By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5814-CLABOM-034 - Post-doc en cosmologie observationnelle (H/F)

Post-doc Galaxy cluster cosmology (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5814-CLABOM-034
Workplace : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date of publication : Thursday, March 26, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2648,79 and 3054,06 € monthly gross, according to work experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The goal of this position is to develop and strengthen the use of galaxy clusters as a cosmological probe in the framework of the Vera C. Rubin Observatory Legacy Survey of Space and Time (LSST). The LSST team at LAPP works on these topics in close collaboration with the team at LPSC (Grenoble) and within the Dark Energy Science Collaboration (DESC), the international collaboration aiming at the cosmological exploitation of LSST data. The Annecy group is also engaged in optical astronomy data reduction techniques and in the preparation of the large LSST data release processing which will occur at the in2p3 computing center in Villeurbanne. The group plays an important role in the DC2 DESC Data Challenge whose goal is to simulate a significant fraction of the LSST survey from a realistic N-body cosmological model associated to an accurate simulation of the instrument. The group will be involved in the commissioning of the instrument which will start in 2021 and will last until the start of the survey; the postdoc will have the opportunity to contribute to these efforts and in the analysis of the first on-sky data of the instrument.

Activities

The successful candidate will play a leading role in one or several aspects relevant to cluster cosmology. These include but are not limited to e.g., cluster finding algorithms, cluster masses determination, cosmological inference, analysis of ancillary datasets, etc.

Skills

Candidates should hold a PhD in astrophysics or closely related field. Previous experience in observational cosmology at optical wavelength, data analysis, photometric redshifts, gravitational lensing or galaxy cluster physics will be considered assets.

This position is preferentially but not exclusively open to young researchers having no more than two year research experience after the PhD.

Upload CV + research project and arrange for 2 letters of recommendations to be directly sent to postdoc.lsst@lapp.in2p3.fr

Work Context

LAPP is a combined CNRS and Université de Savoie Mont-Blanc unit. Close to 150 people are working at LAPP: researchers, professors, engineers and support staff, students and visiting scientists.

The scientists at LAPP conduct research in experimental physics on a wide range of topics, from particle physics to astroparticles and cosmology. In addition to LSST, LAPP is involved in Virgo and in the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) which offer a unique opportunity to develop synergies among these groups related to multi-messenger astronomy.

Constraints and risks

Some short trips have to be planned in France and abroad

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5814-CLABOM-034 - Post-doc en cosmologie observationnelle (H/F)

Post-doc en cosmologie observationnelle (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5814-CLABOM-034
Lieu de travail : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date de publication : jeudi 26 mars 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2648,79 et 3054,06 € bruts par mois selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

L'objectif de ce poste est de développer et de renforcer l'étude des amas de galaxies en tant que sonde cosmologique dans le cadre du Vera C. Rubin Observatory Legacy Survey of Space and Time (LSST). L'équipe LSST du LAPP travaille sur ces sujets en étroite collaboration avec l'équipe du LPSC (Grenoble) au sein de la Dark Energy Science Collaboration (DESC), qui est la collaboration internationale visant à l'exploitation cosmologique des données LSST. Le groupe d'Annecy est également engagé dans la mise en oeuvre des techniques de réduction de données d'astronomie optique et dans la préparation du traitement à grande échelle des données LSST qui aura lieu au Centre de Calcul de l'IN2P3 à Villeurbanne. Le groupe joue un rôle important dans le Data Challenge DC2 de DESC dont l'objectif est de simuler une fraction significative du relevé LSST à partir d'un modèle cosmologique réaliste associé à une simulation précise de l'instrument. Le groupe sera impliqué dans la mise en service de l'instrument qui débutera en 2021 et durera jusqu'au début du relevé; le postdoc aural'occasion de contribuer à ces efforts et à l'analyse des premières données de l'instrument sur le ciel.

Activités

Le.a candidat.e retenu.e jouera un rôle de premier plan dans un ou plusieurs aspects de l'utilisation des amas de galaxies comme sondes cosmologiques. Ceux-ci incluent entre-autres les algorithmes de recherche d'amas, la détermination des masses des amas, la détermination des paramètres cosmologiques, l'analyse de jeux de données de projets précurseurs, etc.

Compétences

Les candidat.e.s doivent être titulaires d'un doctorat en astrophysique ou dans un domaine connexe. Des expériences antérieures en cosmologie observationnelle dans les longueurs d'onde optiques, en analyse de données, dans les redshifts photométriques, en lentillage gravitationnel ou en physique des amas de galaxies seront considérées comme des atouts.

Ce poste est préférentiellement (mais non exclusivement) ouvert aux jeunes chercheurs n'ayant pas plus de deux ans d'expérience en recherche après le doctorat.
Déposer CV + lettre de motivation accompagnée de 2 lettres de recommandation.

Contexte de travail

Créé en 1976, le LAPP est l'un des 19 laboratoires de l'Institut de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique des Particules (IN2P3). Il compte près de 140 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, ingénieurs, techniciens, administratifs, étudiants et visiteurs étrangers.

Les chercheurs du LAPP mènent des recherches en physique expérimentale sur un large éventail de sujets, en physique des particules, astroparticules et cosmologie. Outre LSST, le LAPP est notamment impliqué dans Virgo et dans le Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) qui offrent une opportunité unique de développer des synergies sur le thème de l'astronomie multi-messagers.

Contraintes et risques

Des déplacements de courtes durées sont à prévoir en France et à l'étranger.

On en parle sur Twitter !