By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR137-JEAGEO-001 - Chercheur (H/F) Croissance d'Isolant Topologique sur un isolant magnétique

Researcher (H/F): Growth of topological insulator materials on ferromagnetic insulators

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR137-JEAGEO-001
Workplace : PALAISEAU
Date of publication : Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 2 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2400 Euros -2700 Euros gross salary
Desired level of education : 5-year university degree
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The objective of the postdoctoral position in collaboration with SPINTEC lab located in Grenoble, will be to develop thin layers of perpendicular magnetic ferrimagnetic insulators to study the growth of topological insulators on these magnetic layers. The development of TI films will be done in collaboration with the SPINTEC laboratory in Grenoble. The objective will be to study how the charge-spin conversion effects in the surface states of the TI allow to act on the magnetization of the magnetic insulator by spin transfer effect. This effect will be optimized, either for magnet reversal in case a uniform magnet configuration is chosen, or for moving chiral domain walls or skyrmions. These studies will be conducted by combining magnetotransport measurements with observation of magnetization dynamics in Kerr microscopy, MFM microscopy or even NV microscopy. The first phase of the project aims to control the growth of thin layers of Tm3Fe5O12 (TmIG) by pulsed laser ablation (PLD) or sputtering. The second phase aims to study the growth of topological insulating materials of the Bi2(TeXSe1-X)3 type in collaboration with Dr. Jamet's team at the Spintec laboratory in Grenoble. The project is part of our general themes of study of the mechanisms of interconnection of charge current to spin current.

Activities

Thin film growth technics by PLD Sputtering or MBE
Structural characterizations (X-ray, AFM etc..)
Magnetic characterizations (SQUID, AGFM, Kerr etc…
Optical lithography
Magnetotransport experiment from 4 K to Room Temperature and for fieldsranging between0 and 9T.

Skills

The candidates must have :
Have extensive knowledge and know-how on growth technics (PLD, Sputtering or MBE)
have extensive knowledge of nanomagnetism and spintronics
- have good knowledge of structural technics characterization
- master standard techniques used for magnetic characterizations
- possessing know-how in nanofabrication techniques
- have a good knowledge of the bibliography on chiral magnetic configurations in spintronic systems
- have a very good level of writing / speaking in English
- be able to synthesize its results and present them in public at conferences and symposiums.
- be able to work in a team

Work Context

The postdoctoral project will take place mainly at the CNRS/Thales Joint Research Unit (UMPhy) in Palaiseau, France. This work is funded under the US TEE project for which meetings every 3 months are organized with other partners and a meeting in the US every 6 months with the funding agency.

Constraints and risks

None

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR137-JEAGEO-001 - Chercheur (H/F) Croissance d'Isolant Topologique sur un isolant magnétique

Chercheur (H/F) Croissance d'Isolant Topologique sur un isolant magnétique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR137-JEAGEO-001
Lieu de travail : PALAISEAU
Date de publication : mardi 12 novembre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 2 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2400-2700
Niveau d'études souhaité : Bac+5
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

La mission du candidat postdoctorant sera de développer des fines couches d'isolants ferrimagnetiques à aimantation perpendiculaire pour étudier la croissance d'isolants topologiques sur ces couches magnétiques. L'élaboration des films de TI sera faite en collaboration avec le laboratoire SPINTEC à Grenoble. L'objectif sera d'étudier comment les effets de conversion charge-spin dans les états de surface du TI permettent d'agir sur l'aimantation de l'isolant magnétique par effet de transfert de spin. Cet effet sera optimisé, soit pour le renversement d'aimantation dans le cas où une configuration d'aimantation uniforme est choisie, soit pour le déplacement de parois de domaine chirales ou bien de skyrmions. Ces études seront menées en combinant des mesures de magnétotransport avec une observation de la dynamique de l'aimantation en microscopie Kerr, microscopie MFM ou même en microscopie NV. La première phase du projet vise à la maitrise de la croissance de fines couches de Tm3Fe5O12 (TmIG) par ablation laser pulsée (PLD) ou pulvérisation cathodique La deuxième phase vise à étudier la croissance des matériaux isolant topologique du type Bi2(TeXSe1-X)3 en collaboration avec l'équipe de M. Jamet au laboratoire Spintec à Grenoble. Le projet s'inscrit dans nos thématiques générales d'étude des mécanismes d'interconversion de courant de charge en courant de spin.

Activités

Croissance par Ablation Laser (PLD), Pulvérisation cathodique ou Epitaxie par jet Moléculaire (MBE)
Caractérisations structurales (X-Ray, AFM…)
- Caractérisation des propriétés magnétiques des multicouches par magnétométrie et imagerie magnétique (SQUID, AGFM, Kerr, MFM, NV microscopy etc...)
- Lithographie optique
-Mesure électrique de magnétorésistance longitudinale et transverse. Gammes disponibles : 4K to température ambiante, 0 to 9T.

Compétences

Les candidats doivent :
Avoir des connaissances approfondies sur les techniques de croissance de films ultra-minces (MBE or PLD or sputtering)
- avoir des connaissances approfondies en nanomagnétisme et spintronique,
- avoir des connaissances en imagerie magnétique
- maîtriser les techniques de caractérisations structurales et magnétiques courantes
- posséder un savoir-faire dans les techniques de nanofabrication
- avoir un très bon niveau écrit/parler en anglais
- être capable de synthétiser ses résultats et les présenter en public lors de conférences et colloques.
- être capable de travailler en équipe

Contexte de travail

Le projet se déroulera principalement à l'Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (UMPhy) à Palaiseau. Cet postdoc est financé dans le cadre du projet US TEE pour lequel des réunions chaque 3 mois sont organisées avec les autres partenaires et une réunion aux USA tous les 6 mois avec l'organisme financeur.

Contraintes et risques

None

On en parle sur Twitter !