By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5199-SOLRIG-002 - H/F postdoc 2 ans Evolution biologique et culturelle au cours de la transition Mésolithique-Néolithique

H/F 2 years postdoc position Biological and Cultural Evolution during the Early Neolithic

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5199-SOLRIG-002
Workplace : PESSAC
Date of publication : Friday, April 19, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Monthly gross salary ranging from 2 610 and 3720 euros (depending on experience)
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Human mobility is a key factor for the spread of genes and cultures, but it affects them in different ways. While genes spread exclusively by movements of people, cultural traits can spread independently and over long distances by cultural interaction. The goal of this postdoctoral project is to explore gene-culture co-evolution in Europe during the transition to farming by using a novel approach that will jointly estimate human mobility and material culture diffusion from both a genetic and archaeological perspectives.
The project is based on the assumption that mobile societies will be characterized by comparatively low isolation by distance, while less mobile groups will be geographically structured. It is also based on the widely accepted idea that similarities in material culture result from repeated interactions between individuals and groups, favored by individual mobility, exchange of goods, social information, technological knowledge and symbolic items. In other words, the more the material culture is similar, the tighter are the links between groups.
Attempts to cross genetic data and cultural data are not numerous. In this project we wish to analyze genetic and archaeological data jointly and with comparable methodologies. We will focus on Europe at the dawn of agriculture, circa 7500 years ago, a time period and region for which foragers and farmers genetic data, and data on their material culture, are available. The genetic dataset comprises hundreds of published samples from all over Europe for the target period, including genome-wide as well as mitochondrial and Y-chromosome data. The archaeological dataset is composed of an updated georeferenced database of personal ornaments produced by the last hunter-gatherers and the first farmers in Europe covering 48 archaeological cultures and recording hundreds of different bead types from more than a thousand burials and archaeological levels distributed throughout Europe.
The combined analysis of these data sets will allow to address issues such as the degree of similarity between regions in processes of genetic and cultural admixture, document sources and proportions of hunter-gatherer ancestry, discuss whether personal ornaments circulation is more related to women or men mobility. It should also allow investigating whether cultural boundaries limited gene flows and slowed down the Neolithic spread in some areas.
Key References
Lipson, M., Szécsényi-Nagy, A., Mallick, S., Pósa, A., Stégmár, B., Keerl, V., Rohland, N., Stewardson, K., et al., 2017. Parallel palaeogenomic transects reveal complex genetic history of early European farmers. Nature 551, 368.
Rigaud, S., d'Errico, F., Vanhaeren, M., 2015. Ornaments Reveal Resistance of North European Cultures to the Spread of Farming. PLoS ONE 10, e0121166. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0121166
Rigaud, S., Manen, C., García-Martínez de Lagrán, I., 2018. Symbols in motion: Flexible cultural boundaries and the fast spread of the Neolithic in the western Mediterranean. PLOS ONE 13, e0196488. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0196488
Tassi F., Vai S., Ghirotto S., Lari M., Modi A., Pilli E., Brunelli A.S. R. Rosa, Budnik A.a, Labuda D., Alberti F., Lalueza-Fox C., Reich D., Caramelli D., Barbujani G., 2017. Genome diversity in the Neolithic Globular Amphorae culture and the spread of Indo-European languages. Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences 284, 20171540. https://doi.org/10.1098/rspb.2017.1540

Activities

The candidate will have a primary role in the processing and management of genomic data (both ancient and modern), as well as the development of methods to jointly study the archaeological and genetic data. He/she will also contribute to the organization of an international meeting on culture/gene co-evolution at the end of the project.

Skills

The ideal candidate will have computational background (knowledge of R and Python/Perl programming languages), strong skills in bioinformatics and biostatistics to handle and analyze genomic data. He/she will also have a strong population genetics background (with a particular focus on demographic modelling), and a deep interest in cultural evolution and archaeology.
We are seeking for candidates who can communicate and write in English although fluent English is not mandatory. Applicants should have a PhD degree or demonstrate they have submitted their PhD dissertation for discussion.

Work Context

The postdoc will be based at the PACEA laboratory of the Bordeaux University and will collaborate with archaeologists (S. Rigaud and F. d'Errico), paleogeneticists based in the same laboratory (MF Deguilloux, M. Rivollat) and population geneticists from the University of Ferrara (G. Barbujani, S. Ghirotto). The postdoc will be a team member of the CNRS Momentum project led by S. Rigaud titled Symboling and neighboring at the dawn of Agriculture. He/she will also benefit from an ongoing collaboration with researchers involved in the ANR-DFG project INTERACT “Human interactions during the Mesolithic-Neolithic transition in Western Europe: The dual perspectives of cultural and biological exchanges” (PI W. Haak & MF. Deguilloux).
The successful candidate will receive financial support for attending international meetings, preparing publications, and covering expenses to fund short stays at the University of Ferrara (Italy).

Constraints and risks

-

Additional Information

This is a 24 months position
Please contact Solange Rigaud (s.rigaud@u-bordeaux.fr) for any questions. Applications will need to be completed and submitted via emploi.cnrs.fr. The application website can be difficult to handle for non-French speakers, so do not hesitate to contact Solange Rigaud for assistance, if needed or any other questions. Required documents include CV, motivation letter, relevant publications/PhD thesis.
The deadline to apply is September 1st 2019 and the postdoc will start the 1st November 2019. We will organize Skype interviews between the 1st and the 15th of September and the final decision will be announced at the end of September at the latest.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5199-SOLRIG-002 - H/F postdoc 2 ans Evolution biologique et culturelle au cours de la transition Mésolithique-Néolithique

H/F postdoc 2 ans Evolution biologique et culturelle au cours de la transition Mésolithique-Néolithique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5199-SOLRIG-002
Lieu de travail : PESSAC
Date de publication : lundi 13 mai 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : salaire mensuel brut entre 2 610 et 3 720 euros (en fonction de l'expérience)
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

La mobilité humaine est un facteur clé pour la propagation des gènes et des cultures, mais elle les affecte de différentes manières. Alors que les gènes se propagent exclusivement par les mouvements de personnes, les traits culturels peuvent se transmettre indépendamment et sur de longues distances par interaction culturelle. L'objectif de ce projet postdoctoral est d'explorer la co-évolution gène-culture en Europe lors de la transition vers l'agriculture en utilisant une nouvelle approche qui permettra d'estimer conjointement la mobilité humaine et la diffusion de la culture matérielle d'un point de vue tant génétique qu'archéologique.
Le projet repose sur l'hypothèse que les sociétés mobiles sont caractérisées par une isolation par la distance relativement faible, tandis que les groupes moins mobiles seront structurés géographiquement. Il est également fondé sur l'idée largement acceptée selon laquelle les similitudes dans la culture matérielle résultent d'interactions répétées entre individus et groupes, favorisées par la mobilité individuelle, l'échange de biens, d'information sociale, de connaissances sur les techniques et des symboles. En d'autres termes, plus la culture matérielle est similaire, plus les liens qui unissent les groupes sont resserrés.
Les tentatives de croisement de données génétiques et de données culturelles ne sont pas nombreuses. Dans ce projet, nous souhaitons analyser des données génétiques et archéologiques conjointement et avec des méthodologies comparables. Nous nous concentrerons sur l'Europe à l'aube de l'agriculture, il y a environ 7500 ans, une période et une région pour lesquelles des données génétiques, ainsi que des données sur la culture matérielle, sont disponibles pour les derniers chasseurs-cueilleurs et les premiers agriculteurs. L'ensemble de données génétiques comprend des centaines d'échantillons publiés provenant de toute l'Europe pour la période cible, incluant des données génomiques, mitochondriales et du chromosome Y. L'ensemble des données archéologiques est composé d'une base de données géoréférencée actualisées des objets de parure produits par les derniers chasseurs-cueilleurs et les premiers agriculteurs d'Europe, couvrant 48 cultures archéologiques et recensant des centaines de types de perles différentes provenant de plus de mille sépultures et niveaux archéologiques répartis dans toute l'Europe.
L'analyse combinée de ces ensembles de données permettra d'aborder des questions telles que le degré de similarité entre les régions dans les processus de mélange génétique et culturel, les sources et les proportions d'ascendance chasseur-cueilleur dans le bagage génétique et culturel des premiers agriculteurs, et de déterminer si la circulation des parures est davantage liée aux déplacements des femmes ou des hommes. Cela devrait également permettre de déterminer si les frontières culturelles limitaient les flux de gènes et ralentissaient la propagation du Néolithique dans certaines régions.
Références clefs
Lipson, M., Szécsényi-Nagy, A., Mallick, S., Pósa, A., Stégmár, B., Keerl, V., Rohland, N., Stewardson, K., et al., 2017. Parallel palaeogenomic transects reveal complex genetic history of early European farmers. Nature 551, 368.
Rigaud, S., d'Errico, F., Vanhaeren, M., 2015. Ornaments Reveal Resistance of North European Cultures to the Spread of Farming. PLoS ONE 10, e0121166. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0121166
Rigaud, S., Manen, C., García-Martínez de Lagrán, I., 2018. Symbols in motion: Flexible cultural boundaries and the fast spread of the Neolithic in the western Mediterranean. PLOS ONE 13, e0196488. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0196488
Tassi F., Vai S., Ghirotto S., Lari M., Modi A., Pilli E., Brunelli A.S. R. Rosa, Budnik A.a, Labuda D., Alberti F., Lalueza-Fox C., Reich D., Caramelli D., Barbujani G., 2017. Genome diversity in the Neolithic Globular Amphorae culture and the spread of Indo-European languages. Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences 284, 20171540. https://doi.org/10.1098/rspb.2017.1540

Activités

Le candidat jouera un rôle primordial dans le traitement et la gestion des données génétiques (anciennes et modernes), ainsi que dans le développement de méthodes permettant d'étudier conjointement les données archéologiques et génétiques. Il / elle contribuera également à l'organisation d'une réunion internationale sur la co-évolution culture / gène à la fin du projet.

Compétences

Le candidat devra avoir des connaissances en informatique (connaissance de programmation R et Python / Perl), de solides compétences en bioinformatique et en biostatistique pour analyser des données génétiques. Il / elle aura également de solides connaissances en génétique des populations (avec une attention particulière pour la modélisation démographique) et un intérêt marqué pour l'évolution culturelle et l'Archéologie.
Nous recherchons des candidats pouvant communiquer et écrire en anglais, bien que l'anglais courant ne soit pas obligatoire. Les candidats doivent être titulaires d'un doctorat ou démontrer qu'ils ont soumis leur thèse de doctorat pour discussion.

Contexte de travail

Le post-doc sera basé au laboratoire PACEA de l'université de Bordeaux et collaborera avec des archéologues (S. Rigaud et F. d'Errico), des paléogénéticiens basés dans le même laboratoire (MF Deguilloux, M. Rivollat) et des généticiens des populations de l'Université de Ferrare (G. Barbujani, S. Ghirotto). Le postdoc sera un membre de l'équipe du projet CNRS Momentum dirigé par S. Rigaud intitulé Symboling and neighboring at the dawn of Agriculture. Il / elle bénéficiera également d'une collaboration continue avec des chercheurs participant au projet ANR-DFG INTERACT «Interactions humaines au cours de la transition mésolithique-néolithique en Europe occidentale: la double perspective des échanges culturels et biologiques» (PI W. Haak & MF. Deguilloux).
Le candidat retenu bénéficiera d'un soutien financier pour participer à des réunions internationales, préparer des publications et couvrir les frais de courts séjours à l'Université de Ferrara (Italie).

Informations complémentaires

Le poste est d'une durée de 24 mois.
Les candidatures devront être complétées et soumises via le site emploi.cnrs.fr. Les documents requis incluent CV, lettre de motivation, publications pertinentes / thèse de doctorat.
Si vous rencontrez des difficultés lors de la soumission en ligne de votre candidature, n'hésitez pas à contacter Solange Rigaud pour obtenir de l'aide si nécessaire et pour toute autre question (solange.rigaud@u-bordeaux.fr).
La date limite de candidature est le 1er septembre 2019 et le post-doc débutera début novembre 2019. Nous organiserons des interviews Skype du 1er au 15 septembre et la décision finale sera annoncée au plus tard à la fin du mois de septembre

On en parle sur Twitter !