By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR6252-ALIDOM-002 - Post-doctorat en physique moléculaire (H/F)

Post-doc in molecular physics (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6252-ALIDOM-002
Workplace : CAEN
Date of publication : Monday, March 16, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 20 months
Expected date of employment : 1 June 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : from 3000 to 3700 eur gross monthly according to experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Invesigation of moleculAr growth induced by ion collosions in molecular clusters




The postdoctoral researcher will integrate the Atoms, Molecules and Clusters (AMA) team of CIMAP laboratory - Centre de recherche sur les ions, les matériaux et la photonique (Caen, France). She/he will be involved in the RIN MAGIC project (MoleculAr Growth of carbon-containing molecular clusters induced by Ion Collisions: a new mechanism to form carbonaceous aerosols and grains in space) lead by Dr. Alicja Domaracka and finaced by Normandy Region and FEDER.

The aim of the project is to study particle growth and destruction mechanisms induced by ions colliding with loosely bound carbonaceous molecular clusters (PAH, small hydrocarbon molecules). This requires the development of a novel pump-probe experimental set-up which allows to prepare complex targets and to clearly identify the final reaction products by tandem mass spectrometry (with two ionizing beams: ions as a pump and photons as a probe) based on a Zajfmann trap. The aim is to obtain detailed information (size, structure, stability-lifetime od selected species) of the ion-induced reaction products. The project will benefit strongly from theoretical support (LCPQ, Toulouse and UAM, Madrid) and the availability of different beam lines at the GANIL facility (Grand Accélerateur National d'Ions Lourds, Caen, France).

Her/his mission will be develop a novel experimental set-up based on an electrostatic trap which will be coupled with a gas aggregation source or Even –Lavie valve (to produce molecular clusters) and ion/photon beams. She/he will participate in investigation of ion-induced reactivity within molecular clusters.

Activities

She/he will take part of the design, construction and testing of an electrostatic trap which will coupled with different cluster sources and ion/photon beam beam. She/he will conduct collaborative work with the associated team from the Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel). He/she will also be engaged in the supervision of the undergraduate and PhD students involved in the project. He/she will be implied in the analyses of the data collected during the project and preparation of the articles, reports and publications.

Skills

Required background for postdoctoral positions: PhD in Physics/Chemistry with extensive hands-on experience of mass spectrometry. She/he should have knowledge in ultra-high vacuum systems, production of molecular beams and ion optic simulations. The previous experience with coupling of an ion trap and a laser beam and skills on developing of data processing software will be highly appreciated.

He/she should have strong aptitude in working in a team and within collaborative and multi-disciplinary projects, and present ability to work independently. He/she should speak and write fluently English.

Work Context

This post-doctoral work is founded by the Region Normandy and FEDER and will take place in a deeply collaborative background involving other research teams in France, Spain and Israel. The candidate will be affiliated in CNRS-CIMAP laboratory in Caen, France.
The CIMAP laboratory is a multidisciplinary research laboratory where scientific areas span from ion-matter interaction to materials for lasers, photonics and electronics. The proposed project is related to the research activity of the AMA team which is specialised in studies of relaxation mechanisms of excited molecular systems in the gas phase under ion bombardment (stability, dissociation of molecules and clusters, etc). CIMAP is situated in the proximity of different ion beam lines of GANIL – a unique tool to study ion interactions with matter. Experimental set-ups developed at CIMAP can be used at all available beam energies. Moreover, CIMAP is a user facility which means that local scientists assist external researchers in using the irradiation facilities of GANIL for studies in atomic and molecular collisions, material science, etc.

Caen is located about 250 km west of Paris. It can be reached by car, train or plane; mostly passing through Paris. In addition, connections with England are available via ferry.

Constraints and risks

Short periods of travel within France and abroad can be expected

Additional Information

co-funding FEDER

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR6252-ALIDOM-002 - Post-doctorat en physique moléculaire (H/F)

Post-doctorat en physique moléculaire (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6252-ALIDOM-002
Lieu de travail : CAEN
Date de publication : lundi 16 mars 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 20 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 juin 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 3000 et 3700 eur bruts
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Intitulé de l'offre : Étude de la croissance moléculaire dans des agrégats moléculaires induite par des collisions avec des ions

Le chercheur postdoctoral intégrera l'équipe Atomes, Molécules et Agrégats (AMA) du laboratoire CIMAP - Centre de recherche sur les ions, les matériaux et la photonique (Caen, France). Il/Elle sera impliquée dans le projet MAGIC (MoleculAr Growth of carbon-based cluster clusters induced by Ion Collisions: a new mécanisme to form carbonaceous aérosols and grains in space) dirigé par Alicja Domaracka et financé par la région Normandie.
L'objectif du projet est d'étudier les mécanismes de croissance et de destruction des particules induits par la collision d'ions avec des agrégats moléculaires carbonés faiblement liés (hydrocarbures aromatiques polycyclique, petites molécules d'hydrocarbures). Le projet repose sur une configuration expérimentale originale de type pompe-sonde basée sur un piège électrostatique permettant de préparer des cibles complexes avec le faisceau « pompe » d'ions et d'identifier clairement les produits de réaction finaux par spectrométrie de masse avec le faisceau « sonde » de photons. L'objectif est d'obtenir des informations détaillées (taille, structure, stabilité, durée de vie) des produits de la réaction induite par les ions. Le projet bénéficiera fortement d'un soutien théorique (LCPQ, Toulouse et UAM, Madrid) et de la disponibilité de différentes lignes de faisceaux sur le site du GANIL (Grand Accélérateur National d'Ions Lourds, Caen, France).
Sa mission consistera à développer la nouvelle configuration expérimentale basée sur un piège électrostatique couplé, pour produire des agrégats moléculaires, à une source d'agrégation gazeuse ou à une valve pulsée de type Even –Lavie et aussi couplé aux faisceaux d'ions et de photons. Il/Elle participera à l'étude de la réactivité induite par les ions au sein des agrégats moléculaires.

Activités

Il/Elle participera à la conception, à la construction et aux tests d'un piège électrostatique qui sera couplé à différentes sources d'agrégats moléculaires et aux faisceaux d'ions et de photons. Il/Elle mènera un travail de collaboration avec l'équipe associée du Weizmann Institute of Science (Israël). Il/Elle sera également engagé dans la supervision des étudiants de premier cycle et de doctorat impliqués dans le projet. Il/Elle sera impliqué(e) dans l'analyse des données collectées au cours du projet et à la préparation des articles, rapports et publications.

Compétences

Un doctorat en physique/chimie est exigé. Une expérience pratique approfondie de la spectrométrie de masse sera un atout. Il/Elle devra avoir des connaissances dans les systèmes de vide ultra-élevé, la production de faisceaux moléculaires et les simulations d'optiques ioniques. Une expérience antérieure avec le couplage d'un piège à ions et d'un faisceau laser et des compétences en développement de logiciels de traitement de données seront très appréciées.
Il/Elle doit avoir une forte aptitude à travailler en équipe et dans des projets collaboratifs et multidisciplinaires, mais aussi présenter une capacité à travailler de manière indépendante. Il/Elle doit parler et écrire couramment l'anglais.

Contexte de travail

Ce travail de recherche est financé par la Région Normandie et le fond européen FEDER et se déroulera dans un cadre profondément collaboratif impliquant d'autres équipes de recherche en France, en Espagne et en Israël. Le candidat sera affilié au laboratoire CNRS-CIMAP à Caen, France.
Le laboratoire CIMAP est un laboratoire de recherche multidisciplinaire où les domaines scientifiques s'étendent de l'interaction ion-matière aux matériaux pour les lasers, la photonique et l'électronique. Le projet proposé est lié à l'activité de recherche de l'équipe AMA spécialisée dans l'étude des mécanismes de relaxation des systèmes moléculaires excités per collisions avec des ions en phase gazeuse (stabilité, dissociation des molécules et agrégats, etc.). Le CIMAP est situé à proximité de différentes lignes de faisceaux ioniques du GANIL - un outil unique pour étudier les interactions ioniques avec la matière. Les montages expérimentaux développés au CIMAP peuvent être utilisés à toutes les énergies de faisceau disponibles.
La ville de Caen est située à environ 250 km à l'ouest de Paris. Elle est accessible en voiture, en train ou en avion; passant principalement par Paris. De plus, les liaisons avec l'Angleterre sont disponibles par ferry.

Contraintes et risques

De courtes périodes de déplacements en France et à l'étranger sont à prévoir.

Informations complémentaires

co-financement FEDER

On en parle sur Twitter !