rayonnement solaire incident sur la terre. Cette extinction du rayonnement sera plus ou moins importante selon le contenu en particules et leur composition chimique (c.-à-d. la spéciation), qui peut aller des poussières désertiques aux particules carbonées émanant de la pollution anthropique ou des feux de forêts. Il est connu par exemple que les différents types d'aérosols peuvent avoir un effet de réchauffement ou de refroidissement de la planète à cause de leurs propriétés optiques différentes (Russell et al., 2002).

Des incertitudes liées à la distribution spatiale et les impacts des grandes classes d'aérosols existent encore aujourd'hui (Boucher et al., 2014). Ces incertitudes deviennent spécialement importantes dans le cas d'événements extrêmes comme les tempêtes de sable, les feux de biomasse ou les épisodes de pollution. Ces événements sont liés à des forts impacts et sont susceptibles d'évoluer dans le futur. Par exemple, les tendances estimées aujourd'hui donnent une diminution des tempêtes de poussière (Evan et al., 2016) mais une augmentation des feux de biomasse (Keywood et al., 2013), ce qui entraînerait une accélération du réchauffement de la terre.

Dans ce contexte il existe aujourd'hui le besoin de détecter, de caractériser et de cartographier les différents types d'aérosols aux fines échelles spatiale et temporelle. La télédétection spatiale passive opérant dans le visible et le proche infrarouge est en mesure de fournir ces informations grâce à l'utilisation de méthodes mathématiques dites d'inversion. Ces méthodes sont souvent opérées en considérant des types d'aérosols prédéfinis qui regroupent les grandes familles de particules. Or la grande hétérogénéité des aérosols et la présence de mélanges de plusieurs types de particules peuvent invalider l'utilisation de ces types prédéfinis associés à des propriétés optiques moyennes.

Durant la dernière décennie, le CNRM a développé une expertise sur la restitution au pas de temps journalier de l'épaisseur optique des aérosols (AOD en anglais), qui est étroitement liée au contenu en aérosol (Carrer et al., 2010 et 2014). La méthode d'inversion développée dans le cadre de ce travail a été appliquée sur les observations de l'imageur SEVIRI à bord du satellite Meteosat Seconde Génération (MSG) de l'agence EUMETSAT. Actuellement, le CNRM travaille sur la restitution à la fréquence de SEVIRI (c.-à-d. toutes les 15 minutes) afin d'avoir accès au cycle diurne des aérosols. Toutefois il est aujourd'hui difficile de fournir des informations détaillées sur la spéciation de ces particules, alors qu'elles sont souvent nécessaires pour estimer correctement l'AOD.

La thèse a pour objectif de répondre aux questions suivantes. A quel point est-il possible de déterminer la spéciation des aérosols depuis l'espace ? Est-il possible de restituer leurs propriétés optiques (p. ex., l'albédo de simple diffusion ou le paramètre d'asymétrie) et de suivre leur évolution dans le temps et l'espace ? Cette étude sera basée sur les observations fournies par les plateformes géostationnaires européennes Meteosat qui permettent le suivi des aérosols à une échelle de temps fine. Des premiers travaux montrant le potentiel des satellites géostationnaires pour la restitution de la spéciation existent (Yoshida et al., 2018 ; Luffarelli et Govaerts, 2019). Une des originalités du travail proposé est de s'appuyer sur la mission actuelle MSG pour investiguer l'apport de la future mission Meteosat Troisième Génération (MTG), qui sera équipée avec l'imageur FCI et qui devrait rendre possible une meilleure caractérisation des aérosols (Aoun, 2016 ; Descheemaecker et al., 2018).

Sujet complet ici : http://www.umr-cnrm.fr/IMG/pdf/these_2020_cnrm_gmme_ceamanos_aerosols.pdf

Contexte de travail

CNRM (Université de Toulouse, Météo-France, CNRS), Toulouse, France

On en parle sur Twitter !