By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8607-CATZOM-001 - POST-DOCTORANT-E JUNO H/F - M/F

POST-DOCTORAL POSITION JUNO H/F - M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8607-CATZOM-001
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Friday, August 02, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2695 euros à 3841 euros gross monthly depending on experience.
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The JUNO-LAL team offers a post-doc position for fundamental research studies in neutrino physics within the JUNO experiment.
The JUNO-LAL team consists of 2 permanent physicists (M. Bongrand and A. Cabrera) and 1 PhD student. The team has led the conception and contributes to the implementation of the “dual-calorimetry” system (independent readout of 25,000 3” PMTs and electronics). This system is also called “Small PMT” (SPMT) within JUNO. Today's main activities are focused on the final validation stage of the hardware performance expecting production during 2020. A small detector prototype (“JINO”) is under design for final validation of the entire system to be installed at LAL. In addition, we are involved in the preparation of the physics analyses towards the measurement of θ12 and δm2 (the so called “solar oscillation” parameters) as well as the novel “dual-calorimetry” implementation for the detector calibration. All activities are developed in tight international collaboration with the Americas, Asia and Europe institutions. A. Cabrera is responsible of SPMT system as well as some of the physics related efforts.

Activities

The successful candidate is expected to:
•take leading role in physics analyses in neutrino physics for JUNO.
•take critical part in the JINO operations.
•participate in dual-calorimetry development and studies.
•(depending on role) participate in publications writeup — there are several publications envisaged in the following 2 years.
•take initiative for other possible physics cases and/or techniques for the control of systematics in JUNO final analysis.
•take active role to supervise possible PhD and undergraduate students, when available.
•take active role in the JUNO international collaboration science and collaboration effort.

Skills

Expected Skills:
• A PhD level in particle physics — priority will be provided to neutrino specialised experts.
• Reactor neutrino experience is particularly welcome.
• Proficiency on modern PP techniques for data analysis (ROOT, etc) and instrumentation are particularly handed.
• Geant4 simulation skills and knowledge will be advantageous.
• English proficiency is critical — international team and context.
• International collaboration communication and management.
• Problem solving skills and critical judgement.
• Team work spirit.

Work Context

The successful candidate will be working within the JUNO-LAL team — recognised expertise in the topic — as well as within the national and international team in JUNO. The LAL laboratory is a recognised institution in particle physics in France with technical and physics resources and expertise.
The JUNO experiment is one of the largest experiments in neutrino oscillation physics with leading sensitivity to several of the neutrino oscillation parameters such as δm2, θ12 and |Δm2| and unique insight to the atmospheric mass ordering (i.e. the sign of ±Δm2). An interesting “shape-only” based cross-check measurement of θ13 is also possible. In addition, given the large size of the detector (20 kilotons), JUNO is considered one of the most sensitive detectors to supernova and geo neutrinos as well as proton decay. Some sensitivity (under active investigation) to solar and atmospheric neutrinos might be possible too.
The research here proposed will be carried out within the JUNO international framework based in LAL with frequent visits to China and/or other countries within the collaboration (Asia and Europe). The main goal is provide leading scientific contributions to JUNO scientific agenda under development and/or novel pertinent ideas, if possible.

Constraints and risks

Some of the work will take place in the laboratories work linked to JINO operations.
Several travels to China and other collaboration countries (Italy, Russia, USA, etc) are foreseen.

Additional Information

IMPORTANT: this post-doctorate position is also offered to recent PhD graduates.
To apply, please send a letter containing a short research summary, a CV with a list of publications.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8607-CATZOM-001 - POST-DOCTORANT-E JUNO H/F - M/F

POST-DOCTORANT-E JUNO H/F - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8607-CATZOM-001
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : vendredi 2 août 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2695 euros à 3841 euros bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

L'équipe JUNO-LAL propose un CDD chercheur pour des études de recherche fondamentale en physique des neutrinos avec l'expérience JUNO.
L'équipe JUNO-LAL est composée de 2 physiciens permanents (M. Bongrand et A. Cabrera) et d'un doctorant. L'équipe a dirigé la conception et la mise en œuvre du système de “dual-calorimétrie” de JUNO (lecture indépendante de 25 000 PMTs de 3 pouces et électronique) et de la physique associée. Ce système est également appelé "Small PMT" (SPMT) dans JUNO. Aujourd'hui, les principales activités se concentrent sur l'étape finale de validation de la performance du « hardware », dont la production est prévue pour 2020. Un 1.5 ton prototype de détecteur (" JINO ") est en cours de conception pour la validation finale du système. Il sera installé au LAL. De plus, l'équipe est impliquée dans la préparation de l'analyse physique en vue de la mesure des paramètres θ12 et δm2 (les paramètres dits "d'oscillation solaire") ainsi que dans la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle technique de “dual calorimétrie” pour la calibration du détecteur JUNO. Toutes les activités sont développées en étroite collaboration internationale avec les institutions américaines, asiatiques et européennes. A. Cabrera est responsable du système SPMT ainsi que de la physique associée.

Activités

- jouer un rôle de premier plan dans les analyses en physique des neutrinos à travers l'expérience JUNO.
- être fortement impliqué dans les études de JINO.
- participer au développement et aux études de la dual calorimétrie.
- participer à la rédaction de publications où le LAL a joué un rôle important - plusieurs publications sont prévues dans les 2 années à venir.
- être à l'initiative sur d'autres analyses et/ou techniques de physique possibles pour un meilleur contrôle de la systématique dans l'analyse finale du JUNO.
- participer activement à la supervision d'éventuels étudiants en doctorat et de second cycle, le cas échéant.
- prendre des responsabilités dans la collaboration JUNO à l'échelle internationale.

Compétences

- Un doctorat en physique des particules (PP) - la priorité sera accordée à l'expertise en physique de neutrinos.
- L'expérience en matière de neutrinos de réacteurs est particulièrement bienvenue.
- Maîtrise des techniques modernes de PP pour l'analyse des données (ROOT, etc.) et l'instrumentation sont particulièrement soignées.
- Les compétences et connaissances en simulation de Geant4 seront les bienvenues.
- La maîtrise de l'anglais est exigée — équipe dans un contexte international.
- Communication et gestion de la collaboration internationale.
- Aptitudes à la résolution de problèmes et jugements critiques, ainsi qu'un esprit d'équipe.

Contexte de travail

Le candidat(e) retenu(e) travaillera au sein de l'équipe JUNO-LAL - experts reconnus dans le champ de la physique des neutrinos - ainsi qu'au sein de l'équipe nationale et internationale de JUNO. Le LAL est un laboratoire de physique des particules reconnu en France pour sa grande expertise dans les domaines techniques et de la physique.
L'expérience JUNO est l'une des plus grandes expériences au monde dans le domaine de la physique des oscillations de neutrinos, avec une sensibilité unique à plusieurs des paramètres d'oscillations des neutrinos comme δm2, θ12 et |Δm2| et une mesure de l'ordre des masses atmosphériques (±Δm2). Un intéressant recoupement (via l'information de forme) des mesures de θ13 est également possible. De plus, étant donné la grande taille du détecteur (20 kilotonnes), JUNO est considéré comme l'un des détecteurs les plus sensibles aux supernovae et aux géo neutrinos ainsi qu'à la désintégration du proton. Une certaine sensibilité (en cours d'étude) aux neutrinos solaires et atmosphériques pourrait être possible.
La recherche proposée ici sera menée dans le cadre international de JUNO, avec de fréquents séjours en Chine et/ou dans d'autres pays dans le cadre de la collaboration. L'objectif principal est de fournir des contributions scientifiques de premier plan au programme scientifique du JUNO en cours d'élaboration et/ou si possible de nouvelles idées pertinentes.

Contraintes et risques

Une fraction de travail se fera dans les laboratoires liés aux opérations du JINO.
Plusieurs missions sont à prévoir en Chine et dans les pays de la collaboration de JUNO (Italie, Russie, USA, etc.).

Informations complémentaires

IMPORTANT : ce poste est aussi proposé aux titulaires d'un doctorat de moins d'un an.
Pour postuler, veuillez envoyer une lettre d'accompagnement contenant un court relevé de recherche, un CV avec la liste des publications.

On en parle sur Twitter !