By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5277-EMIDUP-054 - (H/F) CHERCHEUR-E POSTDOCTORANT-E EN MODÉLISATION NUMÉRIQUE DE L'IONOSPHÈRE

(M/W) POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCHER POSITION IN NUMERICAL MODELLING OF THE IONOSPHERE

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5277-EMIDUP-054
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Friday, January 10, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 March 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 3017 and 3730 € gross salary per month
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

The EUHFORIA 2.0 project has been recently selected in the Horizon2020 call SU-SPACE-22-SEC-2019: Space Weather (PI: S. Poedts, KU Leuven, Belgium) and aims at developing the world's most advanced space weather forecasting tool. It will address geoeffectiveness, impacts and mitigation, including extreme events, related to solar eruptions, solar wind streams and Solar Energetic Particles, with particular emphasis on its application to forecast Geomagnetically Induced Currents (GICs) and radiation on geospace. In this context, IRAP-CNRS (Toulouse France) is involved in the development of the GICs forecasting work package by providing forecasts of geomagnetic variations at any point on the ground. The IRAP ionosphere group is thus seeking a post-doctoral researcher to lead these developments.

Activities

The work of the post-doctoral fellow will be divided in three tasks:

Task 1: during the first 6 months, a selection of magnetic storms will be done in order to carry out reference simulations with the IPIM model. These simulations will use realistic ionospheric convection inputs from SuperDARN and field-aligned current distribution derived from IRIDIUM-AMPERE. The results of the simulation will be calibrated using ionosondes or incoherent radars dataset according to a validation process developed by the team. The goal is to characterize the global environment for Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere system before the storm as well as the dynamics following the trigger.

Task 2: during the next 12 months, the IMM model will be extended to high-latitudes, where the terrestrial magnetic field is directly interacting with the solar wind. To do so, limits conditions along the polar boundary of the auroral oval will be modified through a field-aligned current model which will extend in the polar cap and which will be parametrized through coupling functions depending on solar wind parameters. These parameters are measured at L1, allowing 30 to 90 min forecast of the Earth's electrodynamics. In a second step, the IPIM and IMM models will be coupled and constrained by these coupling functions. Simulations of the new coupled IPIM-IMM model will be run on the magnetic storms events identified during Task 1 and compared to the results obtained with the IPIM-only model (with SuperDARN and AMPERE in inputs), in order to validate the coupling functions and the coupled model IPIM-IMM.

Task 3: during the last 6 months, the coupled IPIM-IMM model will be used to build a realistic ionospheric conductivity model including photoionization, precipitation and neutral atmosphere. Depending on operational needs, this conductivity model will be implemented either in the IMM model to retrieve self-consistent electrodynamics (forecast need) or used with SuperDARN convection maps (real-time need) to provide horizontal current maps. The Biot-Savart module, which will be developed to calculate the ground-level magnetic field perturbations induced by these currents, will then be used to provide necessary inputs for computing GIC maps.

Skills

- PhD in space physics or atmospheric physics
- Skills in computer programming

Work Context

The Institute of Research in Astrophysics et Planetology (IRAP) is a joint research unit (JRU n°5277) of Université Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier (UPS) and the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in which both entities put together staff and resources for the benefit of the laboratory, following agreements signed between them. IRAP is active in three main areas: solar system sciences, high energy astrophysics, and the cold universe, each covering theory, instrumentation, data interpretation, teaching and dissemination of knowledge. Research in the solar system group where the post-doctoral position will be filled in, covers two main fields: (1) natural plasmas; the ionised surroundings of the Earth and planets, the Sun and the interplanetary space; (2) planetology; the surfaces and the atmospheres of planets and moons. The Solar System group of IRAP is renowned for its high level of expertise in data analysis software development and physics modelling (AMDA, CLweb, 3DView, Propagation Tools, Transplanet: http://transplanet.irap.omp.eu/).

Inside the Solar System group, the ionosphere group has long-standing expertise in the development of ionospheric models. First principle models of the ionosphere have been developed from the nineties, first for the high latitude region with the TRANSCAR model (Blelly et al., 1996; 2005) and then for mid and low latitudes with the IPIM model (Marchaudon and Blelly , 2015; Marchaudon et al., 2018; Blelly et al., 2019) taking into account the interhemispheric coupling via the plasmasphere region. Depending on the chosen spatial resolution, these models can efficiently describe multi-scale processes. In parallel, an Ionosphere- Magnetosphere electrodynamics Model IMM (Peymirat and Fontaine, 1994) has also been developed, with integration in recent years of the Tsyganenko T96 model for the magnetic field (Hurtaud et al., 2007) thereby improving the electrodynamics description. A few years ago, these models IPIM/TRANSCAR and IMM had been successfully coupled (Blelly, 2003), allowing a good description of the ionosphere medium with self-consistent energy inputs and sufficiently fast for space-weather forecasting. The group has also long technical expertise in ground-based instrumentation such as HF coherent radars (SuperDARN), incoherent radars (EISCAT) and ground-based magnetometers, as well as numerical and analytic methodological development for analyzing the data.

Bibliography
Blelly, P.-L. (2003), SpaceGRID Study Final Report. SGD-SYS-DAT-TN-100-1.2. Issue 1.2. SpaceGRID Consortium.
Blelly, P. -L., C. Lathuillère, B. Emery, J. Lilensten, J. Fontanari, and D. Alcaydé (2005), An extended TRANSCAR model including ionospheric convection: Simulation of EISCAT observations using inputs from AMIE, Ann. Geophys., 23, 419–431, doi:10.5194/angeo-23-419-2005.
Blelly, P.-L., A. Marchaudon, M. Indurain, O. Witasse, J. Amaya, B. Chide, N. André, V. Génot, A. Goutenoir, M. Bouchemit (2019), Transplanet: a web service dedicated to modeling of planetary ionospheres, Planetary and Space Science, 169, 35-44, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pss.2019.02.008.
Blelly, P. -L., A. Robineau, J. Lilensten, and D. Lummerzheim (1996), 8-moment fluid models of the terrestrial high-latitude ionosphere between 100 and 3000 km, in Solar Terrestrial Energy Program Ionospheric Model Handbook, edited by R. Schunk, pp. 53–72, Utah State Univ., Logan.
Hurtaud, Y., C. Peymirat, and A. D. Richmond (2007), Modeling seasonal and diurnal effects on ionospheric conductances, region-2 currents, and plasma convection in the inner magnetosphere, J. Geophys. Res., 112, A09217, doi:10.1029/2007JA012257.
Marchaudon, A., and P.-L. Blelly, (2015), A new interhemispheric 16-moment model of the plasmasphere-ionosphere system: IPIM, J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 120, doi:10.1002/2015JA021193.
Marchaudon, A., P.-L. Blelly, M. Grandin, A. Aikio, A. Kozlovsky, and I. Virtanen (2018), IPIM modeling of the ionospheric F2-layer depletion at high-latitudes during a high-speed stream event, J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 123, 7051-7066, https://doi.org/10.1002/2018JA025744.
Peymirat, C., and D. Fontaine (1994), Numerical simulation of magnetospheric convection including the effect of field-aligned currents and electron precipitation, J. Geophys. Res., 99(A6), 11,155–11,176.

Additional Information

Inquiries:
Dr. Aurélie Marchaudon and Dr. Pierre-Louis Blelly
IRAP/CNRS, 9 avenue du Colonel Roche, 31400 Toulouse, France
Email : aurelie.marchaudon@irap.omp.eu ; pierre-louis.blelly@irap.omp.eu

Application submission:
The application must contain:
1. Curriculum Vitae (2 pages),
2. Summary of research achievements (2 pages),
3. List of publications
4. Name and contact of two professional references

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5277-EMIDUP-054 - (H/F) CHERCHEUR-E POSTDOCTORANT-E EN MODÉLISATION NUMÉRIQUE DE L'IONOSPHÈRE

(H/F) CHERCHEUR-E POSTDOCTORANT-E EN MODÉLISATION NUMÉRIQUE DE L'IONOSPHÈRE

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5277-EMIDUP-054
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : vendredi 10 janvier 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 mars 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 3017 et 3730 € bruts/mois selon expériences
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

Le projet EUHFORIA 2.0 a récemment été sélectionné dans le cadre de l'appel d'offre Horizon2020 SU-SPACE-22-SEC-2019: Space Weather (PI: S.Poedts, KU Leuven, Belgique) et vise à développer un outil de prévision en météorologie de l'espace parmi les plus avancés au monde. Il intégrera les problématiques de géo-efficacité, d'impact et de mesures d'atténuation, y compris pour les événements extrêmes tels que les éruptions solaires, les régions d'interaction en corotation et les particules énergétiques solaires. Une partie du projet mettra particulièrement l'accent sur l'application de cet outil pour prévoir les courants géomagnétiques induits (GIC) et les radiations dans l'environnement spatial. Dans ce cadre, l'IRAP-CNRS (Toulouse France) participera au développement du work package de prévision des GIC en fournissant des prévisions des variations géomagnétiques en tout point du sol. Le groupe ionosphère de l'IRAP recherche donc un chercheur post-doctorant pour prendre la responsabilité de ces développements.

Activités

Le travail du/de la post-doctorant-e sera divisé en trois tâches :

Tâche 1 : au cours des 6 premiers mois, des cas d'orages magnétiques seront sélectionnés afin de réaliser des simulations de référence avec l'aide du modèle IPIM. Ces modélisations utiliseront des entrées réalistes de la convection ionosphérique issue de SuperDARN et de la distribution de courants alignés au champ magnétique dérivée d'IRIDIUM-AMPERE et seront calibrées sur des jeux de données de type ionosondes ou radars incohérents selon une démarche de validation développée au sein de l'équipe. L'objectif est de caractériser au mieux l'environnement global du système Magnétosphère-Ionosphère-Thermosphère en amont de l'orage ainsi que la dynamique après son déclenchement.

Tâche 2 : au cours des 12 mois suivants, le modèle IMM sera étendu aux hautes latitudes, dans les régions où le champ magnétique terrestre interagit directement avec le vent solaire. Pour ce faire, les conditions limites le long de la frontière polaire de l'ovale auroral seront modifiées grâce à un modèle de courant aligné au champ magnétique qui s'étendra dans la calotte polaire et qui sera paramétré par le biais de fonctions de couplage dépendant des paramètres du vent solaire. Ces paramètres sont mesurés à L1 et permettent donc une prévision de l'électrodynamique de la magnétosphère terrestre à un horizon de 30 à 90 min. Dans une deuxième étape, les modèles IPIM et IMM seront couplés et contraints par ces fonctions de couplage. Des simulations de ce nouveau modèle couplé IPIM-IMM seront lancées sur les événements d'orages magnétiques identifiés dans la tâche 1 et comparées aux résultats obtenus dans le modèle IPIM seul (avec SuperDARN et AMPERE en entrées), afin de valider les fonctions de couplage et le modèle couplé IPIM-IMM.

Tâche 3 : au cours des 6 derniers mois, le modèle couplé IPIM-IMM sera utilisé pour construire un modèle de conductivité ionosphérique réaliste dépendant de la photoionisation, des précipitations et de l'atmosphère neutre. Selon les besoins opérationnels, ce modèle de conductivité sera mis en œuvre soit directement dans le modèle IMM pour obtenir l'électrodynamique de manière auto-cohérente (besoin prévisionnel), soit combiné aux cartes de convection SuperDARN (besoin en temps réel), pour fournir des cartes de courants horizontaux. Le module Biot-Savart, qui sera développé pour calculer les perturbations du champ magnétique induites au niveau du sol par ces courants, sera ensuite utilisé pour fournir les entrées nécessaires au calcul des cartes de GIC.

Compétences

- Thèse en physique des plasmas spatiaux ou en physique de l'atmosphère
- Compétence en modélisation numérique

Contexte de travail

L'Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie (IRAP) est une unité mixte de recherche (UMR n° 5277) de l'Université Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier (UPS) et du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) dans laquelle les deux entités regroupent des collaborateurs et des ressources au profit du laboratoire, suite à des accords signés entre eux. L'IRAP est actif dans trois domaines principaux : les sciences du système solaire, l'astrophysique des hautes énergies et l'univers froid, chacun couvrant simultanément la théorie, l'instrumentation, l'interprétation des données, l'enseignement et la diffusion des connaissances. L'équipe Planètes, Environnement et Plasmas Spatiaux (PEPS), où le post-doctorant effectuera sa recherche, couvre deux domaines principaux: (1) les plasmas naturels; l'environnement ionisé de la Terre et des planètes, du Soleil et de l'espace interplanétaire; (2) la planétologie; les surfaces et les atmosphères des planètes et des lunes. L'équipe PEPS de l'IRAP est réputée pour son haut niveau d'expertise dans le développement de logiciels d'analyse de données et dans la modélisation physique (AMDA, CLweb, 3DView, Outils de propagation, Transplanet : http://transplanet.irap.omp.eu/).

Au sein de l'équipe PEPS, le groupe ionosphère possède une expertise de longue date dans le développement de modèles ionosphériques. Les premiers modèles physiques d'ionosphère ont été développés à partir des années 90, d'abord pour la région des hautes latitudes avec le modèle TRANSCAR (Blelly et al., 1996; 2005) puis pour les latitudes moyennes et basses avec le modèle IPIM (Marchaudon et Blelly, 2015 ; Marchaudon et al., 2018; Blelly et al., 2019) en tenant compte du couplage interhémisphérique via la région de la plasmasphère. Selon la résolution spatiale choisie, ces modèles peuvent décrire efficacement des processus multi-échelles. Parallèlement, un modèle électrodynamique, appelé Ionosphere-Magnétosphere Model, IMM (Peymirat et Fontaine, 1994) a également été développé, avec l'intégration au cours des dernières années du modèle Tsyganenko T96 pour le champ magnétique (Hurtaud et al., 2007) améliorant ainsi la description électrodynamique. Il y a quelques années, ces modèles IPIM/TRANSCAR et IMM avaient été couplés avec succès (Blelly, 2003), permettant une bonne description du milieu ionosphérique avec des apports énergétiques auto-cohérents et suffisamment rapides pour envisager des prévisions dans le cadre de la Météorologie de l'Espace. Le groupe possède également une longue expertise technique en instrumentation au sol comme les radars cohérents HF (SuperDARN), les radars incohérents (EISCAT) et les magnétomètres au sol, ainsi qu'en développement de méthodologies numériques et analytiques pour l'analyse des données.

Bibliographie :
Blelly, P.-L. (2003), SpaceGRID Study Final Report. SGD-SYS-DAT-TN-100-1.2. Issue 1.2. SpaceGRID Consortium.
Blelly, P. -L., C. Lathuillère, B. Emery, J. Lilensten, J. Fontanari, and D. Alcaydé (2005), An extended TRANSCAR model including ionospheric convection: Simulation of EISCAT observations using inputs from AMIE, Ann. Geophys., 23, 419–431, doi:10.5194/angeo-23-419-2005.
Blelly, P.-L., A. Marchaudon, M. Indurain, O. Witasse, J. Amaya, B. Chide, N. André, V. Génot, A. Goutenoir, M. Bouchemit (2019), Transplanet: a web service dedicated to modeling of planetary ionospheres, Planetary and Space Science, 169, 35-44, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pss.2019.02.008.
Blelly, P. -L., A. Robineau, J. Lilensten, and D. Lummerzheim (1996), 8-moment fluid models of the terrestrial high-latitude ionosphere between 100 and 3000 km, in Solar Terrestrial Energy Program Ionospheric Model Handbook, edited by R. Schunk, pp. 53–72, Utah State Univ., Logan.
Hurtaud, Y., C. Peymirat, and A. D. Richmond (2007), Modeling seasonal and diurnal effects on ionospheric conductances, region-2 currents, and plasma convection in the inner magnetosphere, J. Geophys. Res., 112, A09217, doi:10.1029/2007JA012257.
Marchaudon, A., and P.-L. Blelly, (2015), A new interhemispheric 16-moment model of the plasmasphere-ionosphere system: IPIM, J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 120, doi:10.1002/2015JA021193.
Marchaudon, A., P.-L. Blelly, M. Grandin, A. Aikio, A. Kozlovsky, and I. Virtanen (2018), IPIM modeling of the ionospheric F2-layer depletion at high-latitudes during a high-speed stream event, J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics, 123, 7051-7066, https://doi.org/10.1002/2018JA025744.
Peymirat, C., and D. Fontaine (1994), Numerical simulation of magnetospheric convection including the effect of field-aligned currents and electron precipitation, J. Geophys. Res., 99(A6), 11,155–11,176.

Informations complémentaires

Informations complémentaires/contacts :
Dr. Aurélie Marchaudon et Dr. Pierre-Louis Blelly
IRAP / CNRS, 9 avenue du Colonel Roche, 31400 Toulouse, France
Courriel: aurelie.marchaudon@irap.omp.eu; pierre-louis.blelly@irap.omp.eu

Dossier de candidature :
Le dossier doit contenir :
1. Curriculum Vitae (2 pages),
2. Résumé des résultats de recherche antérieure (2 pages), 3. Liste des publications
4. Nom et contact de deux références professionnelles

On en parle sur Twitter !