By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UPR2940-ELOBER-003 - Post-doctorat en Matière condensée - Nouveaux supraconducteurs à haute température critique H/F

Post-doc Opening in Condensed Matter Physics: Novel high-temperature superconductors

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR2940-ELOBER-003
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 September 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2617.05 € and 3017.31 € monthly gross salary (according to experience)
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Among many other applications, high-temperature superconducting materials hold great promise for energy saving and storage and for reducing our carbon footprint. However, a major challenge for the actual take-off of an everyday superconducting technology lies in the discovery of appropriate materials, not only with high superconducting transition temperatures (Tc) but also, and very importantly, obtained from abundant and non-toxic raw elements.

In 2006, the discovery of superconductivity in the Fe-based compound LaFePO supplied new exciting opportunities in this field [1]. The initial Tc of 5 K in LaFePO and 8 K in FeSe was soon enhanced by means of chemical substitution (to 26 K in F-doped LaOFeAs, and 55 K in F-doped SmFeAsO) and pressure (37 K in FeSe), and has been reported to reach 100 K in single-layer FeSe on doped SrTiO3. In this outstanding class of unconventional superconductors, however, the Fe atom is invariably associated to pnictogen or chalcogen elements (P, As and Se, S, Te respectively). This circumstance raises the important fundamental question about the link between Fe-based superconductivity and the apparent need of these elements. At the same time, to escape from harmful and comparatively scarce elements such as As and Se is highly desirable so that actual applications of Fe-based superconducting materials can be promoted.

Recently, we have discovered superconductivity in the novel silicide LaFeSiH with superconducting onset at 11 K [2]. This unprecedented material is the first silicide in the family of Fe-based superconductors that surpasses traditional pnictide and chalcogenide compounds. Thus, it represents a major breakthrough in the field and the basis of the ANR project IROMAN that will fund this postdoc position. IRONMAN is an ambitious multi-partner project between the CNRS labs Institut NEEL (Grenoble), ICMCB (Bordeaux) and CRISMAT (Caen). The candidate will play a central role in the project, as he/she will determine experimentally at Institut NEEL the interesting physical properties of the novel LaFeSiH-like materials that will be synthetized for the first time in the framework of this project. This will define a radically new playground to understand the rich physics of the Fe-based superconductors and promote future applications.

[1] See H. Alloul and A. Cano, Special issue on Iron-based superconductors, C. R. Phys. 17, 1 (2016), and the references therein for recent reviews.
[2] F. Bernardini, G. Garbarino, A. Sulpice, M. Núñez-Regueiro, E. Gaudin, B. Chevalier, M.-A. Méasson, A. Cano, and S. Tencé, Iron-based superconductivity extended to the novel silicide LaFeSiH, PRB 97, 100504(R) (2018).

Activities

- Electrical resistivity measurements (submillimeter samples, also under pressure).
- Magnetization measurements.
- X-ray and neutron diffraction.

Skills

We are looking for a passionate of superconductivity willing to undertake the challenge of the experimental investigation of a completely new family of high-temperature unconventional superconductors. The successful candidate is expected to have a strong background in condensed matter physics and materials science, and ideally some experience in high-temperature superconductivity. He/she should master, in particular, electrical resistivity and magnetization measurements with experience on contact assembly on submillimeter samples, either manually or by nanofabrication methods. Additional experience in X-ray and/or neutron diffraction will be helpful for the project, and familiarity with high-pressure measurement techniques and/or Raman spectroscopy will be a plus. Beyond that, the candidate is expected to be autonomous, able to take initiative, and ease with scientific writing.

Work Context

The project will take place at the Institut NEEL in Grenoble, an internationally recognized laboratory for its expertise in condensed matter physics and materials science. The candidate will be in close contact with researchers that are experts in the field. This study is part of the ANR project IRONMAN (Novel As/Se-free Iron-based Superconductors) and will be carried out in close collaboration with crystallographers CRISMAT (Caen), the chemists of the Institute of Chemistry of Condensed Matter of Bordeaux (ICMCB) and the theory group at Institute NEEL.

Constraints and risks

.

Additional Information

Keywords: Quantum materials, Superconductivity, Magnetism.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UPR2940-ELOBER-003 - Post-doctorat en Matière condensée - Nouveaux supraconducteurs à haute température critique H/F

Post-doctorat en Matière condensée - Nouveaux supraconducteurs à haute température critique H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR2940-ELOBER-003
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : mercredi 27 mars 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 septembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2617,05 € et 3017,31 € brut selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Parmi de nombreuses autres applications, les matériaux supraconducteurs à haute température critique sont très prometteurs pour l'économie d'énergie, le stockage et la réduction de notre empreinte carbone. Cependant, un défi majeur pour le lancement d'une technologie supraconductrice de tous les jours réside dans la découverte de matériaux appropriés, non seulement avec une température de transition supraconductrice élevée (Tc), mais également et surtout, obtenues à partir d'éléments bruts abondants et non toxiques.

En 2006, la découverte de la supraconductivité dans le composé à base de Fe, LaFePO, a ouvert de nouvelles perspectives intéressantes dans ce domaine [1]. La Tc initiale de 5 K dans LaFePO et de 8 K dans FeSe a été rapidement augmentée par substitution chimique (à 26 K dans LaOFeAs dopé F et à 55 K dans SmFeAsO dopé F) et par pression (37 K dans FeSe), et elle atteint 100 K dans des monocouches de FeSe déposées sur du SrTiO3 dopé. Dans cette classe exceptionnelle de supraconducteurs non conventionnels, cependant, l'atome de Fe est invariablement associé à des éléments pnictogènes ou chalcogènes (P, As et Se, S, Te, respectivement). Cette circonstance soulève l'importante question fondamentale du lien entre la supraconductivité à base de Fe et le besoin apparent de ces éléments. Par ailleurs, il est hautement souhaitable de pouvoir échapper à des éléments nuisibles et relativement rares, tels que As et Se, afin de promouvoir les applications effectives de matériaux supraconducteurs à base de Fe.

Récemment, nous avons découvert la supraconductivité dans le nouveau siliciure LaFeSiH avec une température de 11 K [2]. Ce matériau sans précédent est le premier siliciure de la famille des supraconducteurs à base de Fe. Cela représente donc une avancée majeure dans le domaine des supraconducteurs à base de Fer et la base du projet ANR IROMAN qui financera ce poste post-doc. IRONMAN est un projet multi-partenaires ambitieux entre les laboratoires du CNRS Institut NEEL (Grenoble), ICMCB (Bordeaux) et CRISMAT (Caen). Le candidat jouera un rôle central dans le projet, car il mesurera expérimentalement à l'Institut NEEL les propriétés physiques intéressantes des nouveaux matériaux de type LaFeSiH qui seront synthétisés pour la première fois dans le cadre de ce projet. Cela définira un terrain de jeu radicalement nouveau pour comprendre la physique riche des supraconducteurs à base de Fe et promouvoir les applications futures.

[1] See H. Alloul and A. Cano, Special issue on Iron-based superconductors, C. R. Phys. 17, 1 (2016), and the references therein for recent reviews.
[2] Bernardini, Garbarino, Sulpice, Núñez-Regueiro, Gaudin, Chevalier, Méasson, Cano, Tencé, Physical Review B 97, 100504(R) (2018).

Activités

Il / elle devrait maîtriser, en particulier, les mesures de résistivité électrique et de magnétisation avec une expérience en assemblage de contacts sur des échantillons submillimétriques, manuellement ou par des méthodes de nanofabrication. Une expérience supplémentaire en diffraction des rayons X et / ou des neutrons sera utile au projet, et une connaissance des techniques de mesure à haute pression et / ou de spectroscopie Raman sera un atout. Au-delà, le candidat doit être autonome, capable de prendre des initiatives et être familier avec la rédaction scientifique.

Compétences

Nous recherchons un passionné de supraconductivité prêt à relever le défi de la recherche expérimentale d'une toute nouvelle famille de supraconducteurs non conventionnels à haute température critique. Le candidat retenu devra avoir une solide expérience en physique de la matière condensée et en science des matériaux et, idéalement, familier avec les concepts de la supraconductivité à haute température critique.

Contexte de travail

Le projet se déroulera à l'Institut NEEL de Grenoble, un laboratoire internationalement reconnu pour son expertise en physique du solide, sciences des matériaux et basses températures. Le candidat sera en lien avec plusieurs expérimentateurs chacun expert d'une technique expérimentale. Cette étude entre dans le cadre du projet ANR IRONMAN (Nouveaux supraconducteurs à base de fer sans As/Se) et se fera donc en étroite collaboration avec les cristallographes du CRISMAT (Caen), les chimistes de l'Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Bordeaux (ICMCB), et les théoriciens de l'Institut NEEL.

Contraintes et risques

.

Informations complémentaires

Mots clés : matériaux quantiques, supraconductivité, magnétisme.

On en parle sur Twitter !