By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR7585-MARCAR-010 - Position postdoctorale (H/F) IN2P3 dans les expériences H.E.S.S. et CTA au LPNHE Paris

IN2P3 Postdoctoral Position in the H.E.S.S. and CTA experiments at LPNHE Paris

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7585-MARCAR-010
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Monday, April 20, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2617 and 3017 € gross monthly
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The H.E.S.S./CTA team at LPNHE is involved in data analysis of the H.E.S.S. experiment, and notably in the study of the high energy emission from extragalactic sources, such as active galactic nuclei (AGN), and of their variability. The team participates in campaigns of target of opportunity (ToO) observations and in multi-wavelength monitoring duties to trigger such ToO campaigns. The group is also involved in the search for a potential violation of Lorentz invariance by using data from variable AGN, gamma-ray bursts – recently detected at very high energies – and pulsars. These studies are performed by comparing the photon arrival times to search for energy-dependent temporal delays. The group is particularly active on this subject within a working group which brings together the three major ground-based gamma-ray astronomy experiments, H.E.S.S., MAGIC and VERITAS.

Our activities also include the characterization of the H.E.S.S. instrument response, notably to account for the new, upgraded cameras (H.E.S.S. 1U and NamCam). The needed simulations are essential for any subsequent data analysis.

Likewise, the team is involved in the construction of CTA, the future very high energy observatory, with the development of fast acquiring electronic boards (front-end boards, FEB) which equip NectarCAM, one of the two design concepts proposed for the medium-sized telescopes (MST) of CTA. The FEB is responsible for the low level trigger and data acquisition of NectarCAM. A qualification model of NectarCAM has been built, tested in laboratory as well as during an observation campaign in spring 2019. The team is involved in the calibration of NectarCAM and in the preparation of corresponding analysis tools.

Activities

The successful candidate will contribute to the group activities related to H.E.S.S. data analysis and analysis preparation for CTA. He or she will get involved in the studies related to the calibration of NectarCAM, to the analysis of data already acquired, and to the characterization of the FEB.

For the analysis part, he or she will get involved in the science topics developed in the group, and could also in parallel develop a subject of his or her choice related to the analysis and interpretation of H.E.S.S. data or to the future possibilities offered with CTA.

He or she could commit as well to the characterization of the H.E.S.S. cameras by studying the simulated instrument response, especially for the camera recently installed on the large CT5 telescope.

Skills

The candidate should have a PhD (or equivalent) in high energy astrophysics, obtained no earlier than Fall 2018. Previous experience in gamma-ray astronomy is desirable although not mandatory. A solid experience in C++ and Python programming will be an asset. Some knowledge in data bases would be desirable.

The position is funded by IN2P3 for two years. The starting date is October 1st , 2020 but a later starting date can be considered.

Applications should include a CV with a summary of previous research activities and a statement of interest. Three reference letters should be sent to Jean-Philippe Lenain (jlenain@lpnhe.in2p3.fr) and Julien Bolmont (julien.bolmont@lpnhe.in2p3.fr).
For further information, please contact Jean-Philippe Lenain.

Work Context

LPNHE (Laboratoire de Physique Nucléaire et des Hautes Energies, https://lpnhe.in2p3.fr/) is a laboratory of the IN2P3 (Institut National de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique de Particules), a CNRS institute, and of the universities « Sorbonne Université » and « Université de Paris ». The laboratory is located in Paris (France). It is involved in major particle physics, astroparticle physics and cosmology international collaborations. 130 permanent agents work at LPNHE.

The H.E.S.S./CTA group at LPNHE is currently involved in the simulations and analysis of the H.E.S.S. data, and in the preparation for the future CTA observatory. The group is composed of 2 permanent researchers with a CNRS researcher (J.-P. Lenain) and a “Maître de Conférences” (J. Bolmont), one post-doctoral fellow and two PhD students.

LPNHE is also part of the Île-de-France node (GRIF) of the European Grid Infrastructure (EGI), hosting computing and data storage facilities of intermediate size but contributing significantly to the treatment of simulations for H.E.S.S. and CTA, for instance. Furthermore, membership to the H.E.S.S. collaboration will grant the successful candidate access to the CC-IN2P3 national computing center.

Constraints and risks

Trips are to be planned in France and abroad, notably a 3-week long observation shift on the H.E.S.S. site in Namibia, and possibly a commissioning shift with the first MST of CTA to be deployed at La Palma in the Canary Islands.

Additional Information

The position is funded by IN2P3 for two years. The starting date is October 1st, 2020. An experience of less than two years after the PhD is required.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7585-MARCAR-010 - Position postdoctorale (H/F) IN2P3 dans les expériences H.E.S.S. et CTA au LPNHE Paris

Position postdoctorale (H/F) IN2P3 dans les expériences H.E.S.S. et CTA au LPNHE Paris

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7585-MARCAR-010
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : lundi 20 avril 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2617 et 3017 € bruts mensuels
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Le groupe H.E.S.S./CTA du LPNHE est impliqué dans l'analyse des données de l'expérience H.E.S.S., et notamment dans l'étude de l'émission à hautes énergies de sources extragalactiques, comme les noyaux actifs de galaxies (NAG), et de leur variabilité. Ainsi, le groupe participe aux campagnes d'observation sur des cibles d'opportunité (Target of Opportunity, ToO) ainsi qu'à la surveillance multi-longueurs d'onde pour initier ces campagnes ToO. Le groupe est également impliqué dans la recherche d'une éventuelle violation de l'invariance de Lorentz en utilisant les données variables de NAG, de sursauts gamma – récemment détectés aux très hautes énergies – et de pulsars. Ces études sont réalisées en comparant les temps d'arrivées de photons pour rechercher des écarts temporels dépendants de l'énergie. Le groupe est en particulier impliqué dans un groupe de travail sur ce sujet, réunissant les trois grandes expériences d'astronomie gamma au sol H.E.S.S., MAGIC et VERITAS.

Nos activités portent également sur la caractérisation de la réponse instrumentale de H.E.S.S., en particulier pour la prise en compte des nouvelles caméras (H.E.S.S. 1U et NamCam). Les simulations nécessaires à ces études sont essentielles aux analyses de données.

Le groupe est également impliqué dans la construction de CTA, le futur observatoire aux très hautes énergies, à travers le développement de cartes d'acquisition rapides (FEB, pour Front End Board) équipant NectarCAM, un des deux designs de caméras proposés pour les télescopes de taille moyenne (MST). Cette carte assure le déclenchement de bas niveau et l'acquisition des données de NectarCAM. Un modèle de qualification de NectarCAM a été construit, testé en laboratoire et lors d'une campagne d'observations sur le ciel au printemps 2019. Le groupe est impliqué dans la calibration de NectarCAM et dans la préparation des outils d'analyse associés.

Activités

Le ou la candidate retenu.e s'investira dans les activités du groupe concernant l'analyse des données de H.E.S.S. et la préparation des analyses pour CTA. Il ou elle s'impliquera également dans les études liées à la calibration de NectarCAM, à l'analyse des données déjà acquises, et à la caractérisation des FEB.

Concernant le volet d'analyse, il ou elle s'intégrera dans les thématiques scientifiques développées dans le groupe, et pourra en parallèle également développer un sujet de son choix portant sur l'analyse et l'interprétation des données de H.E.S.S. ou les futures possibilités offertes avec CTA.

Il ou elle pourra aussi s'investir dans la caractérisation des caméras de H.E.S.S. à travers la simulation de la réponse instrumentale, notamment pour la caméra nouvellement installée sur le grand télescope CT5.

Compétences

Le candidat ou la candidate doit avoir un diplôme de doctorat (ou équivalent) en astrophysique des hautes énergies, soutenu au plus tôt à l'automne 2018. Une expérience en astronomie gamma est souhaitée, mais non obligatoire. Une solide connaissance de la programmation C++ et Python est un prérequis important. Une connaissance des bases de données relationnelles, bien que facultative, serait un avantage supplémentaire.

Le contrat postdoctoral est financé par l'IN2P3 pour deux ans. Le démarrage du contrat est le 1er Octobre 2020, mais une date ultérieure peut être envisagée.

Les dossiers de candidatures, comprenant un CV avec un résumé des activités scientifiques précédentes, une lettre de motivation et trois lettres de référence est à envoyer à Jean-Philippe Lenain (jlenain@lpnhe.in2p3.fr) et à Julien Bolmont (julien.bolmont@lpnhe.in2p3.fr).
Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter Jean-Philippe Lenain.

Contexte de travail

Le LPNHE (Laboratoire de Physique Nucléaire et des Hautes Énergies, https://lpnhe.in2p3.fr/) est un laboratoire de l'IN2P3 (Institut National de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique de Particules), un institut du CNRS, et des universités « Sorbonne Université » et « Université de Paris ». Le laboratoire se situe à Paris (France). Il est impliqué dans des collaborations internationales majeures dans les domaines de la physique des particules, des astroparticules et de la cosmologie. Il compte 130 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs et agent administratifs, techniques et ingénieurs permanents.

Actuellement, le groupe H.E.S.S./CTA du LPNHE est impliqué dans l'analyse des données de l'expérience H.E.S.S., dans la préparation de la construction de l'observatoire CTA. Le groupe est composé de deux permanents, dont un chercheur CNRS (J.-P. Lenain) et un maître de conférence (J. Bolmont), un post-doctorant et deux doctorants.

Le LPNHE fait également partie du nœud de la grille européenne (EGI) francilien (GRIF), hébergeant des capacités de calcul et de stockage de taille intermédiaire mais qui contribue significativement notamment aux traitements de simulations de H.E.S.S. et de CTA. De plus, l'appartenance à la collaboration H.E.S.S. garantira à la personne retenue d'avoir accès au centre de calcul national de l'IN2P3 (CC-IN2P3).

Contraintes et risques

Missions prévues en France et à l'étranger, notamment un shift d'observation de 3 semaines sur le site de H.E.S.S. en Namibie, et possiblement un shift pour la mise en service du premier télescope MST de CTA à la Palma dans les îles des Canaries.

Informations complémentaires

Le contrat postdoctoral est financé par l'IN2P3 pour deux ans. Le démarrage du contrat est prévu au 1er Octobre 2020. Une expérience de moins des deux ans après la thèse est demandée.

On en parle sur Twitter !