By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5089-CHRVER-005 - H/F Postdoctorat de 3 ans en biologie cellulaire, imagerie et immunométabolisme dans le contexte de l'interaction hôte-pathogène, CNRS IPBS, Toulouse, FRANCE

H/F 36-month postdoctoral offer in cell biology, imaging and immunometabolism in the context of host-pathogen interaction, CNRS IPBS, Toulouse, FRANCE

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5089-CHRVER-005
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, July 20, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 36 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : entre 2648 et 3054€ depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 5 to 10 years

Missions

We are looking for a highly motivated post-doctoral researcher with a specific interest in cell imaging and immunometabolism in the context of host-pathogen interactions, and excellent track record to identify and solve scientific problems. The employment is for 3 years, aiming to better understand the HIV-1/Mtb co-infection. General responsibilities include design, implement and interpret experiments, both independently and in collaboration, and communicate research and findings in a clear and concise manner. Applicant is expected to co-direct a PhD student to be recruited simultaneously in this project; thus previous mentoring experience is required. Last, the selected candidate will participate to an international collaboration consortium with Dr. Luciana Balboa, CONICET (Argentina). Altogether, this job position is designed for a candidate looking to hone his/her leadership skills as an independent investigator.

Activities

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and TB are among the deadliest diseases due to a single infectious agent. Worsening these public health issues is the fact that the two pathogens responsible for these diseases, Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Mtb) and the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1), respectively, are frequently associated. Clinical evidence clearly identifies TB as an aggravating condition of HIV-1 pathogenesis. Yet, the mechanisms by which Mtb exacerbates HIV-1 infection need further investigation. We recently reported the importance of macrophages in HIV-1 exacerbation within the TB co-infection context (Souriant et al., 2019 Cell Reports; Dupont et al., 2020 eLife). We showed that TB-associated microenvironments increase susceptibility of human macrophages to HIV-1 infection and spread (Souriant et al., 2019). The formation of tunneling nanotubes (TNT), membranous channels connecting two or more cells over long distance, was crucial to the HIV-1 exacerbation induced by Mtb (Souriant et al., 2019). In addition, we demonstrated that TB-associated microenvironments alter TNT dynamics through the induction of the expression of the Sialic acid-binding Ig-like lectin 1 (Siglec-1/CD169) receptor (Dupont et al., 2020). Inhibition of Siglec-1 resulted in a decrease in the binding and transfer of HIV-1 among macrophages, and diminished TNT length and the hallmark characteristic of mitochondria transfer to neighbor cells (Dupont et al., 2020). While these studies highlight the capacity of TB to alter TNT formation and functional dynamics, the precise mechanisms for how this is accomplished remain unknown at large.
Cholesterol and lipids are known to increase membrane rigidity and are thought to be critical for TNT stability and other intercellular communication processes. Interestingly, we have demonstrated that TB-associated microenvironments dysregulate the metabolic and lipid networks in macrophages (Genoula et al., 2018; Genoula et al., 2020; Marin Franco et al., 2020). Therefore, we hypothesize that this dysregulation of lipid networks might alter intercellular communication mechanisms, complementing and/or enhancing the function of Siglec-1 during HIV-1 infection. The project will characterize the lipid factors responsible for the modulation of the metabolic and activation state by Mtb and dissect the role of these lipid candidates in the exacerbation of HIV-1 infection in macrophages.

Skills

Qualifications required
• A PhD degree preferably in cell biology, biochemistry or immunology.
• Scientific excellence evidenced by publication track record.
• Hands-on experience of cell imaging and cell metabolism. Expertise in lipid biology will be highly prioritised.
• Strong computer literacy including experience with image analysis, FlowJo, Prism, and Excel.
• High levels of initiative, autonomy and the ability to assume a high level of responsibility.
• Strong interpersonal and mentoring skills needed to effectively deal with students and people of collaborating groups.
• Proficiency in English in order to manage our LIA partnership with Argentina; oral communication in Spanish is a plus.

Additional qualifications desired
• Experience of cell culture of mammalian primary cells and cell lines, and basic immunology assays such as multi-color flow cytometry, immunofluorescence and ELISA.
• Knowledge of histology, quantitative PCR, and general lab protocols and methodologies used in the biological sciences.
• Experience in working in BSL-3 facilities.
• Experience in editing and writing original research articles and grant applications is an asset.

Work Context

The project is a full collaboration between two teams at IPBS (http://www.ipbs.fr), Toulouse (France), supported by an international consortium, Laboratoire International Associé (LIA, #1167), with Dr. Luciana Balboa, CONICET (Buenos Aires, Argentina). The state-of-the-art imaging technology in the Biological Safety Level 3 (BSL-3) facilities at IPBS and the combination of expertise between the two teams assure the successful outcome of this project.

Related Publications to the Project
• Marín Franco et al., “Host-derived lipids from pleural effusions of TB patients impair anti-mycobacterial functions in human macrophages though HIF-1α-mediated metabolic reprogramming”. Cell Reports, in revision since March 31st, 2020; BioRxiv preprint: DOI: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.23.001818
• Genoula et al., “Mycobacterium tuberculosis Modulates the Metabolism of Alternatively Activated Macrophages to Promote Foam Cell Formation and Intracellular Survival”. In revision, PLOS Pathogens, June 3rd, 2020; BioRxiv preprint: https://doi.org/10.1101/2019.12.13.876300
• Dupont et al., "Tuberculosis-associated IFN-I induces Siglec-1 on tunneling nanotubes and favors HIV-1 spread in macrophages”, eLife, 2020 Mar 30;9:e52535.
• Souriant et al., "Tuberculosis Exacerbates HIV-1 Infection Through IL-10/STAT3-Dependent Tunneling Nanotube Formation in Macrophages", Cell Reports, 2019, 26(13):3586-3599.e7
• Dupont et al., "Tunneling Nanotubes: Intimate Communication Between Myeloid Cells", Frontiers in Immunology, 2018, 9:43.
• Genoula et al., “Formation of Foamy Macrophages by Tuberculous Pleural Effusions Is Triggered by the Interleukin-10/Signal Transducer and Activator of Transcription 3 Axis Through ACAT Upregulation”, Frontiers in Immunology, 2018, 9: 459.
• Lastrucci et al., “Tuberculosis is associated with expansion of a motile, permissive and immunomodulatory CD16(+) monocyte population via the IL-10/STAT3 axis.” Cell Research, 2015, 25(12): 1333-51.
• Vérollet et al., “HIV-1 Reprograms the Migration of Macrophages”, Blood, 2015, 125 (10): 1611-22

Constraints and risks

working in BSL-3 facilities

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5089-CHRVER-005 - H/F Postdoctorat de 3 ans en biologie cellulaire, imagerie et immunométabolisme dans le contexte de l'interaction hôte-pathogène, CNRS IPBS, Toulouse, FRANCE

H/F Postdoctorat de 3 ans en biologie cellulaire, imagerie et immunométabolisme dans le contexte de l'interaction hôte-pathogène, CNRS IPBS, Toulouse, FRANCE

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5089-CHRVER-005
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 20 juillet 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2648 et 3054€ brut mensuel selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 5 à 10 années

Missions

Nous recherchons un chercheur post-doctoral très motivé, ayant un intérêt particulier pour l'imagerie cellulaire et de l'immunométabolisme dans le contexte des interactions hôte-pathogène, et ayant d'excellents antécédents pour identifier et résoudre des problèmes scientifiques. L'emploi est d'une durée de 3 ans et vise à mieux comprendre la co-infection VIH-1/Mtb. Les responsabilités générales comprennent la conception, la mise en œuvre et l'interprétation des expériences, tant de manière indépendante qu'en collaboration, et la communication claire et concise des recherches et des résultats. Le candidat doit effectuer un stage de courte durée auprès du Dr Luciana Balboa, CONICET (Buenos Aires, Argentine), au moins une fois pendant son stage postdoctoral.
Dans l'ensemble, ce poste est conçu pour un candidat qui cherche à aiguiser ses qualités de chef de projet en tant que chercheur indépendant.

Activités

Le syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise (SIDA) et la tuberculose sont parmi les maladies les plus mortelles dues à un seul agent infectieux. Les deux agents pathogènes responsables de ces maladies, Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Mtb) et le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH-1), respectivement, sont fréquemment associés, ce qui aggrave ces problèmes de santé publique. Les preuves cliniques identifient clairement la tuberculose comme une condition aggravante de la pathogenèse du VIH-1. Cependant, les mécanismes par lesquels Mtb exacerbe l'infection par le VIH-1 doivent être étudiés plus en détail. Nous avons récemment montré l'importance des macrophages dans l'exacerbation du VIH-1 dans le contexte de la co-infection par la tuberculose (Souriant et al., 2019 Cell Reports ; Dupont et al., 2020 eLife). Nous avons montré que les microenvironnements associés à la tuberculose augmentent la susceptibilité des macrophages humains à l'infection et à la propagation du VIH-1 (Souriant et al., 2019). La formation de nanotubes (TNT), des ponts membranaires reliant deux ou plusieurs cellules sur une longue distance, est cruciale pour l'exacerbation du VIH-1 (Souriant et al., 2019). De plus, nous avons démontré que les microenvironnements associés à la tuberculose modifient la dynamique des TNT par l'induction de l'expression du récepteur de la lectine Siglec-1/CD169 (Dupont et al., 2020). L'inhibition de Siglec-1 a entraîné une diminution de la liaison et du transfert du VIH-1 parmi les macrophages, ainsi qu'une diminution de la longueur du TNT et du transfert des mitochondries vers les cellules voisines (Dupont et al., 2020). Si ces études mettent en évidence la capacité de la tuberculose à modifier la formation et la dynamique fonctionnelle du TNT, les mécanismes précis de cette modification restent encore largement inconnus.
Le cholestérol et les lipides sont connus pour augmenter la rigidité de la membrane et sont considérés comme essentiels pour la stabilité du TNT ainsi que d'autres processus de communication intercellulaire. Nous avons récemment montré que les microenvironnements associés à la tuberculose dérèglent les réseaux métaboliques et lipidiques des macrophages (Genoula et al., 2018 ; Genoula et al., 2020 ; Marin Franco et al., 2020). Par conséquent, nous émettons l'hypothèse que cette dysrégulation des réseaux lipidiques pourrait altérer les mécanismes de communication intercellulaire, en complétant et/ou en améliorant la fonction de Siglec-1 pendant l'infection par le VIH-1. Le projet caractérisera les facteurs lipidiques responsables de la modulation de l'état métabolique et l'activation des macrophages par Mtb et disséquera le rôle de ces lipides candidats dans l'exacerbation de l'infection par le VIH-1 dans les macrophages.

Compétences

Compétences demandées
- Un doctorat de préférence en biologie cellulaire, biochimie ou immunologie.
- Excellence scientifique attestée par un historique de publications.
- Une expérience en imagerie cellulaire et métabolisme cellulaire. Une expertise en biologie des lipides sera hautement prioritaire.
- Solides connaissances informatiques, y compris une expérience de l'analyse d'images, de FlowJo, de Prism et d'Excel.
- Un haut niveau d'initiative, d'autonomie et la capacité à assumer un haut niveau de responsabilité.
- De solides compétences interpersonnelles et d'encadrement sont nécessaires pour traiter efficacement avec les étudiants et les collaborations.
- Maîtrise de l'anglais afin de gérer notre partenariat LIA avec l'Argentine ; la communication orale en espagnol est un plus.

Qualifications supplémentaires souhaitées:
- Expérience de la culture de cellules primaires et de lignées cellulaires de mammifères, et des tests d'immunologie de base tels que la cytométrie en flux multicolore, l'immunofluorescence et l'ELISA.
- Connaissance de l'histologie, de la PCR quantitative et des protocoles et méthodologies de laboratoire généraux utilisés dans les sciences biologiques.
- Expérience de travail dans des installations de niveau de sécurité biologique 3.
- Une expérience dans l'édition et la rédaction d'articles de recherche originaux et de demandes de subvention est un atout.

Contexte de travail

Le projet est dans le cadre d'une collaboration entre deux équipes de l'IPBS (http://www.ipbs.fr), Toulouse (France), soutenue par un consortium international, le Laboratoire International Associé (LIA, #1167), avec le Dr Luciana Balboa, CONICET (Buenos Aires, Argentine). La technologie d'imagerie de pointe utilisée dans les installations de niveau de sécurité biologique 3 (BSL-3) de l'IPBS et la combinaison des compétences des deux équipes garantissent le succès de ce projet.

Principales publications
• Marín Franco et al., “Host-derived lipids from pleural effusions of TB patients impair anti-mycobacterial functions in human macrophages though HIF-1α-mediated metabolic reprogramming”. Cell Reports, in revision since March 31st, 2020; BioRxiv preprint: DOI: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.23.001818
• Genoula et al., “Mycobacterium tuberculosis Modulates the Metabolism of Alternatively Activated Macrophages to Promote Foam Cell Formation and Intracellular Survival”. In revision, PLOS Pathogens, June 3rd, 2020; BioRxiv preprint: https://doi.org/10.1101/2019.12.13.876300
• Dupont et al., "Tuberculosis-associated IFN-I induces Siglec-1 on tunneling nanotubes and favors HIV-1 spread in macrophages”, eLife, 2020 Mar 30;9:e52535.
• Souriant et al., "Tuberculosis Exacerbates HIV-1 Infection Through IL-10/STAT3-Dependent Tunneling Nanotube Formation in Macrophages", Cell Reports, 2019, 26(13):3586-3599.e7
• Dupont et al., "Tunneling Nanotubes: Intimate Communication Between Myeloid Cells", Frontiers in Immunology, 2018, 9:43.
• Genoula et al., “Formation of Foamy Macrophages by Tuberculous Pleural Effusions Is Triggered by the Interleukin-10/Signal Transducer and Activator of Transcription 3 Axis Through ACAT Upregulation”, Frontiers in Immunology, 2018, 9: 459.
• Lastrucci et al., “Tuberculosis is associated with expansion of a motile, permissive and immunomodulatory CD16(+) monocyte population via the IL-10/STAT3 axis.” Cell Research, 2015, 25(12): 1333-51.
• Vérollet et al., “HIV-1 Reprograms the Migration of Macrophages”, Blood, 2015, 125 (10): 1611-22

Contraintes et risques

Travailler dans des laboratoires de niveau 3

On en parle sur Twitter !